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MoDOT Motor Carrier Services Online

Use MoDOT Carrier Express to: 
n	 Renew and update registration and license plates,
n	 File fuel tax returns,	
n	 Request oversize/overweight permits,
n	 Register and renew intrastate authority,
n	 File Unified Carrier Registration
	 …and much more!

Visit www.modot.org/mce for 24-hour access

MoDOT Motor Carrier Services offers training in:
n	 General safety regulations,	
n	 Hazardous materials regulations and HM security plan training,
n	 Passenger vehicle regulations,
n	 Agricultural hauling regulations and
n	 Credentials, registration and annual renewals

Register for courses at www.modot.org/training_outreach.htm 
or call toll-free, 1-866-831-6277, option 6



Thank you for picking up a copy of Missouri’s Commercial Motor Carrier Compli-
ance Manual. Whether you’re new to the motor carrier industry or a long-time safe 
operator, I’m sure you’ll learn something new from these pages.

Compliance Safety Accountability 
Though most of the regulations in this manual haven’t changed, CSA changes the 
way overall interstate motor carrier safety is assessed. As of July 2010, all violations 
and warnings are figured into an interstate motor carrier’s safety score – even if the 
violation doesn’t result in a ticket, an out-of service order or points against a driver’s 
CDL. The more serious the offense, the more weight it brings to bear on the com-
pany’s score. All clean inspections count to the good.

Carriers and drivers can use the scores to better identify high-risk carrier and driver 
behaviors and correct them. MoDOT wants to work with drivers and companies 
before high-risk behaviors become bad safety habits. That is expected to reduce the 
number of commercial motor vehicle crashes, fatalities and injuries.

CSA is an adjustment, but carriers tell me they like what they’ve seen. They espe-
cially appreciate the early contact and safety assistance. 

Safety is Primary – so is the seatbelt law for CMVs
No matter how many accident-free miles you have, no matter how big the truck you 
drive, no matter your opinion about seat belt law, the safest place for you to be in a 
crash is behind a buckled safety belt. Besides keeping you from careening through 
the cab, it holds you in a position to possibly regain control and avoid secondary 
collisions - so even more travelers get to Arrive Alive.

MoDOT Is Ready to Assist
There is a lot to know about operating safely and within the law. Visit us in person, 
by phone or through the Internet and ask us anything! Whether you need help with a 
form or guidance in understanding a regulation, we’re ready to help 24 hours a day.

File fuel tax returns, renew the authority to operate, apply for oversize overweight 
permits and pay fees online with MoDOT Carrier Express. E-mail us anytime at 
ContactMCS@modot.mo.gov. Visit www.modot.org to find all you want to know 
about Missouri’s highway and other transportation systems. There’s even a traveler’s 
map that reports the location of work zones and other lane closures.

Finally, we want you to be successful. Safety is key to success. I hope that you find 
this Safety Compliance Manual easy to understand. Keep in mind that it is strictly a 
tool to be used as guidance. It is not intended to take the place of studying the regu-
lations. For specific regulations please refer to Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations.

Safe travels,

  
Motor Carrier Services Director

Welcome!
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This guide was developed to assist motor carriers in achieving safety compliance 
with the State and Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSR). Sample 
forms for driver qualification files, accident registers, maintenance records, and 
other items are included.

This is a guide and not intended to take the place of the regulations. For specific 
regulations please refer to Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations.

Some regulations contained in Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations, while not 
enforceable by Motor Carrier Services Division, may be enforceable by other agen-
cies within the state. Sample forms included may be used to comply with regula-
tory requirements, but are not mandated. Other form layouts that contain the same 
information or perform the same task may be sufficient. Occasionally, regulations 
mandate a specified form or content of a form (e.g. 49 CFR 391.43 mandates the 
DOT physical examination form). Consult the underlying regulation if there is any 
question as to the correctness of a form.

Our overall goal is to improve the safe transportation of passengers and goods on 
Missouri’s highways through a coordinated effort of federal, state, and industry 
organizations to reduce fatalities, injuries, property damage and hazardous materi-
als incidents. 

This booklet is comprised of eighteen sections, each containing a specific safety 
regulation topic that is covered in the FMCSRs. These parts are listed in the Table 
of Contents. Each part contains information sheets that cover the highlights of that 
section. Please feel free to reproduce any or all material in this package and to dis-
tribute copies as needed. You may also obtain this information on the Federal Motor 
Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) web site at www.fmcsa.dot.gov/ or the 
MoDOT Motor Carrier Services web site at http:\\www.modot.org/mcs.

It is the responsibility of motor carrier operators and drivers to know and comply 
with all applicable FMCSRs. Safety compliance and safe operations translate into 
saved lives and property. We believe the information in this package, when effec-
tively applied, will contribute to safer motor carrier operations and highways.

Preface
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Effective August 28, 2004, (Signing of Senate Bill 
1233)

Code of Federal Regulations Parts 100 through 180 
(Hazardous Material Regulations) and Parts 382 
through 397 (Safety Regulations) generally pertain to:

n	 Any person operating any Commercial Motor 	
	 Vehicle with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating 
	 (GVWR) or Gross Combination Weight Rating 	
	 (GCWR) greater than 10,000 pounds in Interstate 	
	 Commerce.  
n	 Any person operating any Commercial Motor 	
	 Vehicle with a GVWR or GCWR greater than 	
	 26,000 pounds in Intrastate Commerce, unless 	
	 transporting any amount of Hazardous Materials. 
n	 Any person operating any Commercial Motor 	
	 Vehicle in Interstate or Intrastate Commerce trans-	
	 porting Hazardous Materials that is required to be 	
	 placarded. 

Missouri Intrastate Exemptions

A.	Vehicles with less than 26,001 pounds GVWR or 	
	 GCWR unless transporting passengers or any 
	 amount of Hazardous Materials.  

B.	Vehicles licensed for 60,000 pounds or less and 	
	 are used exclusively to transport solid waste (Intra-	
	 state only);

C. 	Vehicles licensed for 42,000 pounds or less and the 	
	 license plate has been designated for farm use by 
	 the letter F (Intrastate only), unless such vehicle is 	
	 transporting hazardous materials;

D. Persons having a valid Missouri Chauffeur’s Li-	
	 cense on May 13, 1988 are not subject to the medi-	
	 cal requirements of Section 391.41 (In intrastate 	
	 commerce only).

Notice To Passenger Carriers

Passenger carriers are subject to the Safety Regula-
tions if the vehicle is:
n	 Designed or used to transport 9 or more passengers 	
	 (including the driver);
n	 Designed or used to transport 16 or more passen-	
	 gers (including the driver) and is not used to trans-	
	 port passengers for compensation.
n	 Exceptions:
	 390.3(f)(6)  The operation of commercial motor 	
	 vehicles designed or used to transport between 	
	 9 and 15 passengers (including the driver) not for 	
	 direct compensation, provided the vehicle does not 	
	 otherwise meet the definition of a commercial mo-	
	 tor vehicle except for the texting provisions of 	
	 391.15(3) and 392.80, and except that motor carri-	
	 ers operating such vehicles are required to comply 	
	 with 390.15; 390.19; 390.21(a) and (b)(2); 391.15(f); 	
	 392.80; and 392.82	

Notes:  
Effective June 1, 2010, Commercial Motor Vehicles de-
signed or used to transport 9-15 passengers (including the 
driver), for direct compensation are subject to the Safety 
Regulations, regardless of the distance traveled.

Effective May 13, 1988, Missouri adopted the Federal 
Regulations with the signing of Senate Bill 433.

Effective August 28, 2012 Parts 390-397 no longer are ap-
plicable to passenger vehicles operating in intrastate com-
merce with a designed seating capacity of 7-8 passengers 
including the driver unless the vehicle otherwise meets the 
definition of a commercial motor vehicle.  For Missouri in-
trastate commerce, a commercial motor vehicle is defined 
as a vehicle having a gross vehicle weight rating or gross 
combination weight rating in excess of 26,000 pounds, 
a vehicle having a gross vehicle weight rating or gross 
combination weight rating of 10,001 pounds or more, and 
transporting any amount of hazardous materials, of any 
size and transporting placardable quantities of hazardous 
materials, or have a designed seating capacity of 9 or more 
passengers including the driver. 

Are You Subject To The Safety Regulations?
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New Entrant Rule 
Summary
Are you a new entrant?
Are you new to interstate commerce?
Have you been notified that you are subject to a New Entrant Safety Audit?
If so, this subject applies to you!
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What is the applicability of the rule?

The changes to the New Entrant Safety Assurance 
Program (new entrant program) under 49 CFR Part 
385, subpart D apply to all new U.S.- and Canada-
domiciled motor carrier owners and operators seeking 
authority to conduct interstate operations within the 
United States.

The new application process and safety monitor-
ing system under 49 CFR Part 385, subparts H and 
I respectively, apply to all new non-North America-
domiciled motor carrier owners and operators seeking 
authority to provide transportation of property and 
passengers in interstate commerce within the United 
States.

Conforming amendments to 49 CFR Parts 365, 387 
and 390 apply to all new U.S.-, Canada-, and non-
North America-domiciled motor carrier owners and 
operators seeking authority to conduct interstate 
operations within the United States.

NE Rule Questions and Answers (Q&A)

What are the consequences of furnishing misleading 
information or making a false statement in connection 
with the registration process?  (§ 385.306)

A carrier that furnishes false or misleading informa-
tion, or conceals material information in connection 
with the registration process, is subject to the follow-
ing actions:
(a)	 Revocation of registration.
(b)	 Assessment of the civil and/or criminal penalties 	
	 prescribed in 49 U.S.C. 521 and 49 U.S.C. chapter 	
	 149.

What happens after a motor carrier 
begins operations as a new entrant?  
(§ 385.307)

The new entrant’s roadside safety performance will be 
closely monitored to ensure the new entrant has basic 
safety management controls that are operating effec-
tively.

What may cause an expedited action?  
(§ 385.308)

A new entrant that commits any of the following ac-
tions, identified through roadside inspections or by 
any other means, may be subjected to an expedited 
safety audit or a compliance review or may be re-
quired to submit a written response demonstrating 
corrective action:

(1)	 Using a driver not possessing a valid commercial 	
	 driver’s license to operate a commercial vehicle as 	
	 defined under § 383.5. An invalid commercial 	
	 driver’s license includes one that is falsified, re-	
	 voked, expired, or missing a required endorse-	
	 ment. 
(2)	 Operating a vehicle placed out of service for 	
	 violations of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety 	
	 Regulations or compatible State laws and regula-	
	 tions without taking necessary corrective action.
(3)	 Being involved in, through action or omission, a 	
	 hazardous materials reportable incident, as 	 	
	 described under 49 CFR 171.15 or 171.16, involv-	
	 ing:
	 (i)		 A highway route controlled quantity of cer-	
	 	 	 tain radioactive materials (Class 7).
	 (ii)	 Any quantity of certain explosives (Class 1, 	
	 	 	 Division 1.1, 1.2, or 1.3).
	 (iii)	Any quantity of certain poison inhalation 	
	 	 	 hazard materials (Zone A or B).
(4)	 Being involved in, through action or omission, 	
	 two or more hazardous materials reportable 		
	 incidents as described under 49 CFR 171.15 or 	
	 171.16, involving hazardous materials other than 	
	 those listed above.
(5)	 Using a driver who tests positive for controlled 	
	 substances or alcohol or who refuses to submit to 	
	 required controlled substances or alcohol tests.
(6)	 Operating a commercial motor vehicle without the 	
	 levels of financial responsibility required under 	
	 Part 387 of this subchapter.
(7)	 Having a driver or vehicle out-of-service rate of 	
	 50 percent or more based upon at least three 		
	 inspections occurring within a consecutive 90-	
	 day period.
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If a new entrant that commits any of the 
expedited action violations listed above:

(1)	 Carrier has not had a safety audit or compliance 	
	 review; FMCSA will schedule the new entrant for 	
	 a safety audit as soon as practicable.
(2)	 Carrier has had a safety audit or compliance 	
	 review, FMCSA will send the new entrant a notice 	
	 advising it to submit evidence of corrective action 	
	 within 30 days of the service date of the notice.
	 (a)		 FMCSA may schedule a compliance review 	
			   of a new entrant that commits any of the ac-	
	 	 	 tions listed in paragraph (a) of this section 	
			   at any time if it determines the violation war-	
			   rants a thorough review of the new entrant’s 	
			   operation.
	 (b)		 Failure to respond within 30 days of the notice 	
			   to an Agency demand for a written response 	
			   demonstrating corrective action will result in 	
			   the revocation of the new entrant’s registra-	
			   tion.

What happens after completion of the 
safety audit?  (§ 385.319)

Upon completion of the safety audit, the auditor will 
review the findings with the new entrant.
	 (a)		 Pass. If FMCSA determines the safety audit 	
	 	 	 discloses the new entrant has adequate basic 	
			   safety management controls, the Agency will 	
			   provide the new entrant written notice as soon 	
	 	 	 as practicable, but not later than 	45 days af-	
			   ter completion of the safety audit, that it has 	
	 	 	 adequate basic safety management controls. 	
			   The new entrant’s safety performance will 
	 	 	 continue to be closely monitored for the 		
			   remainder of the 12-month period of new 	
			   entrant registration. 
	 (b)		 Fail. If FMCSA determines the safety audit 	
	 	 	 discloses the new entrant’s basic safety 	 	
			   management controls are inadequate, the 	
			   Agency will provide the new entrant written 	
	 	 	 notice, as soon as practicable, but not later 	
	 	 	 than 45 days after the completion of the safety 	
	 	 	 audit, that its USDOT new entrant registra-	
	 	 	 tion will be revoked and its operations placed 	

	 out-of-service unless it takes the actions to rem-	
	 edy its safety management practices.
(1) 	60-day corrective action requirement. All new 	
	 entrants, except those specified in paragraph (b)	
 	 of this section (below), must take the specified 	
	 actions to remedy inadequate safety management 	
	 practices within 60 days of the date of the notice.
(2) 	45-day corrective action requirement. The new 	
	 entrants listed below must take the specified 	
	 actions to remedy inadequate safety management 	
	 practices within 45 days of the date of the notice.
	 (i)		 A new entrant that transports passengers in a 	
	 	 	 CMV designed tor used to transport between 	
	 	 	 9 and 15 passengers (9ncluding the driver) for 	
			   direct compensation.
	 (ii)	 A new entrant that transports passengers in a 	
	 	 	 CMV designed or used to transport more than 	
	 	 	 15 passengers (including the driver).
	 (iii)	A new entrant that transports hazardous 	
	 	 	 materials in a CMV as defined in the defini-	
	 	 	 tion of a “Commercial Motor Vehicle” in 
	 	 	 § 390.5.

What failures of safety management 
practices disclosed by the safety audit 
will result in a notice to a new entrant 
that its USDOT new entrant registration 
will be revoked? (§ 385.321)

The failures of safety management practices consist of 
a lack of basic safety management controls or failure 
to comply with one or more of the regulations set forth 
in the chart below and will result in a notice to a new 
entrant that its USDOT new entrant registration will 
be revoked.
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§ 395.8(a) – Failing to require a driver to make a record of duty status.	 Requires a violation 
	 threshold (51% or more of 	 	
	 examined records) to trigger 	 	
	 automatic failure.
§ 396.9(c)(2) – Requiring or permitting the operation of a commercial motor 	 Single occurrence.
vehicle declared “out-of-service” before repairs are made.	
§ 396.11(c)-Failing to correct out-of-service defects listed by driver in a driver 	 Single occurrence.
vehicle inspection report before the vehicle is operated again.	
§ 396.17(a)- Using a commercial motor vehicle not periodically inspected.	 Requires a violation 
	 threshold (51% or more of 	 	
	 examined records) to trigger 	 	
	 automatic failure.

Automatic failure of the audit. A new entrant will automatically fail a safety 
audit if found in violation of any one of the following 16 regulations:

Violation	 Guidelines for Determining 	
	 Automatic Failure of the 	
	 Safety Audit
§ 382.115(a)/ § 382.115(b) – Failing to implement an alcohol and/or	 Single occurrence.
controlled substances testing program (domestic and foreign motor 
carriers, respectively).	
§ 382.201 – Using a driver known to have an alcohol content of 0.04 or	 Single occurrence.
greater to perform a safety-sensitive function.	
§ 382.211 – Using a driver who has refused to submit to an alcohol or	 Single occurrence
controlled substances test required under Part 382.	
§ 382.215 – Using a driver known to have tested positive for a controlled	 Single occurrence.
substance.	
§ 382.305 – Failing to implement a random controlled substances	 Single occurrence.
and/or alcohol testing program.	
§ 383.3(a)/ § 383.23(a) – Knowingly using a driver who does not	 Single occurrence.
possess a valid CDL.	
§ 383.37(a) – Knowingly allowing, requiring, permitting, or authorizing an	 Single occurrence. 
employee with a commercial driver’s license which is suspended, revoked, or
canceled by a State or who is disqualified to operate a commercial motor vehicle. 
§ 383.51(a) – Knowingly allowing, requiring, permitting, or authorizing 	 Single occurrence.
a driver to drive who is disqualified to drive a commercial motor vehicle.	 This violation refers to a 	
	 driver operating a CMV as 	
	 defined under § 383.5.
§ 387.7(a) – Operating a motor vehicle without having in effect the required 	 Single occurrence.
minimum levels of financial responsibility coverage.	
§ 387.31(a) – Operating a passenger carrying vehicle without having in effect the 	 Single occurrence.
required minimum levels of financial responsibility.
§ 391.11(b)(4) – Knowingly using a physically unqualified driver.	 Single occurrence. This 
	 violation refers to a driver 	
	 operating a CMV as defined	
	 under § 390.5
§ 391.15(a) – Knowingly using a disqualified driver	 Single occurrence.

Table to § 385.321 Violations That Will Result in Automatic Failure of the New Entrant Safety Audit
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May FMCSA extend the period under 
§ 385.319(c) for a new entrant to take cor-
rective action to remedy its safety man-
agement practices?  (§ 385.323)

FMCSA may extend the 60-day period in § 385.319(c)
(1) for up to an additional 60 days provided FMCSA 
determines the new entrant is making a good faith ef-
fort to remedy its safety management practices.

FMCSA may extend the 45-day period in § 385.319(c)
(2) for up to an additional 10 days if the new entrant 
has submitted evidence that corrective actions have 
been taken pursuant to §385.319(c) and the Agency 
needs additional time to determine the adequacy of 
the corrective action.

What happens after a new entrant has 
been notified under § 385.319(c) to take 
corrective action to remedy its safety 
management practices?  (§ 385.325)

If a new entrant, after being notified that it is required 
to take corrective action to improve its safety man-
agement practices, fails to submit a written response 
demonstrating corrective action acceptable to FMCSA 
within the time specified in § 385.319, and any ex-
tension of that period authorized under § 385.323, 
FMCSA will revoke its new entrant registration and 
issue an out-of-service order effective on:
(1)	 Day 61 from the notice date for new entrants sub-	
	 ject to § 385.319(c)(1).
(2)	 Day 46 from the notice date for new entrants sub-	
	 ject to § 385.319(c)(2).
(3)	 If an extension has been granted under § 385.323, 	
	 the day following the expiration of the extension 	
	 date.

May a new entrant request an administrative review of 
a determination of a failed safety audit?  (§ 385.327)

If a new entrant receives a notice under § 385.319(c) 
that its new entrant registration will be revoked, it 
may request FMCSA to conduct an administrative re-
view if it believes FMCSA has committed an error in 
determining that its basic safety management controls 
are inadequate.

The request must:

(1)	 Be made to the Field Administrator of the appro-	
	 priate FMCSA Service Center
(2)	 Explain the error the new entrant believes FMC-	
	 SA committed in its determination.
(3)	 Include a list of all factual and procedural issues 	
	 in dispute and any information or documents that 	
	 support the new entrant’s argument.

FMCSA may request that the new entrant submit ad-
ditional data and attend a conference to discuss the 
issue(s) in dispute. If the new entrant does not attend 
the conference or does not submit the requested data, 
FMCSA may dismiss the new entrant’s request for 
review.

A new entrant must submit a request for an admin-
istrative review within one of the following time 
periods:
(1)	 If it does not submit evidence of corrective action 	
	 under § 385.319(c), within 90 days after the date 	
	 it is notified that its basic safety management 	
	 controls are inadequate.
(2)	 If it submits evidence of corrective action under 
	 § 385.319(c), within 90 days after the date it is 	
	 notified that its corrective action is insufficient 	
	 and its basic safety management controls remain 	
	 inadequate.

If a new entrant wants to assure that FMCSA will be 
able to issue a final written decision before the pro-
hibitions outlined in § 385.325(c) take effect, the new 
entrant must submit its request no later than 15 days 
from the date of the notice that is basic safety man-
agement controls are inadequate. Failure to submit 
the request within this 15-day period may result in 
revocation of new entrant registration and issuance of 
an out-of-service order before completion of adminis-
trative review.
FMCSA will complete its review and notify the new 
entrant in writing of its decision within:
(1)	 45 days after receiving a request for review from 	
	 a new entrant that is subject to § 385.319(c)(1).
(2)	 30 days after receiving a request for review from 	
	 a new entrant that is subject to § 385.319(c)(2).

The Field Administrator’s decision constitutes the 
final Agency action.
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May a new entrant that has had its US-
DOT new entrant registration revoked 
and its operations placed out of service 
reapply?  (§ 385.329)

A new entrant whose USDOT new entrant registration 
has been revoked, and whose operations have been 
placed out of service by FMCSA, may reapply for new 
entrant registration no sooner than 30 days after the 
date of revocation.

If the USDOT new entrant registration was revoked 
because of a failed safety audit, the new entrant must 
do all the following:  
(1)	 Submit an updated MCS-150.
(2)	 Submit evidence that it has corrected the deficien-	
	 cies that resulted in revocation of its registration 	
	 and will otherwise ensure that it will have basic 	
	 safety management controls in effect. 
(3)	 Begin the 18-month new entrant monitoring 	
	 cycle again as of the date the re-filed application 	
	 is approved.

If the USDOT new entrant registration was revoked 
because FMCSA found that the new entrant had failed 
to submit to a safety audit, it must do all the follow-
ing:
(1)	 Submit an updated MCS-150.
(2)	 Begin the 18-month new entrant monitoring 	
	 cycle again as of the date the re-filed application 	
	 is approved.
(3)	 Submit to a safety audit.

If the new entrant is a for-hire carrier subject to the 
registration provisions under 49 U.S.C. 13901 and also 
has had its operating authority revoked, it must re-
apply for operating authority.

What happens if a new entrant operates a CMV after 
having been issued an order placing its interstate op-
erations out of service?  (§ 385.331)

A new entrant that operates a CMV in violation of an 
out-of-service order is subject to the penalty provi-
sions in U.S.C. 521(B)(2)(A) for each offense as ad-
justed for inflation by 49 CFR Part 386, Appendix B.

What happens if a new entrant refused to 
permit a safety audit to be performed on 
its operations?  (§ 385.337)

If a new entrant refuses to permit a safety audit to be 
performed on its operations, FMCSA will provide the 
carrier with written notice that its registration will be 
revoked and its operations placed out of service unless 
the new entrant agrees in writing, within 10 days from 
the service date of the notice, to permit the safety 
audit to be performed. The refusal to permit a safety 
audit to be performed by subject the new entrant to 
the penalty provisions of 49 U.S.C 521(b)(2)(A), as ad-
justed for inflation by 49 CFR Part 386, Appendix B.

How does a motor carrier apply for a 
safety permit?  (§ 385.405)

Application form(s).
(1)	 To apply for a new safety permit or renewal of 	
	 the safety permit, a motor carrier must complete 	
	 and submit Form MCS-150B, Combined Motor 	
	 Carrier Identification Report and HM Permit Ap-	
	 plication.
(2)	 The Form MCS-150B will also satisfy the re-	
	 quirements for obtaining and renewing a USDOT 	
	 Number; there is no need to complete Form MCS-	
	 150, Motor Carrier Identification Report.

Under what circumstances will a safety 
permit be subject to revocation or 
suspension by FMCSA?  (§ 385.421)

A motor carrier provides any false or misleading 
information on its application (Form MCS-150B) or as 
part of updated information it is providing on FORM 
MCS-150B (see § 385.405(d)).
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Compliance 
Safety 
Accountability
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What is CSA?

Compliance Safety Accountability (CSA) is a Federal 
Motor Carrier Safety Administration safety initia-
tive that improves the effectiveness compliance and 
enforcement programs. CSA helps the FMCSA assess 
the safety performance of a greater segment of the 
motor carrier industry and allows earlier interven-
tion to change unsafe behavior and practices before 
they result in tragedy. The ultimate goal of CSA is 
to achieve a greater reduction in large truck and bus 
crashes, injuries, and fatalities, while making efficient 
use of FMCSA and State resources.

In contrast to the current safety model, SafeStat, CSA 
is characterized by three principal components:

(1)	 A more comprehensive carrier safety measure-	
	 ment system;

(2) 	A broader array of interventions that increase in 	
	 severity. In addition to comprehensive on-site 	
	 investigations (compliance reviews), corrective 	
	 steps include warning letters, off-site investiga-	
	 tions and on-site investigations focused on areas 	
	 of concern; and

(3) 	 A PROPOSED new safety fitness determination 	
	 (SFD) method based more on performance data 	
	 and not necessarily tied to an on-site investiga-	
	 tion. 

CSA was implemented November 30, 2010. On that 
day, FMCSA:

(1)	 Replaced SafeStat with CSMS, 

(2) 	 Implemented a revised nationwide Inspection Se-	
	 lection System for roadside inspectors based on 	
	 the	Carrier Safety Measurement System.

Carrier Safety Measurement System 
(CSMS)

FMCSA replaced SafeStat with the Carrier Safety 
Management System (CSMS). CSMS works within 
the CSA operational model to monitor and quantify 
the safety performance of commercial motor carriers 
using data available in FMCSA’s motor carrier data-
base.

Under CSA, these data include violations found dur-
ing roadside inspections, traffic enforcement and 
other types of interventions. CSMS groups these data 
into seven Behavioral Analysis Safety Improvement 
Categories (BASICs):
n	 Unsafe Driving, 
n	 Fatigued Driving (Hours-of-Service), 
n	 Driver Fitness, 
n	 Controlled Substances and Alcohol, 
n	 Vehicle Maintenance, 
n	 Hazardous Materials, and 
n	 Crash History.

The carrier and driver behaviors tracked by the BA-
SICs are tightly correlated to crash incidence. 

CSMS differs from SafeStat in that CSMS:

1. Is organized by seven specific behavioral areas 	
(BASICs);

2. Uses all safety-based inspection violations;

3. Uses risk-based violation weightings.

For further information on the CSMS see the Safety 
Measurement System methodology at http://csa.fmcsa.
dot.gov.
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Part 380
Entry Level and 
Special Training 
Requirements
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Applicability
n	 All entry-level drivers that operate a Commercial 	
	 Motor Vehicle (CMV) requiring the possession of 	
	 a Commercial Drivers License (CDL).
n	 Effective July 20, 2003, all new CDL holders with 	
	 less than one (1) year experience must be trained.

Entry-level driver training is training the CDL driver 
receives in driver qualification requirements, hours of 
service of drivers, driver wellness, and whistle blower 
protection as appropriate to the entry-level driver’s 
current position in addition to passing the CDL test.

Requirements
n	 Proof of training – An employer who uses an 	
	 entry-level driver must ensure the driver has 		
	 received a training certificate containing all the 	
	 information contained in 380.513 from the training 	
	 provider.

Employer Responsibilities
n	 Ensure entry-level drivers receive training
n	 File training certificate
n	 Maintenance of records
n	 Recordkeeping

Training Certificate 
Requirements
n	 Date of certificate issuance
n	 Name of training provider
n	 Mailing address of training provider
n	 Name of driver
n	 A statement that the driver has completed the 	
	 training
n	 Printed name and signature of the person attesting 	
	 that the driver received the required training

Note:  
For more detailed information on Longer Combina-
tion Vehicles (LCV), see Title 49, FMCSR, Part 380. 
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Drug Testing 
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Parts 382 & 40
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Applicability

Drivers required to have a commercial driver’s license 
(CDL) are subject to the controlled substance and al-
cohol testing rules. This requirement extends to those 
drivers currently covered by the rule, including inter-
state and intrastate truck and motor coach operations.
This includes all commercial motor vehicles operated 
by:
n	 For-hire and private companies
n	 Federal, state, local, and tribal governments
n	 Church and civic organizations
n	 Apiarian industries

Exemptions

n	 Drivers exempt from commercial driver’s license 	
	 requirements by their issuing State
n	 Active duty military personnel 

Part 382 Definitions

382.107 Definitions

“Positive Drug and Alcohol Tests” – 
1)	  Alcohol tests with a result of 0.04 or higher alco-	
	 hol concentration;
2)	 Verified positive drug tests;
3)	 Refusals to be tested (including verified adulter-	
	 ated or substituted drug test results)

“Positive rate for random drug testing” – means the 
number of verified positive results for random drug 
tests conducted under this part plus the number of 
refusals of random drug tests required by this part, di-
vided by the total number of random drug tests results 
(i.e., positives, negatives, and refusals) under this part.

“Refusal to submit (to an alcohol or controlled sub-
stance test)”  - a driver (1) fails to provide adequate 
breath for testing without a valid medical explanation 
after he or she has received notice of the requirement 
for breath testing, (2) fails to provide adequate urine 
for controlled substances testing without a valid medi-
cal explanation after he or she has received notice of 
the requirement for urine testing, or (3) engages in 
conduct that clearly obstructs the testing process.

“Safety-sensitive function” - any of those on-duty 
functions set forth in 395.2 On-Duty Time, para-
graphs (1) through (6) as listed below:

1)	 All time at a carrier or shipper plant, terminal, 	
	 facility, or other property, waiting to be dispatched, 	
	 unless the driver has been relieved from duty by 	
	 the employer.
2)	 All time inspecting equipment as required by 	
	 the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations 	
	 (FMCSR’s), or otherwise inspecting, servicing, or 	
	 conditioning any commercial motor vehicle at any 	
	 time.
3)	 All time spent at the driving controls of a commer-	
	 cial motor vehicle.
4)	 All time, other than driving time, spent on or in a 	
	 commercial motor vehicle (except for time spent 	
	 resting in the sleeper berth).
5)	 All time loading or unloading a commercial motor 	
	 vehicle, supervising, or assisting in the loading or 	
	 unloading, attending a vehicle being loaded or un-	
	 loaded, remaining in readiness to operate the ve-	
	 hicle, or in giving or receiving receipts for ship-	
	 ments loaded or unloaded.
6)	 All time repairing, obtaining assistance, or remain-	
	 ing in attendance upon a disabled vehicle.

Additional definitions may be found in 49 CFR, Part 
40 and Part 382.

Types of Alcohol and Controlled Sub-
stance Tests

Pre-employment:  No employer shall allow a driver 
to perform a safety sensitive function until they have 
received the negative controlled substance test result.

Post-accident:  As soon as practicable following an 
accident involving a commercial motor vehicle operat-
ing on a public road in commerce, each employer 
shall test for alcohol and controlled substances of 
each surviving driver: Who was performing safety-
sensitive functions with respect to the vehicle, if the 
accident involved the loss of human life; or Who 
receives a citation under state or local law for a mov-
ing traffic violation arising from the accident, if the 
accident involved:  Bodily injury to any person who, 

Part 382
Alcohol and Drug Testing Requirements
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as a result of the injury, immediately receives medical 
treatment away from the scene of the accident; or One 
or more motor vehicles incurring disabling damage as 

a result of the accident, requiring the motor vehicle to 
be transported away from the scene by a tow truck or 
other motor vehicle.
Random:  Companies are to scientifically and ran-
domly test drivers at a minimum annual percentage 
rate of 10% of the number of drivers for alcohol test-
ing, and 50% for controlled substances testing. The 
random alcohol test must be performed prior, during 
or just after a driver is about to, or has performed a 
safety sensitive function as defined in Section 382.107. 
All drivers must have an equal chance of being se-
lected.

Reasonable suspicion:  An employer shall require 
a driver to submit to an alcohol and/or controlled 
substance test when the employer has reasonable 
suspicion to believe that the driver has violated the 
prohibitions concerning alcohol and/or controlled sub-
stances. The employer’s determination that reasonable 
suspicion exists to require the driver to undergo an 
alcohol and/or controlled substance test must be based 
on specific, contemporaneous, articulate observations 
concerning the appearance, behavior, speech or body 
odors of the driver. The required observations shall 
be made by a supervisor or company official who is 
trained in accordance with Section 382.603 (Supervi-
sor Awareness Training).

Return-to-duty:  Each employer shall ensure that 
before a driver returns to duty requiring the perfor-

mance of a safety-sensitive function after engaging in 
conduct prohibited by subpart B of this part concern-
ing alcohol or controlled substances, the driver shall 

undergo a return-to-duty alcohol test with a result 
indicating an alcohol concentration of less than 0.02 
or the driver shall undergo a return-to-duty controlled 
substances test with a result indicating a verified nega-
tive result for controlled substances use.

Follow-up:  If a substance abuse professional has de-
termined that a driver needs assistance for the misuse 
of alcohol, or for use of a controlled substance, an em-
ployer must ensure that the driver is subject to follow-
up testing. A minimum of six tests must be conducted 
in the first 12 months, and the driver may only be 
subject to this test for a maximum of 60 months.

Retention of Records

Five Years: 
n	 Alcohol test results indicating a Breath Alcohol 	
	 Concentration (BAC) of 0.02 or greater
n	 Verified positive drug test results
n	 Refusals to submit to required alcohol and drug 	
	 tests
n	 Required calibration of Evidential Breath Testing 	
	 (EBT) devices

Two Years:
n	 Records related to the collection process and re-	
	 quired training

Type of Accident		  Citation Issued to the	 Test Must be Performed 
Involved		  CMV Driver	 by Employer

i.   Human fatality	 	 YES 	 YES
	 	 	 NO	 YES
ii.  Bodily injury with immediate	 YES	 YES 
	 medical treatment away 
	 from the scene	 	 NO	 NO
iii. Disabling damage to any 	 YES	 YES
	 motor vehicle
    	requiring tow away	 NO	 NO	
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One Year:
n	 Negative and canceled controlled substance test 	
	 results
n	 Alcohol test results indicating a BAC of less than 	
	 0.02

Location of Records

All required records shall be maintained in a secure 
location with limited access, and shall be made avail-
able for inspection by an authorized representative of 
the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration.

Driver Awareness

Every motor carrier shall provide educational materi-
als explaining the requirements of the regulations as 
well as the employer’s policies regarding alcohol mis-
use and controlled substances abuse. At a minimum, 
detailed discussions should include:

n	 The identity of the person designated to answer 	
	 drug and alcohol questions
n	 Which drivers are subject to these requirements, 	
	 what behavior is prohibited, and a clarification of 	
	 what a “safety sensitive function” is
n	 The circumstances under which a driver will be 	
	 tested, and the procedures that will be used for 	
	 testing
n	 Explanations of the requirement that a driver sub-	
	 mit to the testing, as well as what constitutes a 	
	 driver’s refusal to submit to testing
n	 The consequences for drivers who have violated 	
	 the testing requirements
n	 Information concerning the effects of alcohol mis-	
	 use, and controlled substances abuse on health, 	
	 work, and personal life

Supervisor Training

Each employer shall ensure that all persons desig-
nated to supervise drivers receive at least 60 minutes 
of training on alcohol misuse and receive at least an 
additional 60 minutes of training on controlled sub-
stances use. The training will be used by the supervi-
sors to determine whether reasonable suspicion exists 
to require a driver to undergo testing under Section 
382.307. The training shall include the physical, be-

havioral, speech, and performance indicators of prob-
able alcohol misuse and use of controlled substances. 
Recurrent training for supervisory personnel is not 
required. (382.603)

Company Policy

The FMCSA regulations require that a written policy 
on controlled substances use and alcohol misuse in the 
workplace be developed and that the policy be pro-
vided to every driver. The policy must incorporate the 
company’s position and information on virtually all 
aspects of controlled substances use and alcohol mis-
use program (382.601). The following is a checklist of 
the items that should be included in a policy.

Policy Components Required by the Controlled Sub-
stances and Alcohol Rule (382.601) 
n	 Overview (suggested but not required) 
n	 Categories of drivers subject to testing 
n	 Participation as a requirement of employment 
n	 Required hours of compliance 
n	 Prohibited behavior 
n	 Circumstances for testing 
n	 Behavior that constitutes a refusal to submit to a 	
	 test 
n	 Consequences for drivers with an alcohol concen-	
	 tration of 0.02 or greater but less than 0.04 
n	 Testing procedures 
n	 Consequences of use of controlled substances and 	
	 misuse of alcohol 
n	 Identity of contact person 
n	 Effects of alcohol and controlled substances 

Inquiries to Previous Employers

A motor carrier, with the driver’s written authoriza-
tion, shall inquire about the following information 
on a driver from the driver’s previous employers for 
a period of three years preceding the driver’s date of 
application. Section 391.23(e)(1)

If you are an employer from whom information is 
requested under 40.25(b), you must, after reviewing 
the employee’s specific, written consent, immediately 
release the requested information to the employer 
making the inquiry. Section 40.25(h):
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n	 Alcohol tests with a result of 0.04 alcohol concen-	
	 tration or greater
n	 Verified positive controlled substances test results 	
	 and
n	 Refusals to be tested
n	 Other violations of DOT agency drug and alcohol 	
	 testing regulations
n	 With respect to any employee who violated a DOT 	
	 drug and alcohol regulation, documentation of the 	
	 employee’s successful completion of DOT return-	
	 to-duty requirements (including follow-up tests). 	
	 If the previous employer does not have information 	
	 about the return-to-duty process (e.g., an employer 	
	 who did not hire an employee who tested positive 	
	 on a pre-employment test), you must seek to obtain 	
	 this information from the employee.

Consortium Information

MoDOT Motor Carrier Services Division does not 
endorse any consortium. You are reminded that your 
company is responsible for drug and alcohol testing 
compliance. Evaluate carefully any company retained 
to provide consortium or laboratory testing services. 
Some companies provide more limited services. 
Be sure that the company selected provides all the 
services you need to ensure full compliance with the 
regulations.

To locate a consortium, you may contact one of the 
many associations dealing with the commercial motor 
vehicle industry, a hospital, a clinic to provide you 
with the name of a consortium or a simple search on 
the internet for DOT drug and alcohol testing.

A web site that may be beneficial as a resource for one 
of the many associations is www.dot.gov, go to Safety, 
Drug and Alcohol Safety.
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Suggested Format: “Release of Information Form -- 49 CFR Part 40 Drug and Alcohol Testing”

Section I To be completed by the new employer, signed by the employee, and transmitted to the previous employer:

Employee Printed or Typed Name: ________________________________________________________________
Employee SS or ID Number: _____________________________________________________________________
I hereby authorize release of information from my Department of Transportation regulated drug and alcohol testing records by my 
previous employer, listed in Section I-B, to the employer listed in Section I-A. This release is in accordance with DOT Regulation 49 
CFR Part 40, Section 40.25. I understand that information to be released in Section II-A by my previous employer, is limited to the 
following DOT-regulated testing items:
	 1.  Alcohol tests with a result of 0.04 or higher;
	 2.  Verified positive drug tests;
	 3.  Refusals to be tested;
	 4.  Other violations of DOT agency drug and alcohol testing regulations;
	 5.  Information obtained from previous employers of a drug and alcohol rule violation; 
	 6.  Documentation, if any, of completion of the return-to-duty process following a rule violation.

Employee Signature: __________________________________________________ Date: ___________________

I-A 
New Employer Name: _________________________________________________________________________

Address: ___________________________________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________________________________

Phone #: _______________________________________   Fax #: ________________________________

Designated Employer Representative: ______________________________________________________________

I-B
Previous Employer Name: _______________________________________________________________________

Address: ___________________________________________________________________________________

	  ___________________________________________________________________________________

Phone #: _______________________________________

Designated Employer Representative (if known): _____________________________________________________

Section II  To be completed by the previous employer and transmitted by mail or fax to the new employer:
II-A  In the two years prior to the date of the employee’s signature (in Section I), for DOT-regulated testing ~
	 1. Did the employee have alcohol tests with a result of 0.04 or higher?   	 Yes ____  No ____
	 2. Did the employee have verified positive drug tests?	 	     	 Yes ____  No ____
	 3. Did the employee refuse to be tested?		 	 	     	 Yes ____  No ____
	 4. Did the employee have other violations of DOT agency drug and
	 	 alcohol testing regulations?	 	 	 	 	 	 Yes ____  No ____
	 5. Did a previous employer report a drug and alcohol rule
	 	 violation to you?  	 	 	 	 	   	 	 Yes ____  No ____
	 6. If you answered “yes” to any of the above items, did the
	 	 employee complete the return-to-duty process?	             N/A ____ Yes ____  No ____
NOTE:  If you answered “yes” to item 5, you must provide the previous employer’s report.  If you answered “yes” to 
item 6, you must also transmit the appropriate return-to-duty documentation (e.g., SAP report(s), follow-up testing record). 

II-B Name of person providing information in Section II-A: ______________________________________________
Title: ___________________________________________  
Phone #: ________________________________________ 
Date: ___________________________________________

NOTE EXCEPTION:  Employers 
covered under FMCSA regulations 
must seek three years of previous 
testing records.
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Cause For Suspicion

1)	 Presence of Drugs and/or Drug Paraphernalia (specify) ___________________________________

2)	 Appearance     	Normal               		     Flushed               		     Puncture Marks
     		     	Disheveled	 	    Bloodshot Eyes  	 	    Profuse Sweating
     		     	Dry-mouth Symptoms		    Runny Nose/Sores	    Tremors
     		     	Dilated/Constricted Pupils	   Inappropriate wearing of sunglasses
		   Other __________________________________________________________

3)	 Behavior/	    	Normal	    Incoherent          	    Slurred                    Silent	
	 Speech	    	Confused         	    Slowed  	    Whispering
		  	 Other  __________________________________________________________

      Awareness 	    	Normal 	    Confused            	    Mood Swings         Euphoria
	      	    	Lethargic        	    Paranoid            	    Disoriented
		  	Lack of Coordination 
		  	 Other  __________________________________________________________

4)	 Motor Skills	    	Normal	    Swaying	    Falling                    Staggering
	 Balance	 	 Other __________________________________________________________

      Walking & 	    	Normal	    Swaying	    Arms Raised for Balance
	 Turning	    	Stumbling        	    Falling	    Reaching for Support
      		 	 Other  __________________________________________________________

5)	 Other Observed Actions or Behavior (specify) __________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________

Witnessed By

__________________________________________________________________________am/pm
Signature	 	 	 	 Title	 	 	                       Date	             Time

__________________________________________________________________________am/pm
Signature	 	 	 	 Title	 	 	                      Date	             Time

NOTE
This document must be prepared and signed by the witnesses within 
24 hours of the observed behavior or before the results of the test are 
released, whichever is earlier (49 CFR 391.99(d)).

Observed Behavior - Reasonable Cause Record

Employee  Name  __________________________________________________________________
	          	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 Identification Number 
Observation Date   _________________________________________________________________

Location  ________________________________________________________________________
                      Street                                 City                                     State                 Zip
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Commercial 
Driver’s License 
Standards

Part 383
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Requirements and Penalties

The licensing provisions in Part 383 are intended to 
help reduce accidents by setting standards that:

n	 Require commercial drivers to be properly quali-	
	 fied and to hold a single valid driver’s license 	
	 (CDL) and
n	 Disqualify drivers who do not operate a Commer-	
	 cial Motor Vehicle (CMV) safely

Vehicles Requiring Commercial Driver’s 
Licenses

Drivers must hold a CDL if they operate in interstate, 
intrastate, or foreign commerce and drive a vehicle:

n	 A single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 pounds 	
	 or more, or
n	 A GCWR of 26,001 pounds or more, inclusive 	
	 of a towed unit with a GVWR of more than 10,000 	
	 pounds, or
n	 Designed to transport at least 16 passengers includ-	
	 ing the driver, or
n	 Transporting a quantity of hazardous materials 	
	 requiring placarding

Exception: Effective Oct. 1, 2012 CDL requirements 
are no longer applicable to Covered Farm Vehicle 
drivers. A Covered Farm Vehicle driver is a driver 
who operates:
•	 Any vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 pounds or 
less; or
•	 Any vehicle with a GVWR greater than 26,001 
pounds and traveling wholly within the state the 
vehicle is licensed from or within 150 air miles of the 
farm/ranch in interstate commerce
•	 Operated by a farm/ranch owner or operator, em-
ployee or family member
•	 Transporting agricultural commodities, livestock, 
machinery or supplies to or from the farm/ranch
•	 The vehicle must be identified by a special license 
plate. (In Missouri, this is indicated by the ‘F’ tab on 
the plate.)

Part 383
Commercial Driver’s License Standards

•	 The vehicle may not be operated for-hire
•	 Is not transporting hazardous materials requiring 
placarding

Because the CDL is a state-issued license, you should 
check with appropriate state officials regarding par-
ticular license classes and specific exemptions.

*Gross combination weight rating (GCWR) means 
the value specified by the manufacturer as the loaded 
weight of a combination (articulated) vehicle.  In the 
absence of a value specified by the manufacturer, 
GCWR will be determined by adding the GVWR of 
the power unit and the total weight of the towed unit 
and any load thereon.
*Gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) means the 
value specified by the manufacturer as the loaded 
weight of a single vehicle.
 
Notification to Employer and 
Licensing State

Upon conviction for any state or local traffic violation, 
a driver must notify his/her employer(s) within 30 
days.  This notification must be in writing and must 
include the following information:

n	 Driver’s full name
n	 Driver’s license number
n	 Date of conviction
n	 Details about the offense, including any resulting 	
	 suspension, revocation, or cancellation of 
	 driving privileges
n	 Indication of whether the violation happened in a 	
	 CMV
n	 Location of offense and
n	 Driver’s signature
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Disqualifying Offenses

No employer shall knowingly allow, require, permit, or 
authorize a disqualified driver to drive a CMV.  Disqual-
ifying offenses include:

n	 Driving a CMV while under the influence of 
	 alcohol *
n	 Driving a CMV while under the influence of a 	 	
disqualifying drug or other controlled substance*
n	 Having an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or greater 		
while operating a CMV
n	 Having an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or greater 		
while operating any motor vehicle*
n	 Refusing to take an alcohol test as required by a 	 	
State or jurisdiction under its implied consent laws 	 	
or regulations as defined in 383.72*
n	 Leaving the scene of an accident that involves a 	 	
CMV*
n	 Using a CMV to commit a felony*
n	 Driving a CMV when the driver’s CDL is revoked, 	 	
suspended, or canceled, or the driver is disqualified 	 	
from operating a CMV*
n	 Using a CMV to cause a fatality*
n	 Using a CMV to commit serious traffic violations*
n	 Using a CMV to violate an Out-of-Service Order
n	 Using a CMV to violate the Railroad-Highway 	 	
Grade Crossing rule*

*  Effective September 30, 2005, CDL license hold-
ers will be subject when driving a non-CMV (personal 
vehicle) to the moving violation standards in 383.51, the 
same as if they were driving CMV.  

Penalties

A driver convicted of a felony offense for using a CMV 
for manufacturing, distributing or dispensing a con-
trolled substance is disqualified for life.

Suspensions for Traffic Violations 

A 60-day, 120-day, 1 year, 3 year and life suspension 
will be imposed on certain convictions, depending on 
severity, number of convictions and subsequent convic-
tions.  For more information on the types of convic-
tions and disqualification time frames, please reference 
383.51.

Implied Consent

Any CDL holder is automatically considered to have 
consented to alcohol testing by any state or jurisdiction.
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Missouri Classification System

Note:  Certain types of vehicles such as tankers, pas-
senger, hazardous material haulers and double/triple 
trailers, require an endorsement.  Please consult the 
CDL manual offered at the Department of Revenue 
for particulars. Find it at http://dor.mo.gov/forms/
Commerical_Driver_License.pdf

C	 Any single vehicle less than 26,001 pounds GVWR or any such vehicle towing a vehicle not in excess of 	
	 10,000 pounds GVWR.  This group applies only to vehicles, which are required to be placarded for hazard-	
	 ous materials or are designed to transport 16 or more persons, including the operator.  A holder of a Class 	
	 A, B, or C license may drive all vehicles which may be driven by a holder of a Class E or Class F license.

	 Examples include but are not limited to:

Class* Description

A	 Any combination of vehicles with a Gross Combination Weight Rating (GCWR) of 26,001 or more 	 	
	 pounds provided the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of the vehicle(s) being towed is in excess 	
	 of 10,000 pounds.  (Holders of a Class A license may also, with any appropriate endorsements, operate 	
	 all vehicles within Class B and C).

	 Examples include but are not limited to:

B	 Any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 or more pounds or any such vehicle towing a vehicle not 		
	 in excess of 10,000 pounds GVWR.  (Holders of a Class B license may also, with any appropriate 	 	
	 endorsements, operate all vehicles within Class C).

	 Examples include but are not limited to:

*The representative vehicle for the skills test must 
meet the written description for that group. The ex-
amples represent, but do not fully cover, the types of 
vehicles falling within each group.
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Endorsements

In addition to general knowledge and skills tests, 
drivers who operate specialized commercial motor 
vehicles must pass additional tests and obtain endorse-
ments on their CDL, as follows:

T –– Double/triple trailers (knowledge test only)		
P –– Passenger (knowledge and skills tests)
N –– Tank vehicle (knowledge test only)		
S –– School Bus (knowledge and skills tests)*
H –– Hazardous materials (knowledge test only)**
X –– Combination of tank vehicle and hazardous 	
         materials (knowledge tests)

*Effective September 2005, “S” will not suffice for 
“P” Endorsement.

**If you seek to obtain, renew, or transfer an HME 
on your CDL, you must apply for a security threat as-
sessment. TSA rules require you to begin applying for 
the security threat assessment at least 30 days prior 
to the expiration of your CDL. Web address:  www.
hazprints.com  Telephone:  (877)429-7746. 

Air Brake Restrictions

If an applicant fails the air brake section of the knowl-
edge test, or performs the skills test in a vehicle not 
equipped with air brakes, his/her CDL, if issued, will 
indicate that the license holder may not operate any 
CMV equipped with air brakes.

Note:  For the purposes of the skills test and the 
license restriction, air brakes include any braking 
system that operates fully or partially on the air brake 
principle.

For-Hire License (Class E) -- Eligible Age 18
Missouri Intrastate Only

You must have a Class E license if you receive pay 
for driving a motor vehicle transporting 14 or fewer 
passengers, or if you will transport property for pay 
or as part of your employment. Anyone who regularly 
operates a motor vehicle for his or her employment, 
whether owned by that person or belonging to another 
person and designed to carry freight, merchandise or 
is operated in furtherance of that business or com-
mercial enterprise, must also have a Class E license. 

(Example:  If the person is a delivery driver, whether 
the car is owned by the driver or the company, that 
person must have a Class E license or greater.)  The 
vehicle driven must be 26,000 pounds or less gross 
vehicle weight rating (GVWR) and not required to 
be placarded for hazardous materials. You must be at 
least 18 years old and pass the driver’s exam to get a 
Class E license. (RSMo 302.015)  

*Note:  If a Commercial Driver License (CDL) is not 
required, you may be subject to the Missouri Class E 
driver’s license requirement as an operator of a farm 
truck.

Missouri Intrastate Only
“K” Restriction

A driver obtaining or renewing a CDL license may 
have a “K” restriction placed on their license, which 
designates “Intrastate Driving Only”. This “K” re-
striction applies to drivers of:

n	 Vehicles licensed for 60,000 pounds or less and 	
	 are used exclusively to transport solid waste (In	
	 trastate only);
n	 Vehicles licensed for 42,000 pounds or less and 	
	 the license plate has been designated for farm 	
	 use 	by the letter F (Intrastate only), unless such 	
	 vehicle is transporting hazardous materials;
n	 Persons having a valid Missouri Chauffeur’s Li-	
	 cense on May 13, 1988 are not subject to the medi-	
	 cal requirements of Section 391.41 (In intrastate 	
	 commerce only)
n	 Persons 18 to 20 years old. A driver who is at 	
	 least 18 years of age, but not yet 21 years of 	 	
	 age, if otherwise qualified and licensed to 	 	
	 operate a commercial motor vehicle transporting 	
	 passengers or property, may do so, only in intra-	
	 state commerce, except hazardous materials. (Any 	
	 person transporting hazardous material must be 	
	 at least 21 years old). This subsection exempts 	
	 these drivers only from the 21 year minimum age 	
	 required by 49 CFR 391.11(b)(1), but not from any 	
	 physical qualification required by 49 CFR 391.41.

	 In addition, MoDOT may authorize a person who 	
	 is physically unqualified to drive a commercial 	
	 motor vehicle to operate commercial motor 
vehicles in Missouri intrastate commerce only. Mo-
DOT grants individual medical exemptions by issu-
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ing a Skill Performance Evaluation (SPE) Certificate, 
to successful applicants, whether they are physically 
unqualified because of limb amputation, limb im-
pairment, insulin-treated diabetes mellitus, or vision 
impairment.

Guidance: Missouri Commercial 
Driver’s License and Medical 
Certification
Federal law says states must store DOT medical 
certification status in commercial driver’s license 
computer systems. One step of the process requires 
Missouri CDL holders to self-certify with the Missouri 
Department of Revenue which of four types of CDL 
best describes the driver’s situation. 
Visit www.modot.org/mcs/CDLMed or use the 
information below to make a choice.

The four choices are:

Non-excepted Interstate (NI) - the most common – 
Drivers who are required to follow federal medical 
certification requirements (DOT card).

Non-excepted Intrastate (NA) – Drivers operating 
wholly within Missouri who must meet the federal 
DOT medical card requirements. 

Excepted Interstate (EI)– Drivers who are not 
required to comply with Federal medical card rules 
due to a federal exception from medical requirements.

Excepted Intrastate (EA) – Drivers operating wholly 
within Missouri who do not have to meet the Federal 
medical card requirements due to a Missouri state 
exception.
Interstate or Intrastate
If you ever operate a CMV in a state other than 
Missouri or haul a load that began or will end up in 
another state or country, certify as an interstate driver. 
If you operate only in Missouri, hauling loads that 
originate and end completely within the state, you’re 

an intrastate driver. 
Interstate excepted or non-excepted
You operate in excepted interstate commerce when 
you drive a CMV in interstate commerce only for 
certain activities, the most common of which are:

n	 To transport school children and/	
	 or school staff between home and 	
	 school.
n	 As federal, state or local 		
	 government employees.
n	 Fire truck or rescue vehicle 		
	 drivers during emergencies and 		
	 other activities.
n	 A truck that is controlled and 		
	 operated not-for-hire by a farmer, 	
	 when specific conditions apply.
n	 You hold a CDL but do not 
operate a commercial motor vehicle.

If any of the above activities are the only operation in 
which you drive, you operate in excepted interstate 
commerce and do not need a federal  medical 
examiner’s certificate. Most other drivers operate in 
non-excepted interstate commerce and must provide a 
current medical examiner’s certificate to DOR. If both 
apply, choose non-excepted interstate. 

Intrastate Excepted or Non-Excepted
You operate in excepted intrastate commerce if you 
drive a CMV only in intrastate commerce activities 
that do not require you to have a medical examination 
due to a Missouri state exception. All other intrastate 
drivers operate in non-excepted intrastate commerce.
If you held a Chauffeur’s license prior to May 13, 
1988 and have a “K” restriction printed on your CDL, 
you are exempt from the need to have a DOT medical 
card and should certify as being excepted intrastate 
(EA).
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Minimum Levels 
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Motor Carriers
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Interstate and Intrastate Commerce
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Financial responsibility means having insurance poli-
cies or surety bonds sufficient to satisfy the minimum 
public liability requirements. Public liability means 
liability for bodily injury, property damage, and 
environmental restoration. Environmental restoration 
means restitution for the loss, damage, or destruc-
tion of natural resources arising out of an accidental 
discharge of toxic or other environmentally harmful 
materials or liquids.

Requirements for Financial 
Responsibility

Motor carriers of property operating commercial mo-
tor vehicles in interstate, foreign, or intrastate com-
merce, and for-hire carriers of passengers operating in 
interstate or foreign commerce must have at least the 
minimum amount of insurance required by law.

(See the Schedule of Limits in this folder for mini-
mum levels of financial responsibility).

Proof

The motor carrier must have proof of the minimum 
level of insurance at the company’s principal place of 
business.  

Proof may be shown by any of the following:

n	 Endorsements for Motor Carriers policies of insur-	
	 ance for public liability under Sections 29 and 30 	
	 of the Motor Carrier Act of 1980 (Form MCS-90) 	
	 issued by an insurer
n	 Endorsements for Motor Carriers of Passengers 	
	 policies of insurance for public liability under 	
	 Section 18 of the Bus Regulatory Reform Act of 	
	 1982 (Form MCS-90B) issued by an insurer
n	 A Motor Carrier Surety Bond for public liability 	
	 under Section 30 of the Motor Carrier Act of 1980 	
	 (Form MCS-82) issued by a surety

Part 387
Minimum Levels of Financial Responsibility for Motor Carriers  
(Interstate and Intrastate Commerce)

n	 A Motor Carriers of Passengers Surety Bond for 	
	 public liability under Section 18 of the Bus Regu-	
	 latory Reform Act of 1982 (Form MCS-82B) is	
	 sued by a surety
n	 A written decision, order, or authorization of the 	
	 Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration 	
	 authorizing the motor carrier to self-insure under 	
	 49 CFR 1043.5
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ENDORSEMENT FOR                
MOTOR CARRIER POLICIES OF INSURANCE FOR PUBLIC LIABILITY 

UNDER SECTIONS 29 AND 30 OF THE MOTOR CARRIER ACT OF 1980 

Issued to ________________________________________of ______________________________________________________________

Dated at ______________________________________this ______day of _________________________________________, 20 _______

Amending Policy No._____________________________  Effective Date _____________________________________________________

Name of Insurance Company ________________________________________________________________________________________

Countersigned by ______________________________________________
Authorized Company Representative

The policy to which this endorsement is attached provides primary or excess insurance, as indicated by “[X],” for the limits shown:

[    ]  This insurance is primary and the company shall not be liable for amounts in excess of $$_________________for each accident.

[    ]  This insurance is excess and the company shall not be liable for amounts in excess of $$_________________for each accident in 
excess of the underlying  limit of $________________for each accident.

Whenever required by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), the company agrees to furnish the FMCSA a duplicate of
said policy and all its endorsements. The company also agrees, upon telephone request by an authorized representative of the FMCSA, to 
verify that the policy is in force as of a particular date. The telephone number to call is: _____________________________________.

Cancellation of this endorsement may be effected by the company of the insured by giving (1) thirty-five (35) days notice in writing to the 
other party (said 35 days notice to commence from the date the notice is mailed, proof of mailing shall be sufficient proof of notice), and (2) if 
the insured is subject to the FMCSA ’s registration requirements under 49 U.S.C.13901, by providing thirty (30) days notice to the FMCSA 
(said 30 days notice to commence from the date the notice is received by the FMCSA at its office in Washington, D.C.).
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

DEFINITIONS AS USED IN THIS ENDORSEMENT
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Accident includes continuous or repeated exposure to 
conditions or which results in bodily injury, property damage, or 
environmental damage, which the insured neither expected nor 
intended.

Motor Vehicle means a land vehicle, machine, truck, tractor, 
trailer, or semi-trailer propelled or drawn by mechanical power 
and used on a highway for transporting property, or any 
combination thereof.

Bodily Injury means injury to the body, sickness, or disease to 
any person, including death resulting from any of these.

Property Damage means damage to or loss of use of tangible 
property.

Environmental Restoration means restitution for the loss, 
damage, or destruction of natural resources arising out of the 
accidental discharge, dispersal, release or escape into or upon 
the and, atmosphere, watercourse, or body of water, of any 
commodity transported by a motor carrier. This shall include the 
cost of removal and the cost of necessary measures taken to 
minimize or mitigate damage to human health, the natural 
environment, fish, shellfish, and wildlife.

Public Liability means liability for bodily injury, property 
damage, and environmental restoration

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

The insurance policy to which this endorsement is attached 
provides automobile liability insurance and is amended to assure 
compliance by the insured, within the limits stated herein, as a 
motor carrier of property, with Sections 29 and 30 of the Motor 
Carrier Act of 1980 and the rules and regulations of the Federal 
Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA).

In consideration of the premium stated in the policy to which this 
endorsement is attached, the insurer (the company) agrees to 
pay, within the limits of liability described herein, any final 
judgment recovered against the insured for public liability 
resulting from negligence in the operation, maintenance or use of 
motor vehicles subject to the financial responsibility requirements 
of Sections 29 and 30 of the Motor Carrier Act of 1980 
regardless of whether or not each motor vehicle is specifically 
described in the policy and whether or not such negligence 
occurs on any route or in any territory authorized to be served by 
the insured or elsewhere.  Such insurance as is afforded, for
public liability, does not apply to injury to or death of the 
insured's employees while engaged in the course of their 
employment, or property transported by the insured, designated 
as cargo. It is understood and agreed that no condition, 
provision, stipulation, or limitation contained in the policy, this 
endorsement, or any other endorsement thereon, or violation 
thereof, shall relieve the company from liability or from the 

payment of any final judgment, within the limits of liability herein 
described, irrespective of the financial condition, insolvency or 
bankruptcy of the insured. However, all terms, conditions, and 
limitations in the policy to which the endorsement is attached 
shall remain in full force and effect as binding between the 
insured and the company. The insured agrees to reimburse the 
company for any payment made by the company on account of 
any accident, claim, or suit involving a breach of the terms of the 
policy, and for any payment that the company would not have 
been obligated to make under the provisions of the policy except 
for the agreement contained in this endorsement.

It is further understood and agreed that, upon failure of the 
company to pay any final judgment recovered against the 
insured as provided herein, the judgment creditor may maintain 
an action in any court of competent jurisdiction against the 
company to compel such payment.

The limits of the company's liability for the amounts prescribed in 
this endorsement apply separately to each accident and any 
payment under the policy because of any one accident shall not 
operate to reduce the liability of the company for the payment of 
final judgments resulting from any other accident.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

THE SCHEDULE OF LIMITS SHOWN ON THE REVERSE SIDE DOES NOT PROVIDE COVERAGE.  The limits shown in the schedule are for information purposes only.
Form MCS-90 (4/2000)
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Schedule of Limits - Public Liability

Type of carriage Commodity transported Jan. 1, 1985

(1)For-hire (In interstate or foreign commerce, with a 
gross vehicle weight rating of 10,000 or more 
pounds).

(2)For-hire and Private (In interstate, foreign, or
intrastate commerce, with a gross vehicle weight 
rating of 10,000 or more pounds).

(3)For-hire and Private (In interstate or foreign
commerce, in any quantity; or in intrastate commerce, 
in bulk only; with a gross vehicle weight rating of 
10,000 or more pounds).  * (See Note)

(4)For-hire and Private (In interstate or foreign
commerce,with a gross vehicle weight rating of less
than 10,000 pounds).

Property (nonhazardous)........................................

Hazardous substances, as defined in 49 CFR
171.8,transported in cargo tanks, portable tanks,
or hopper-type vehicles with capacities in excess
of 3,500 water gallons; or in bulk Division 1.1,1.2,
and 1.3 materials, Division 2.3,Hazard Zone A, or
Division 6.1,Packing Group I, Hazard Zone A
material; in bulk Division 2.1 or 2.2;or highway
route controlled quantities of a Class 7 material, as
defined in 49 CFR 173.403

Oil listed in 49 CFR 172.101;hazardous waste,
hazardous materials, and hazardous substances
defined in 49 CFR 171.8 and listed in 49 CFR
172.101,but not mentioned in (2)above or (4)
below.

Any quantity of Division 1.1,1.2,or 1.3 material;
any quantity of a Division 2.3,Hazard Zone A,or
Division 6.1,Packing Group I,Hazard Zone A
material; or highway route controlled quantities of a
Class 7 material as defined in 49 CFR 173.403.

$750,000

$5,000,000

$1,000,000

$5,000,000

(5) For-hire motor carriers of passengers operating in 
interstate or foreign commerce

Any vehicle with a seating capacity of 16 passengers or 
more.

Any vehicle with a seating capacity of 15 passengers or 
less.1

$5,000,000

$1,500,000

DEFINITION:

In bulk – the transportation, as cargo, of property, except Division 1.1, 1.2, or 1.3 materials, and division 2.3, Hazard Zone A gases, in containment 
systems with capacities in excess of 3,500 water gallons.

In bulk (Division 1.1, 1.2, and 1.3 explosives) – the transportation, as cargo, of any Division 1.1, 1.2, or 1.3 materials in any quantity.

In bulk (Division 2.3, Hazard Zone A or division 6.1, Packing Group I, Hazard Zone A materials) – the transportation, as cargo, of any Division 2.3, 
Hazard Zone A, or Division 6.1, Packing Group I, Hazard Zone A material, in any quantity.  

Note: Unless hauling bulk hazardous material, this applies to For-hire and Private (In interstate or foreign commerce); or For-hire intrastate 
commerce, and does not apply to Private intrastate commerce.
• Tow trucks with a GVWR or GCWR of 10,000 pounds or more performing emergency moves in interstate or foreign commerce are required to 

maintain minimum levels of financial responsibility in the amount of $750,000.  Tow trucks performing secondary moves are required to maintain 
levels of coverage applicable to the commodity being transported by the vehicle being towed.

• Vehicles being transported by motor vehicle are subject only to 49 CFR 173.220 of the HMRs, they meet the definition of "Hazardous material" in 
49 CFR 171.8 because "Vehicle, flammable gas powered" and "Vehicle, flammable liquid powered" (this includes diesel fuel) are designated as 
hazardous in 49 CFR 172.101 [UN 3166]. For that reason, vehicles transporting other vehicles would have to carry $1,000,000 of public liability 
insurance.
o Examples may include, but are not limited to:  backhoe, motorcycles, self-propelled lawn mowers, tractors, bobcats, auto-haulers, etc.

1Except as provided in 387.27(b).
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Bodily Injury and Property Damage 
Liability (BIPD)

Proof of BIPD insurance must be on file with Motor 
Carrier Services Division before the motor carrier can 
transport property or passengers within the borders 
of this state, unless exempted under RSMo 390.030.  
The insurance form that must be on file is one of the 
following:

Intrastate Operations

1.	 Form E, Uniform Motor Carrier Bodily Injury 	
	 and Property Damage Liability Certificate 	 	
	 of Insurance (intrastate household goods carriers 	
	 must also file a Form H, Uniform Motor Carrier 	
	 Cargo Certificate of Insurance):

2.	 Form G, Uniform Motor Carrier Bodily Injury 	
	 and Property Damage Surety Bond; or		
3.	 An application to self-insure on the prescribed 	
	 application form.

The minimum levels of BIPD liability insurance are 
listed below:

4.	 Intrastate-Passenger Service

Twelve (12) passenger or less capacity, $100,000 for 
injury or death of one (1) person; $300,000 for any 
(1) accident; $50,000 property damage for any one (1) 
accident.

More than twelve (12) passenger capacity, $100,000 
for injury or death of one (1) person; $500,000 for any 
one (1) accident; $50,000 property damage for any one 
(1) accident.

5.	 Intrastate Property-Nonhazardous

$100,000 for injury or death of one (1) person; 
$300,000 for any one (1) accident; $50,000 property 
damage for any one (1) accident.

Filing Proof Of Insurance

6.	 Intrastate Property-Hazardous  . . . . . 		
	 $5,000,000*

Hazardous substance, as defined in 49 CFR 171.8 
transported in cargo tanks or hopper-type vehicles 
with capacities in excess of 3,500 water gallons; any 
quantity of Class 1.1, 1.2, or 1.3 explosives; any quan-
tity of Class 2.3 Hazard Zone A; any quantity of Class 
6.1, Packing Group I, Hazard Zone A; Class 7 radio-
active materials in highway route controlled quantities 
as defined in 49 CFR 173.455; and Class 2.1 and 2.2 
gases in tanks with capacities in excess of 3,500 water 
gallons.

7.	 Intrastate Property-Hazardous  . . . . . 		
	 $1,000,000*

Oil listed in 49 CFR 172.101; hazardous waste, haz-
ardous materials and hazardous substances defined 
in 49 CFR 171.8 and listed in 49 CFR 171.101, but not 
mentioned in 4 or 6.
 

Cargo Insurance (Intrastate Household 
Goods Operations Only)

Proof of cargo insurance must be on file to transport 
household goods within the borders of this state.  The 
insurance form must be one of the following:

1.	 Form H, Uniform Motor Carrier Cargo Certificate 	
	 of Insurance; or
2.	 Form J, Uniform Motor Carrier Cargo Surety 	
	 Bond.

The minimum level of cargo insurance is as follows:

Loss of damage to property carried on any one (1) mo-
tor vehicle - $2,500; and

Loss or damage to or aggregate of losses or damages 
of or to property occurring at any one (1) time and 
place - $5,000.

*This limit applies only to vehicles within a gross vehicle weight 
rating of 10,000 lbs or more.
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Financial Responsibility for Missouri 
Oversize Overweight Permit 

An applicant must submit proof of insurance meeting 
the required minimum amount before a permit can be 
issued.  The applicant must have on file with the Mis-
souri Department of Transportation, Motor Carrier 
Services Division an approved certificate of liability 
insurance specifically showing coverage of amounts 
not less than the following:

Schedule of Minimum Limits of Combined Single 
Limit Automobile Liability:

Type of Move		  Amount
1)  Routine	 	 $750,000
2)  Super Heavy and Large Loads 	 $2,000,000
3)  Noncommercial Building 	 	 $2,000,000
	 (House) Movement	 	 	 	 
Insurance for all permit operation shall be in force for 
the duration of the permit period. Travel under permit 
must be with properly licensed, insured and permitted 
vehicles and must be licensed for maximum weights 
in order to obtain overweight permits. For specific in-
formation relating to these regulations, please review 
the Missouri Revised Statutes, Chapters 260, 301 
through 307, 390 and 622.

If there are any questions concerning these require-
ments, please contact the Motor Carrier Services 
Division, Compliance Communication Center at (573) 
751-7100 or (800) 877-8499.
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Federal Motor 
Carrier Safety 
Regulations

Part 390

General Applicability
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General Applicability

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSRs) 
apply to all employers, employees, and commercial 
motor vehicles transporting property or passengers in 
interstate commerce.

Commercial Motor Vehicle in “INTERSTATE COM-
MERCE”: Any self-propelled or towed motor vehicle 
used on a highway in interstate commerce to transport 
passengers or property when the vehicle:

n	 Has a gross vehicle weight rating or gross combi-	
	 nation weight rating, or gross vehicle weight or 	
	 gross combination weight of 4,536 kg (10,001 	
	 pounds) or more, or
n	 Is designed or used to transport 9 or more passen-	
	 gers, including the driver, or
n	 Is used in transporting a quantity of hazardous 	
	 material requiring placarding

Commercial Motor Vehicle in “INTRASTATE COM-
MERCE”: Any self-propelled or towed motor vehicle 
used on a highway in intrastate commerce to transport 
passengers or property when the vehicle:

n	 Has a gross vehicle weight rating or gross combi-	
	 nation weight rating, or gross vehicle weight 		
	 or gross combination weight of 11,794 kg (26,001 	
	 pounds) or more, or
n	 Is designed or used to transport 9 or more passen-	
	 gers, including the driver, or
n	 Is used in transporting a quantity of hazardous 	
	 material requiring placarding
n	 Has a gross vehicle weight rating or gross combi-	
	 nation weight rating, or gross vehicle weight or 	
	 gross combination weight of 4,536 kg (10,001 	
	 pounds) or more and is used in transporting any 	
	 amount of hazardous material
n	 Is used in transporting a quantity of hazardous 	
	 material requiring placarding 

Interstate-Only Exemptions
Vehicles and drivers used in transportation by a 
Covered Farm Vehicle as defined on page 29 of this 
manual are excepted from the following require-
ments of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations 
(FMCSRs):

•	 Part 382 Alcohol and Drug Testing Requirements
•	 Part 383 Commercial Driver’s License Standards
•	 Part 391 Qualification of Drivers (Medical Certifi-
cation Only)
•	 Part 395 Hours of Service of Drivers
•	 Part 396 Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance

Intrastate-Only Exemptions
n	 Vehicles with less than 26,001 pounds Gross 		
	 Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) or Gross Combi-	
	 nation Weight Rating (GCWR) and not transport-	
	 ing any amount of hazardous material
n	 Vehicles licensed for 60,000 pounds or less when 	
	 used exclusively for the transport of solid waste
n	 Vehicles licensed for less than 42,000 pounds and 	
	 the license plate is designated for farm use. 
n	 Persons having a valid Missouri Chauffeur’s Li-	
	 cense on or before May 13, 1988, are not subject to 	
	 the medical requirements of Section 391.41

Vehicles and drivers used in transportation by a 
Covered Farm Vehicle as defined on page 29 of this 
manual are excepted from the following require-
ments of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations 
(FMCSRs):

•	 Part 382 Alcohol and Drug Testing Requirements
•	 Part 383 Commercial Driver’s License Standards
•	 Part 391 Qualification of Drivers (Medical Certifi-
cation Only)
•	 Part 395 Hours of Service of Drivers
•	 Part 396 Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance

Exceptions to General Applicability

Transportation provided by federal, state, and local 
governments are exempt from Part 390-397; however, 
must comply with Part 40, Part 382 (Drug and Alco-
hol) and Part 383 (CDL) requirements of the FMCSRs. 

Part 390
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations: General
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Occasional transportation of personal property by 
individuals for non-commercial purposes, school bus 
operations, and transportation of human corpses, or 
sick and injured people are also exempt.

Accident Register

Accident: An incident involving a CMV operating on 
a public road resulting in at least one of the following:

n	 A fatality
n	 Bodily injury to a person who, as a result of the 	
	 injury, immediately receives medical treatment 	
	 away from the scene of the accident
n	 Disabling damage to one or more motor vehicles, 	
	 requiring the vehicle(s) to be towed or otherwise 	
	 transported from the scene by a tow truck or other 	
	 vehicle

Accident Register: A motor carrier must maintain an 
accident register for three years after the date of each 
accident, containing the following information:

A list of accidents as defined in 390.5, containing for 
each accident:
n	 Date and place of accident
n	 Driver’s name
n	 Number of injuries and fatalities
n	 Hazardous materials (other than fuel) released
Copies of all accident reports required by state or 
other governmental entities or insurers

Vehicle Identification (Markings)

Every CMV operated by a motor carrier in interstate 
commerce must be marked, on both sides of the ve-
hicle, with the following:

n	 The motor carrier’s legal name or trade name
n	 The motor carrier’s identification number preced-	
	 ed by USDOT
n	 If the name of any person other than the operat-	
	 ing carrier appears on the CMV, the name 	 	
	 of the operating carrier must be followed by the 	
	 same information as above, and preceded by the 	
	 words “operated by”
n	 Other identifying information may be displayed 	
     if not inconsistent with the above Size, shape, 

location, and color. The marking must:

n	 Appear on both sides
n	 Contrast sharply in color with the background 
n	 Be legible, during daylight hours, from a distance 	
	 of 50 feet while the CMV is stationary
n	 Be maintained in a manner that retains legibility

Construction and durability:

n	 The marking may be painted on the CMV or may 	
	 consist of a removable device that meets the above 	
	 requirements

Every CMV operated by a motor carrier only in 
intrastate commerce must be marked, on BOTH sides 
of the vehicle, with the same information as provided 
above except that:

n	 The motor carrier ID number preceded by “US   
     DOT”, then the letters “MO” shall be included in  
     the vehicle markings, immediately following the  
     USDOT number. e.g.:  “USDOT 654321 MO”.
n	 Intrastate for-hire passenger carriers operating 	
	 limousines or vans with the total capacity of 13 
	 or less, are allowed to display only the USDOT 	
	 number anywhere on the rear of the vehicle instead 	
	 of the vehicle side per 390.021 RSMo

Per 301.330 RSMo. Each CMV (except those licensed 
under the provisions of Section 301.057 or 301.058 
based on a gross weight of thirty-six thousand pounds 
or less and which are not used for actual commercial 
purposes) must display in a conspicuous place:

n	 The name of the owner;
n	 The address from which the vehicle is operated;
n	 Each local commercial vehicle must also display in 	
	 a conspicuous place the word “local”.

Relief From Regulations During 
Emergencies

Relief from Parts 390-399 of the FMCSRs may be 
granted during declared emergencies to any motor 
carrier who provides emergency assistance.
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Qualification of 
Drivers

Part 391
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Motor carriers must assure that all drivers of commer-
cial motor vehicles meet the minimum qualifications 
specified in Part 391.

Driver Requirements

A driver must meet the following requirements:

n	 Be at least 18 years of age for intrastate commerce 	
	 and 21 years of age for interstate commerce.  Must 	
	 be 21 years of age in both interstate and intrastate 	
	 commerce to transport hazardous materials 
n	 Speak and read English well enough to converse 	
	 with the public, understand highway traffic signs 	
	 and signals, respond to official questions, and able 	
	 to make legible entries on reports and records
n	 Be able to drive the vehicle safely
n	 Know how to safely load and properly block, 		
	 brace, and secure the cargo
n	 Have only one valid commercial motor vehicle 	
	 operator’s license
n	 Provide an employing motor carrier with a list of 	
	 all motor vehicle violations or a signed statement 	
	 that the driver has not been convicted of any motor 	
	 vehicle violations during the past 12 months.  		
	 A disqualified driver must not be allowed to drive a 	
	 commercial motor vehicle for any reason.
n	 Pass a driver’s road test or equivalent
n	 Complete an application for employment
n	 Possess a valid medical certificate (unless grandfa-	
	 thered in intrastate commerce 5/13/88)
n  Some individuals with certain physical impairments 	
	 may apply for a Medical Exemption, or Certificate 	
	 (See:  Medical Program, Page 79)

A medical certificate is required when operating:

Intrastate commerce: 
n	 A single or combination vehicle with a Gross Ve-	
	 hicle Weight Rating (GVWR) or Gross Combina-	
	 tion Weight Rating (GCWR) of 26,001 pounds or 	
	 more, 
n	 Is designed or used to transport 9 or more passen	
	 gers, including the driver,
n	 Is designed or used to transport 16 or more passen	
	 gers, including the driver, and is not used to trans	
	 port passengers for compensation  

Part 391
Qualification of Drivers

n	 A single or combination vehicle with a GVWR or 	
	 GCWR of 10,001 pounds or more when transport	
	 ing any amount of hazardous material, or
n	 Any size vehicle when transporting hazardous ma-	
	 terial that is required to be placarded. 

Interstate commerce: 
n	 Operating a single or combination vehicle with a 	
	 GVWR or GCWR of 10,001 pounds or more, 
n	 Designed or used to transport 9 or more passengers 	
	 (including the driver); 
n	 Designed or used to transport 16 or more passen-	
	 gers (including the driver) and is not used to trans-	
	 port passengers for compensation, or 
n	 Any size vehicle when transporting hazardous ma-	
	 terial that is required to be placarded.

Examples of Physical Requirements

(Section 391.41 provides the complete list of physical 
requirements)

n	 Has no loss of a foot, a leg, a hand, or an arm
n	 Has no established medical history or clinical diag-	
	 nosis of diabetes requiring insulin for control
n	 Has no clinical diagnosis of any disqualifying heart 	
	 disease
n	 Has no clinical diagnosis of high blood pressure
n	 Has no clinical diagnosis of epilepsy
n	 Has 20/40 vision or better with corrected lenses
n	 Has distant binocular acuity of at least 20/40 in 	
	 both eyes
n	 Has the ability to recognize the colors (red, green 	
	 and amber) of traffic signals
n	 Has hearing to perceive a forced whisper
n	 Has no history of drug use or any other substance 	
	 identified in 21 CFR 1308.11 Schedule I
n	 Has no clinical diagnosis of alcoholism 

Exemptions

There are provisions for an exemption to a disqualifi-
cation for certain physical defects if the individual is 
otherwise qualified to drive. 

(See:  Medical Program, Page 79)
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Additional instructions for medical 
examination

Additional instructions for the examining doctor are 
available from:

	 Director, Office of Bus and Truck Standards and 	
	 Operations
	 Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
	 400 Seventh Street, S.W. (MC-PS)
	 Washington, DC 20590

Limited Exemptions

The following specific conditions and types of drivers 
are exempt from specific record keeping requirements:

Drivers regularly employed before January 1, 1971 — 
Drivers who have been regular employees of a motor 
carrier for a continuous period that began before Janu-
ary 1, 1971 are exempt from:

n	 Applications for employment
n	 Road Tests

Multiple-employer drivers

Multiple-employer drivers * – If a motor carrier 
employs a person as a driver on any basis, the mo-
tor carrier must have on file the driver’s name, social 
security number, identification number, type issuing 
state of his/her motor vehicle operator’s license, medi-
cal certificate, road test and certificate, and controlled 
substance test results, even if that driver’s primary 
employment is with another carrier.

Drivers furnished by other motor carriers * – A motor 
carrier using a driver regularly employed by another 
motor carrier must have on file a signed written 
certificate that includes the driver’s name and signa-
ture, certification of the driver’s full qualifications, 
and expiration date of the driver’s medical examiner’s 
certificate. 

*(See page 78 for an example of the forms) 

Disqualifying Offenses

A driver is disqualified from operating a commercial 
motor vehicle on public highways, if convicted of  the 
following criminal offenses: 

n	 Driving a CMV while under the influence of 
	 alcohol *
n	 Driving a CMV while under the influence of a 	
	 disqualifying drug or other controlled substance*
n	 Having an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or greater 	
	 while operating a CMV
n	 Having an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or greater 	
	 while operating any motor vehicle*
n	 Refusing to take an alcohol test as required by a 	
	 State or jurisdiction under its implied consent laws 	
	 or regulations as defined in 383.72*
n	 Leaving the scene of an accident that involves a 	
	 CMV*
n	 Using a CMV to commit a felony*
n	 Driving a CMV when the driver’s CDL is revoked, 	
	 suspended, or canceled, or the driver is disquali-	
	 fied from operating a CMV*
n	 Using a CMV to cause a fatality*
n	 Using a CMV to commit serious traffic violations*
n	 Using a CMV to violate an Out-of-Service Order
n	 Using a CMV to violate the Railroad-Highway 	
	 Grade Crossing rule*

*  Effective September 30, 2005, CDL license 
holders are subject when driving a non-CMV 
(personal vehicle) to the moving violation standards in 
383.51, the same as if they were driving CMV. 

Penalties

A driver convicted of a felony offense for using a 
CMV for manufacturing, distributing or dispensing a 
controlled substance is disqualified for life, but may 
be eligible for reinstatement after ten years.

Suspensions for Traffic Violations 

A 60-day, 120-day, 1 year, 3 year and life suspension 
will be imposed on certain convictions, depending 
on severity, number of convictions and subsequent 
convictions. For more information on the types of 
convictions and disqualification time frames, please 
reference 383.51.
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Every motor carrier must have a qualification file for 
each regularly employed driver. This includes driv-
ers that are required to maintain a CDL license and a 
Class E license. Each driver’s qualification file shall 
be retained for as long as a driver is employed by the 
motor carrier and for three years thereafter. The file 
must include: 

	 Driver’s Application For Employment  	
	 (391.21)
	 A person will not be allowed to drive a commer-	
	 cial motor vehicle unless he/she has completed 	
	 and signed an application for employment. 

	 Inquiry To Previous Employers - 3 		
	 Years  (391.23(a)(2) & (c))
	 An investigation of the driver’s safety perfor-	
	 mance history with DOT regulated employers 	
	 during the preceding three years. This investiga-	
	 tion must be made within 30 days of the date his/	
	 her employment begins.	
	 Inquiry To State Agencies – 3 Years  	
	 (391.23(a)(1) & (b))
	 The driver’s driving record for the preceding three 	
	 years within first 30 days of hire and annually 	
	 thereafter.

	 Annual Review Of Driving Record  
	 (391.25)
	 At least once every 12 months, a motor carrier 	
	 must review the driving record of each driver. 	
	 A note stating the results of this review shall be 	
	 included in the Driver’s Qualification File. 

	 Annual Driver’s Certification Of 
	 Violations  (391.27)
	 At least once every 12 months, a motor carrier 	
	 must require each driver that it employs to prepare 	
	 and furnish it with a list of all violations of motor 	
	 vehicle traffic laws and ordinances during the 	
	 previous 12 months.  Note:  Drivers who have 	
	 provided information required by Section 383.31 	
	 need not repeat that information in this annual list 	
	 of violations.

Driver Qualification File – Check List

	 Driver’s Road Test Certificate Or 
	 Equivalent  (391.31)
	 A person must not be allowed to drive a com-	
	 mercial motor vehicle until he/she has success-	
	 fully completed a road test and has been issued 	
	 a certificate, or a copy of the license or certificate, 	
	 which the motor carrier accepted as equivalent to 	
	 the driver’s road test pursuant to Section 391.33.

	 Medical Examinations  (391.43)
	 The driver must pass a medical examination 	
	 conducted by a licensed health care professional 	
	 and be issued a Medical Examiner’s 	Certificate
	 by which must be carried with the driver until 	
	 January 30, 2014. After that date, the medical 	
	 examination  must be on file at the carrier’s 	 	
	 principle place of business. The certificate need 	
	 not be carried with the driver. As of May 21, 2014, 	
	 the medical examiner must be listed on the 	 	
	 National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners 	
	 maintained by the FMCSA. Medical certification 	
	 must be renewed every two years.*	
n	 *Unless grandfathered in intrastate commerce 	
	 5/13/88
n	 Individuals with some physical impairments may 	
	 qualify for the Medical Program, (see Page 79)

	 Drug & Alcohol Testing   (382.301)
	 Drivers operating commercial motor vehicles, 	
	 which require a commercial driver’s license 		
	 (CDL), are subject to drug and alcohol testing as 	
	 required by Part 382.
n	 Pre-employment drug test results (382.301)
n	 Carrier Drug and Alcohol Policy (382.601(d))
n	 Previous employer check on drug and alcohol  	
	 (382.413), (40.25)

	 Entry-Level Driver Training Certificate 	
	 (380.505)
	 All entry level drivers who drive in interstate 	
	 / intrastate commerce, and are subject to the CDL 	
	 requirements of Part 383 must comply with sub-	
	 part E of Part 380.
n	 Employer must maintain a copy in either the per-	
	 sonnel or qualification file (380.509(b))
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APPLICATION FOR EMPLOYMENT 
COMPANY  __________________________________ STREET ADDRESS  ____________________________________ 

CITY, STATE AND ZIP CODE _________________________________________________________________________ 

NAME  ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
              (FIRST)                                       (MIDDLE)                                  (Maiden Name, if any)                      (LAST) 

ADDRESS  __________________________________________________________________  HOW LONG?  _________ 
(STREET)                                   (CITY)                               (STATE & ZIP CODE) 

DATE OF BIRTH  ________________  SOCIAL SECURITY NO.  _______________________  HIRE DATE  __________ 

TELEPHONE NUMBER ______________________________  E-MAIL ADDRESS  _______________________________ 

PREVIOUS THREE YEARS RESIDENCY 
__________________________________________________________________________________  # YEARS  ______ 
(STREET)                                                     (CITY)                                                   (STATE & ZIP CODE) 

__________________________________________________________________________________  # YEARS  ______ 
(STREET)                                                     (CITY)                                                   (STATE & ZIP CODE)

__________________________________________________________________________________  # YEARS  ______ 
(STREET)                                                     (CITY)                                                   (STATE & ZIP CODE)

(ATTACH SHEET IF MORE SPACE IS NEEDED) 
LICENSE INFORMATION 

Section 383.21 FMCSR states “No person who operates a commercial motor vehicle shall at any time have more than one 
driver’s license”.  I certify that I do not have more than one motor vehicle license, the information for which is listed below.

STATE LICENSE NO. TYPE EXPIRATION DATE 
    

DRIVING EXPERIENCE 

CLASS OF 
EQUIPMENT 

TYPE OF EQUIPMENT 
(VAN, TANK, FLAT, ETC.) 

             
DATES 

FROM                    TO 
APPROX. NO. OF 
MILES    (TOTAL) 

STRAIGHT TRUCK 
   

TRACTOR AND SEMI-TRAILER 
   

TRACTOR - TWO TRAILERS 
   

OTHER 
   

ACCIDENT RECORD FOR PAST 3 YEARS OR MORE (ATTACH SHEET IF MORE SPACE IS NEEDED) 

DATES NATURE OF ACCIDENT 
(HEAD-ON, REAR-END, UPSET, ETC.) 

NUMBER
FATALITIES 

NUMBER
INJURIES

CHEMICAL
SPILLS

   YES      NO  

   YES      NO  

   YES      NO  

TRAFFIC CONVICTIONS AND FORFEITURES FOR THE PAST 3 YEARS (OTHER THAN PARKING VIOLATIONS) 

DATE CONVICTED 
      (month/year)   

VIOLATION STATE OF VIOLATION 
LOCATION 

PENALTY 
(forfeited bond, collateral and/or points) 

    

    

    

(ATTACH SHEET IF MORE SPACE IS NEEDED) 

A.  Have you ever been denied a license, permit or privilege to operate a motor vehicle?      YES  _____   NO  _____ 

If yes, explain  ______________________________________________________________________________________ 

B.  Has any license, permit or privilege ever been suspended or revoked?    YES  _____   NO  _____ 

If yes, explain  ______________________________________________________________________________________ 
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EMPLOYMENT RECORD
(ATTACH SHEET IF MORE SPACE IS NEEDED) 

Applicants that desire to drive in intrastate/interstate commerce must provide the following information on all employers during the previous 
three years.  You must give the same information for all employers you have driven a commercial motor vehicle for the seven years prior to 
the initial three years (total of ten years employment record). 

Must list the complete mailing address:  street number and name, city, state and zip code.

LAST EMPLOYER:  NAME ___________________________________________________________________________ 

ADDRESS  __________________________________________________  PHONE  _____________________________ 

POSITION HELD  ____________________________ FROM  __________ TO  ___________SALARY  _______________ 

REASONS FOR LEAVING  ___________________________________________________________________________ 

ANY GAPS IN EMPLOYMENT AND/OR UNEMPLOYMENT MUST BE EXPLAINED.  INCLUDE DATES (MONTH/YEAR) 
AND REASON.  ____________________________________________________________________________________ 
Were you subject to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSRs) while employed by the previous employer?  Yes      No   

Was the previous job position designated as a safety sensitive function in any DOT regulated mode, subject to alcohol and controlled
substances testing requirements as required by 49 CFR Part 40?       Yes     No

SECOND LAST EMPLOYER:  NAME  ___________________________________________________________________ 

ADDRESS  __________________________________________________  PHONE  _____________________________ 

POSITION HELD  ____________________________ FROM  __________ TO  ___________SALARY  _______________ 

REASONS FOR LEAVING  ___________________________________________________________________________ 

ANY GAPS IN EMPLOYMENT AND/OR UNEMPLOYMENT MUST BE EXPLAINED.  INCLUDE DATES (MONTH/YEAR) 
AND REASON.  ____________________________________________________________________________________ 
Were you subject to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSRs) while employed by the previous employer?  Yes      No   

Was the previous job position designated as a safety sensitive function in any DOT regulated mode, subject to alcohol and controlled
substances testing requirements as required by 49 CFR Part 40?       Yes      No

THIRD LAST EMPLOYER:  NAME  _____________________________________________________________________ 

ADDRESS  __________________________________________________  PHONE  ______________________________ 

POSITION HELD  ____________________________ FROM  __________ TO  ___________SALARY  _______________ 

REASONS FOR LEAVING  ___________________________________________________________________________ 

ANY GAPS IN EMPLOYMENT AND/OR UNEMPLOYMENT MUST BE EXPLAINED.  INCLUDE DATES (MONTH/YEAR) 
AND REASON.  ____________________________________________________________________________________ 
Were you subject to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSRs) while employed by the previous employer?  Yes      No   

Was the previous job position designated as a safety sensitive function in any DOT regulated mode, subject to alcohol and controlled
substances testing requirements as required by 49 CFR Part 40?       Yes      No

TO BE READ AND SIGNED BY APPLICANT 
I authorize you to make sure investigations and inquiries to my personal, employment, financial or medical history and other 
related matters as may be necessary in arriving at an employment decision.  (Generally, inquiries regarding medical history will
be made only if and after a conditional offer of employment has been extended.)  I hereby release employers, schools, health 
care providers and other persons from all liability in responding to inquiries and releasing information in connection with my 
application.   
In the event of employment, I understand that false or misleading information given in my application or interview(s) may result in 
discharge.  I understand, also, that I am required to abide by all rules and regulations of the Company. 

“I understand that information I provide regarding current and/or previous employers may be used, and those employer(s) will be
contacted, for the purpose of investigating my safety performance history as required by 49 CFR 391.23(d) and (e).  I understand that I 
have the right to: 
• Review information provided by current/previous employers; 
• Have errors in the information corrected by previous employers and for those previous employers to re-send the corrected information

to the prospective employer; and 
• Have a rebuttal statement attached to the alleged erroneous information, if the previous employer(s) and I cannot agree on the 

accuracy of the information.” 

______________________________________              ___________________________________________________________ 
                           DATE         APPLICANT'S SIGNATURE 

This certifies that I completed this application, and that all entries on it and information in it are true and complete to the best of my 
knowledge. 
______________________________________              ___________________________________________________________ 
                           DATE         APPLICANT'S SIGNATURE 
Note:  A motor carrier may require an applicant to provide information in addition to the information required by the Federal Motor Carrier 
Safety Regulations.  
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SAFETY PERFORMANCE HISTORY RECORDS REQUEST 
 
PART 1:                       TO BE COMPLETED BY PROSPECTIVE EMPLOYEE 
       
I, (Print Name) ________________________________________________________  ____________________________ 
                              First                               M.I.                                   Last      Social Security Number 
Hereby authorize:                ____________________ 
                        Date of Birth 
Previous Employer:  _____________________________________________________  Email:  _____________________ 

Street:  ____________________________________________________________ Telephone:  _____________________ 

City, State, Zip:  _______________________________________________________ Fax No.:   _____________________ 

To release and forward the information requested by section 3 of this document concerning my Alcohol and Controlled 
Substances Testing records within the previous 3 years from ________________________________. 
            (employment application date)   

To: Prospective Employer:  ________________________________________________________________ 

Attention:                       _________________________________  Telephone:  ____________________ 

                             Street:                           ________________________________________________________________

                            City, State, Zip:              ________________________________________________________________ 

In compliance with §40.25(g) and 391.23(h), release of this information must be made in a written form that ensures 
confidentiality, such as fax, email, or letter. 

Prospective employer’s fax number:  ___________________________________ 

Prospective employer’s email address:  _________________________________ 

_________________________________________________________________       ____________________________ 
         Applicant’s Signature         Date 

This information is being requested in compliance with §40.25(g) and 391.23. 

PART 2:                          TO BE COMPLETED BY PREVIOUS EMPLOYER 
ACCIDENT HISTORY 

The applicant named above was employed by us.  Yes     No  

Employed as __________________________ from (m/y) ______________________ to (m/y) ______________________ 

1.   Did he/she drive motor vehicle for you?  Yes     No    If yes, what type?  Straight Truck     Tractor-Semitrailer  
Bus   Cargo Tank    Doubles/Triples     Other (Specify)  ________________________________________________ 

2.   Reason for leaving your employ:  Discharged     Resignation    Lay Off    Military Duty  
If there is no safety performance history to report, check here , sign below and return. 

ACCIDENTS:  Complete the following for any accidents included on your accident register (§390.15(b)) that involved the 
applicant in the 3 years prior to the application date shown above, or check  here if there is no accident register data for 
this driver. 

                    Date               Location            # Injuries                      # Fatalities                 Hazmat Spill
1.  __________________  ___________________  __________________  __________________  __________________ 

2.  __________________  ___________________  __________________  __________________  __________________ 

3.  __________________  ___________________  __________________  __________________  __________________ 

Please provide information concerning any other accidents involving the applicant that were reported to government 
agencies or insurers or retained under internal company policies:  _____________________________________________ 

 _________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Any other remarks:  
__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

                                                          Signature:  ____________________________________________________ 

    Title:  ______________________________  Date:  ____________________ 
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PREVIOUS EMPLOYER – COMPLETE PAGE 2 PART 3 
PART 3:                       TO BE COMPLETED BY PREVIOUS EMPLOYER 

DRUG AND ALCOHOL HISTORY 

If driver was not subject to Department of Transportation testing requirements while employed by this employer, please 
check here , fill in the dates of employment from _______________ to _______________, complete bottom of Part 3, 
sign, and return. 

Driver was subject to Department of Transportation testing requirements from _______________ to _______________.    

     1.  Has this person had an alcohol test with the result of 0.04 or higher alcohol concentration?   
 YES       NO  
     2.  Has this person tested positive or adulterated or substituted a test specimen for controlled substances? 
 YES       NO  
     3.  Has this person refused to submit to a post-accident, random, reasonable suspicion, or follow-up alcohol or 
          controlled substance test?          
  YES      NO  
     4.  Has this person committed other violations of Subpart B of Part 382, or Part 40?    
   YES     NO  
     5.  If this person has violated a DOT drug and alcohol regulation, did this person complete a SAP-prescribed  
          rehabilitation program in your employ, including return-to-duty and follow-up tests?  If yes, please send  
          documentation back with this form.         
    YES     NO  
     6.  For a driver who successfully completed a SAP’s rehabilitation referral and remained in your employ, did this 
          driver subsequently have an alcohol test result of 0.04 or greater, a verified positive drug test, or refuse to be tested?
   YES      NO  

In answering these questions, include any required DOT drug or alcohol testing information obtained from prior previous 
employers in the previous 3 years prior to the application date shown on page 1. 

Name:  ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Company:  ________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Street:  ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 

City, State, Zip:  ____________________________________________________  Telephone:  _____________________ 

Part 3 Completed by (Signature):  ___________________________________________ Date:  _____________________ 

PART 4a:                          TO BE COMPLETED BY PROSPECTIVE EMPLOYER 
This form was (check one)    Faxed to previous employer       Mailed        Emailed    Other __________________ 

By:  __________________________________________________________________  Date:  ______________________ 

PART 4b:                          TO BE COMPLETED BY PROSPECTIVE EMPLOYER 
Complete below when information is obtained. 

Information received from:  ____________________________________________________________________________ 

Recorded by:  _______________________________________   Method:    Fax     Mail     Email   Telephone  

Date:  _____________________________________________       Other  _____________________________________ 

INSTRUCTIONS TO COMPLETE THE SAFETY PERFORMANCE HISTORY RECORDS REQUEST 

PAGE 1 PART 1:  Prospective Employee 
• Complete the information required in this section 
• Sign and date 
• Submit to the Prospective Employer 

PAGE 2 PART 4a:  Prospective Employer 
• Complete the information
• Send to Previous Employer 

PAGE 1 PART 2:  Previous Employer  
• Complete the information required in this section 
• Sign and date 
• Turn form over to complete SIDE 2 SECTION 3 

PAGE 2 PART 3:  Previous Employer 
• Complete the information required in this section 
• Sign and date 
• Return to Prospective Employer 

PAGE 2 PART 4b:  Prospective Employer 
• Record receipt of the information 
• Retain the form 
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RECORDS REQUEST FOR 
DRIVER/APPLICANT SAFETY PERFORMANCE HISTORY

This request is made by the driver/applicant in compliance with the Department of Transportation regulations. 

§391.23(i)(2)    Drivers who have previous Department of Transportation regulated employment history in the preceding 
three years, and wish to review previous employer-provided investigative information must submit a written 
request to the prospective employer, which may be done at any time, including when applying, or as late as 
thirty (30) days after being employed or being notified of denial of employment.  The prospective employer 
must provide this information to the applicant within five (5) business days of receiving the written request.  
If the prospective employer has not yet received the requested information from the previous employer(s), 
then the five-business-days deadline will begin when the prospective employer receives the requested 
safety-performance history information.  If the driver has not arranged to pick up or receive the requested 
records within thirty (30) days of the prospective employer making them available, the prospective motor 
carrier may consider the driver to have waived his/her request to review the records. 

PART 1:                          COMPLETED BY THE DRIVER/APPLICANT 
TO:     
  Prospective Employer:  ________________________________________________________________ 

  Street/P.O. Box:  _____________________________________________________________________

  City, State, Zip:  ____________________________________   Telephone #   _____________________ 

FROM:
  Driver/Applicant:  _____________________________  Social Security/I.D. #   _____________________

  Street: _____________________________________________________________________________ 

  City, State, Zip:  ____________________________________   Telephone #   _____________________ 

I am submitting this written request to obtain copies of my Department of Transportation Safety Performance History for the 
preceding three years.  I understand, for records requested from a prospective employer, that I must arrange to pick up or 
receive the requested records within thirty (30) days of the records being made available or I have waived my request to 
review the records. 

This information should be:       sent to me at the above address. 
          I will arrange to pick up. 

Driver/Applicant Signature:  ___________________________________________        Date:    _______/_______/_______ 
           M           D            Y 
                               
PART 2:                       COMPLETED BY THE PROSPECTIVE EMPLOYER 
The information must be provided to the applicant within five (5) business days of receiving the written request.  If the 
prospective employer has not yet received the requested information form the previous employer(s), then the five-business-
days deadline will begin when the prospective employer receives the requested safety performance history information. 

Information supplied to: 

Name:  ___________________________________________________________________________________________   

Street: ____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

City, State, Zip:  ____________________________________________________________________________________ 

Comments:  _______________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

By:
_______________________________________________   ______________  Release Date:  _______/_______/_______ 
    Signature/person providing information  Telephone #                                    M            D            Y 

COPY 1 PROSPECTIVE EMPLOYER 
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SAFETY PERFORMANCE HISTORY INFORMATION 
DRIVER/APPLICANT REBUTTAL 

 
This rebuttal is made by the driver/applicant in compliance with the Department of Transportation regulations. 

§391.23(j)(3)  Drivers wishing to rebut information in records received pursuant to paragraph (i) of this section must send 
the rebuttal to the previous employer with instructions to include the rebuttal in that driver’s safety 
performance history. 

§391.23(j)(4)  After October 29, 2004, within five business days of receiving a rebuttal from a driver, the previous employer 
must:

         (i)   Forward a copy of the rebuttal to the prospective motor carrier employer; 
                       (ii)   Append the rebuttal to the driver’s information in the carrier’s appropriate file, to be included as part of                               

the response for any subsequent investigating prospective employers for the duration of the three-year 
data retention requirements. 

PART 1:                                COMPLETED BY THE DRIVER/APPLICANT 
TO:     
  Previous Employer:  ___________________________________________________________________ 

  Street/P.O. Box:  _____________________________________________________________________

  City, State, Zip: ______________________________________________________________________ 

  Telephone:  ________________________________  Fax:  ___________________________________  

FROM:
  Driver/Applicant:  ____________________________________   ________________________________ 
                             Social Security # 
  Street:  _____________________________________________________________________________ 

  City, State, Zip:  ____________________________________   Telephone No.:  ___________________ 

I have submitted this rebuttal to my previous employer requesting that it be attached to my Safety Performance History and 
provided to subsequent prospective employers. 

Reason for the rebuttal (attach documents as necessary):  ___________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

I request that this rebuttal be sent to the attached list of motor carriers. 

Driver/Applicant Signature:  _____________________________________________     Date:  _______/_______/_______ 
                      M            D            Y 
                               
PART 2:                               COMPLETED BY THE PREVIOUS EMPLOYER 

Received by: 

Signature:  ___________________________________________________________    Date:  _______/_______/_______ 
                      M            D             Y 
                                                                    COPY 1 PREVIOUS EMPLOYER
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CORRECTION REQUEST  
OF

ERRONEOUS SAFETY PERFORMANCE HISTORY INFORMATION 
This request is made by the driver/applicant in compliance with the Department of Transportation regulations, §391.23, 
investigations and inquiries, paragraphs (j)(1) and (2) as printed below. 
§391.23(j)(1)  Driver wishing to request correction of erroneous information in records received pursuant to paragraph (i) of 

this section must send the request for the correction to the previous employer that provided the records to 
the prospective employer. 

§391.23(j)(2)  After October 29, 2004, the previous employer must either correct and forward the information to the 
prospective motor carrier employer, or notify the driver within 15 days of receiving a driver’s request to 
correct the data that it does not agree to correct the data.  If the previous employer corrects and forwards the 
data as requested, that employer must also retain the corrected information as part of the driver’s safety 
performance history record and provide it to subsequent prospective employers when requests for this 
information are received.  If the previous employer corrects the data and forwards it to the prospective motor 
carrier employer, there is no need to notify the driver. 

PART 1:                          COMPLETED BY THE DRIVER/APPLICANT 

TO:    Prospective Employer:  ________________________________________________________________ 

  Street/P.O. Box:  _____________________________________________________________________

  City, State, Zip:  ____________________________________  Telephone #  ______________________ 

FROM:  Driver/Applicant:  _____________________________________________________________________   

               Social Security/I.D. # ________________________

  Street:  _____________________________________________________________________________ 

  City, State, Zip:  ____________________________________  Telephone #  ______________________ 

I request correction of erroneous information in my Safety Performance History.  Please forward to the following 

prospective employer:  Company Name:  ______________________________________   

                                     Attention:  ____________________________________________ 

                                     Street:  ______________________________________________ 

                                     City, State, Zip:  _______________________________________ 

Explanation of desired correction (attach documents as necessary)____________________________________________ 

_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Driver/Applicant Signature:  ______________________________________________   Date:  _______/_______/_______ 

                       M             D            Y 
Driver:  Retain COPY 4 DRIVER RECORD for your files, Submit copies 1, 2, and 3 to your previous employer. 

PART 2:                       COMPLETED BY THE PREVIOUS EMPLOYER 
Disposition of the requested information: 

   Information was corrected and forwarded to the prospective motor carrier employer. 
   The driver was notified on _____/_____/_____ that the previous employer does not agree to correct the data. 

     Return copy 3 to the driver. 
Information sent to:  Company Name:  ____________________________________  

                                    Attention:  __________________________________________ 

                                     Street:  ____________________________________________     

                                     City, State, Zip:  _____________________________________ 

Comments:  _______________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

By:  ________________________________________   __________________  Release Date:  ______/_______/_______ 
 Signature/person providing information   Telephone #                                     M            D            Y    

PART 3:                       COMPLETED BY THE PROSPECTIVE MOTOR CARRIER EMPLOYER 
The corrected information was received on _____/_____/_____ 

Prospective Employer:  ______________________________  Location:  _______________________________________ 

Received by:  __________________________________________    __________________________________________ 
                                                 Signature                 Title 

COPY 1 PROSPECTIVE EMPLOYER 
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Requests to Missouri:				    Express Mail to:	
Department of Revenue		  	             		 Department of Revenue	 
Customer Service Division	 	 	 	 Motor Vehicle Bureau
P.O. Box 2167	 	 	   	 	 	 301 West High Street               
Jefferson City, MO 65105-2167	 	 	 	 Harry S. Truman State Office Bldg.
Phone:  573-751-4300	 	          	 	 	 Room 470     	            
Fax: 573-526-7367	 	 	 	 	 Jefferson City, MO  65101
	          							     
Records available through regular mail,
express mail, via fax request and e-mail	 	 	 _______________________________________
at dlrecords@dor.mo.gov.                            	             	 Driver’s Name
Fees and methods of payment available at the	 	 _______________________________________
above contact information.	                               	  Date of Birth
(*) Additional processing fee may be required	 	 _______________________________________
(*) Fax fee for transmitting a Driving Record	               Driver’s Operator’s Lic. No.
*Note:  If personal information is required,  	 	 _______________________________________
Document must be notarized.	 	 	 	  Driver’s Social Sec. No.
									                   			 
Dear Sir or Madam:

The above listed individual has made application with us for employment as a driver. He/she has indicated that 
the above operator’s license or permit has been issued by your state to him/her and that it is in good standing.

In accordance with Section 391.23(a)(1) and (b) of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations we are required 
to make inquiry into the driving record during the preceding three years of every state in which an applicant-
driver has held a motor vehicle operator’s license or permit during those three years.

Therefore, please certify to us what the individual’s driving record is for the preceding three years, or certify 
that no driving record exists if that is the case.

In the event that this inquiry does not satisfy your requirements for making such inquiries, please send us such 
forms of yours as are necessary for us to complete our inquiry into the driving record of this individual.

Respectfully yours,

_______________________________________
Signature of person making inquiry	 	 	 	

_______________________________________
(Printed) Name of person making inquiry

_______________________________________
Title of person making inquiry

_______________________________________
Motor Carrier Name

Inquiry To State Agency For Driver’s Record
391.23

______________________________________
Street	 	

_______________________________________
City	 	

_______________________________________
State	 	 	 	 Zip
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Violation And Review Record

I.   Certification Of Violations

I certify that the following is a true and complete list 
of traffic violations (other than parking violations) for 

If no violations are listed above, I certify that I have 
not been convicted or forfeited bond or collateral on 
account of any violation required to be listed during 
the past 12 months.

II.   Review And Evaluation Of Driver’s Record

Driver’s Name - please print or type

Date of Certification Driver’s Signature

Motor Carrier’s Name

Motor Carrier’s Name Motor Carrier’s Address

Title                                                        Date

Motor Carrier’s Address

Reviewer’s Signature

Reviewer’s Signature

Action taken:

Reviewer’s Signature

Date		  Offense		                Location		             Vehicle Type Operated	

which I have been convicted or forfeited bond or col-
lateral during the past 12 months.

In accordance with Section 391.25, Motor Carrier 
Safety Regulations, all information pertinent to the 
above driver’s safety of operations, including the list 

of violations furnished by him in accordance with 
Section 391.27, has been reviewed for the past 12 
months.
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Driver’s Road Test Examination

The motor carrier, or a person designated by it, shall 
give the road test. However, another person must give 
a driver who is a motor carrier the test. A person who 
is competent to evaluate and determine whether the 

Driver’s Name

Address	 	 	 	 	 City	 	 	 	 State  	 	 Zip

Phone	 	 	 	 	 	 Cell

person who takes the test has demonstrated that he or 
she is capable of operating the vehicle and associated 
equipment that the motor carrier intends to assign 
shall give the test.

 Rating of  Performance

The pre-trip inspection (As required by Sec. 392.7)

Coupling and uncoupling of combination units, if the equipment he or she may 
drive includes combination units

Placing the equipment in operation

Use of vehicle’s controls and emergency equipment

Operating the vehicle in traffic and while passing other vehicles

Turning the vehicle

Braking, and slowing the vehicle by means other than braking

Backing and parking the vehicle

Other, Explain:

Type of equipment used in giving test:

Examiner’s Signature	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 Date
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Record Of Road Test Instructions to Evaluator:  Check (  ) items which the driver 
performs satisfactorily, use “X” where performance is un-
satisfactory.  Any item not evaluated, leave blank.

Driver’s Name	 	 	 Home Address	 	 City	 	 	 State	 	 Zip

Social Security No.	 	 License No.	 	 	 	 	 State  	 	 Class

Truck Tractor (Make & Model)	 	 	 	 Trailer(s) (Body Type & Length of Each)	

Length of Test	 	 	 Mi. From/In	 	 	 	 To 

Start Time	 	 	 Finish Time	 	 	 	 Weather Conditions           	

Equipment Driven:

Checks general condition approaching unit	 	
Checks fuel, oil, water and for excessive oil on 
engine	
Checks around unit - Tires, lights, trailer hook-up,
brake and light line, doors and inspects for body
damage
Tests steering, brake action, tractor protection valve,
and parking brake
Checks horn, windshield wipers, mirrors, emergency
equipment; reflectors, flares, fuses, tire chains (if
necessary), fire equipment
Checks instruments for normal readings
Checks dashboard warning lights for proper 
functioning	
Cleans windshield, windows, mirrors, lights and
reflectors	 	 	 	 	
Reviews and signs previous report			 

Part 2 - Coupling and Uncoupling

Connects glad hands to trailer to apply trailer brakes
before coupling	 	 	 	 	
Connects glad hands and light line properly		
Couples without difficulty	
Raises landing gear fully after coupling		
Visually checks king pin assembly to be certain of
proper coupling					   

Checks coupling by applying hand valve or tractor-
protection valve (trailer air supply valve) and gently
applying pressure by trying to pull away from trailer	

Assures himself that surface will support trailer 
before uncoupling	 	 	 	

A.	 MOTOR
	 Places transmission in neutral before 
	 starting engine	
	 Starts engine without difficulty	 	
	 Checks instruments at regular intervals	
	 Maintains proper engine rpm while driving
B.	 BRAKES
	 Knows proper use of and checks tractor-
	 protection valve (trailer air supply valve		
	 Tests service brakes	 	 	
	 Builds full air pressure before moving	
C.	 CLUTCH AND TRANSMISSION
	 Starts unit moving smoothly	 	
	 Uses clutch properly				    
D.	 LIGHTS (if tested at night)
	 Adjusts speed for range of headlights	 	
	 Dims lights when approaching another 
	 vehicle or following other traffic

Part 4 - Backing and Parking

A.	 BACKING
	 Gets out and checks area before backing	
	 Understands and utilizes mirrors properly	
	 Signals when backing (if appropriate)	 	
	 Avoids backing from blind side 	
B.	 PARKING (CITY)
	 Parks without hitting any other vehicles or 
	 stationary objects	 	 	 	
	 Parks correct distance from curb	 	
	 Secures unit properly - sets parking brake, 
	 transmission in correct gear, shuts off 
	 engine, blocks wheels (when necessary)	
	 Carefully enters traffic from parked position	 
C.	 PARKING (ROAD)
	 Parks off pavement				  
	 Secures unit properly		 	 	
	 Uses emergency warning signal or devices 
	 when necessary

Part 1 - Pre-Trip Inspection and 
Emergency Equipment

Part 3 - Placing Vehicle In Motion
And Use Of Controls
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Part 5 - Slowing and Stopping

Uses clutch and gears properly		   

Gears down properly before descending hills 

Starts without rolling back

Tests brakes before descending grades	

Uses brakes properly on grades	 	

Makes proper use of mirrors		

Plans stop far enough in advance to avoid hard 
braking	

Stops clear of crosswalks

A.	 TURNING
	 Signals intention to turn well in advance	 	
	 Gets into proper lane well in advance of turn	
	 Checks traffic conditions and turns only when 	 	
	 intersection is clear					   
	 Restricts traffic from passing on right when 
	 perparing to complete right hand turn			 
	 Completes turn promptly and safely and does not
   	 impede other traffic	 	 	 	
B.	 TRAFFIC SIGNS AND SIGNALS
	 Plans stop in advance and adjusts speed correctly	
	 Obeys all traffic signals	 	 	 	
	 Comes to a complete stop at all stop signs	 	 
C.	 INTERSECTIONS
	 Yields right of way				  
	 Checks for cross traffic regardless of traffic 
	 controls	
	 Enters all intersections prepared to stop if 
	 necessary	
D.	 GRADE CROSSINGS
	 Stops at a minimum 15 feet but not more than 50  
	 feet before crossing if stop is necessary	
	 Selects proper gear and does not shift gears while
   	 crossing					   
	 Knows and understands Federal and State rules
   	 governing grade crossings			 

Part 6 - Operating In Traffic, Passing
and Turning

E.	 PASSING
	 Allows sufficient space ahead for passing	 	
	 Passes only in safe locations				  
	 Signals changing lanes before and after passing	
	 Warns driver ahead of his intention to pass		
	 Passes with sufficient speed differential to 	 	
   	 minimize obstructing traffic	 	 	  	
	 Returns to right lane promptly but only when 	 	
	 safe to do so				                     
F.	 SPEED
	 Observes speed limits		 	 	
	 Drives at speed consistent with ability	 	
	 Adjusts speed properly to road, weather and 
	 traffic conditions	 	 	  	
	 Slows down in advance of curves, danger zones 		
	 and intersections					   
	 Maintains constant speed where possible	 	 
G.	 COURTESY AND SAFETY
	 Yields right of way				  
	 Consistently strives to drive in safe manner	
	 Allows faster traffic to pass	 	 	
	 Uses horn only when necessary

Part 7 - Miscellaneous

A.	 GENERAL DRIVING ABILITY AND HABITS
	 Consistently alert and attentive		  	
	 Consistently is aware of changing traffic 
	 conditions	
	 Anticipates problems	 	 	 	
	 Performs routine functions without taking eyes 		
	 from road					   
	 Checks instruments regularly while driving	 	
	 Personal appearance is professional		
	 Remains calm under pressure			 

B.	 USE OF SPECIAL EQUIPMENT (SPECIFY)

Remarks

General Performance  Satisfactory 	 Needs Training  	     Explain

Qualified For  Straight Truck       Tractor-Semitrailer     Twin Trailers     Other Combination     	
	             Special Equipment
				  
		        	
Signature of Examiner      	 	 	 	 	       Date

Specify
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Driver’s Name 

Social Security Number		 Operators or Chauffeurs License Number	                       State

Type of Power Unit  	               Type of Trailer(s)  

If passenger carrier, type of bus 

This is to certify that the above named driver was given a road test under my supervision on 

                                   , 20          consisting of approximately                   miles of driving.

It is my considered opinion that this driver possesses sufficient driving skill to operate safely the type of 
commercial motor vehicle listed above.

	        
Examiner’s Signature	 	 	 	 	 	      Title

Organization and Address of Examiner

Certification of Road Test

§391.33 Equivalent of Road Test

a)	 In place of, and as equivalent to, the road test 	
	 required by §391.31, a person who seeks to drive 	
	 a motor vehicle may present, and a motor carrier 	
	 may accept -

	 1)	 A valid operator’s license which has been 
	 	 issued to him by a State that licenses drivers 	
	 	 to operate specific categories of motor ve-	
	 	 hicles and which, under the laws of that State, 	
		  licenses him after successful completion of a 	
		  road test in a motor vehicle of the type the 	
	 	 motor carrier intends to assign to him; or

	 2)	 A copy of a valid certificate of driver’s road 	
	 	 test issued to him pursuant to §391.31 within 	
		  the preceding 3 years.

Equivalent of Road Test for CDL Drivers

b)	 If a driver presents, and a motor carrier accepts, a 	
	 license or certificate as equivalent to the road 	
	 test, the motor carrier shall retain a legible copy 	
	 of the license or certificate in its files as part of 	
	 the 	driver’s qualification file.

c)	 A motor carrier may require any person who 	
	 presents a license or certificate as equivalent to 	
	 the road test to take a road test or any other test of 	
	 his driving skill as a condition to his employment 	
	 as a driver.



67

The Motor Carrier Services Division, in an effort to 
assist commercial motor vehicle drivers, has included 
a Medical Examination Report Form in this compli-
ance Manual.  Every commercial motor vehicle driver 
whose medical examination comes due must use a 
medical examination report that complies with the 
format requirements.

There are several medical examination report formats 
available from various form suppliers.  The enclosed 
Medical Examination Report is a 3-page form pub-
lished by J.J. Keller & Associates, Inc.  The Missouri 
Department of Transportation (MoDOT), Motor Car-
rier Services Division has obtained authorization from 
J.J. Keller & Associates, Inc. to include their version 
of the medical examination report in our Compliance 
Manual.  Although MoDOT has included their form 
as an example of how to achieve compliance, the 
Department does not endorse J.J. Keller & Associates, 
Inc. products.

Medical Examination Report
For Commercial Driver Fitness Determination
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Medical Examiner’s Certificate

I certify that I have examined                                                                  in acordance with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety 
Regulations (49.CFR .41-391.49) and with knowledge of the driving duties, I find this person is qualified; 
and, if applicable, only when:

  Wearing corrective lenses			     Driving within an exempt intracity zone

  Wearing a hearing aid				     Accompanied by a Skill Performance Evaluation Certificate (SPE)

  Accompanied by a                    waiver exemption	 Qualified by operation of 49 CFR 391.64 

The information I have provided regarding this physical examination is true and complete. A complete examina-
tion from with any attachment embodies my findings completely and correctly, and is on file in my office.

Signature of Medical Examiner			   Telepone			   Date

Medical Examiners’s Name (print)            MD	   DO 	     Physican Assitant	  Advanced Practice Nurse

Medical Examiner’s License or Certificate no./Issuing State

Signature of Driver				    Drivers License No.		  State

Address of Driver

Medical Certificate Expiration Date	
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The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration 
published a final rule establishing a National Registry 
of Certified Medical Examiners  that is effective May 
21, 2014.

Medical Examiners

	 Only medical professionals who have passed 	
	 training authorized by FMCSA are authorized 	
	 to conduct the medical examination report and 	
	 provide a medical examiner’s certificate.	

	 Medical examiners are certified for a period of 	
	 10 years. Within 4-5 years issuance of authoriza	
	 tion, FMCSA requires examiners undergo peri	
	 odic training. The recertification process begins 	
	 nine years after the medical professional receives 	
	 an examiner credential.

	 FMCSA may remove a medical examiner from 	
	 the NRCME when a medical examiner fails to 	
	 meet or maintain established qualifications. . 

	 Upon completion of a driver medical examina-	
	 tion, the medical examiner must date and sign 	
	 the 	medical examination report and provide his 	
	 or her full name, office address, and telephone 	
	 number on the report. 

	 If the medical examiner finds that the person 
	 examined is physically qualified to operate a 	
	 commercial motor vehicle, he or she must 
	 complete a certificate in the form prescribed and 	
	 furnish the original to the person who was 
	 examined.  The examiner must provide a copy 	
	 to a prospective or current employing motor 
	 carrier who requests it. 

	 Once every calendar month, beginning May 	
	 21, 2014, the medical examiner must 
	 electronically transmit, via a secure FMCSA-	
	 designated website, a completed Form 
	 MCSA-5850, Medical Examiner Submission
 	 of CMV Driver Medical Examination Results.  	
	 The form must include all information specified 	
	 for each medical examination conducted during 	

Medical Requirements
	 - Medical Professionals, Motor Carriers and Drivers

	 the previous month for any driver who is required 	
	 to be examined by a medical examiner listed on 	
	 the National Registry of Certified Medical 
	 Examiners.

	 The medical examiner’s certificate shall be 
	 substantially in accordance with the form listed in 	
	 Title 49 CFR 391.43.

	 Each original (paper or electronic) completed 	
	 medical exam report and a copy or electronic 	
	 version of each medical examiner’s certificate 	
	 must be retained on file at the office of the 
	 medical examiner for at least 3 years from the 	
	 date of examination. The medical examiner must 	
	 make all records and information in these files 	
	 available to an authorized representative of 
	 FMCSA or an authorized Federal, State, or local 	
	 enforcement agency representative, within 48 	
	 hours of the request

Drivers

	 Drivers are responsible to ensure they are 
	 examined by medical professionals on the 	 	
	 NRCME list.  

	 Drivers need to ensure they maintain their current 	
	 mailing address and current medical exam 		
	 certificate filed with their State Driver License 	
	 Office to avoid a lapse of medical coverage and 	
	 maintain compliance by being physically qualified 	
	 to operate a commercial motor vehicle, regardless 	
	 of operating in interstate or intrastate commerce.

	 Drivers that may not be physically qualified be	
	 cause of a limb amputation, limb impairment, 	
	 vision impairment, or insulin-treated diabetes 	
	 mellitus may wish to pursue an exemption to 	
	 operate in interstate commerce (vehicle and/or 	
	 product cross state lines).  

	 FMCSA has an application process for drivers to 	
	 obtain a Skill Performance Evaluation if they 
	 have a limb amputation or impairment and an 	
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	 application process for a diabetes or vision 
	 exemption.  The vision exemption process through 	
	 FMCSA requires that a driver have three years 	
	 of commercial motor vehicle driving experience 	
	 after their vision impairment before accepting an 	
	 application.
	 MoDOT has an application process for drivers and 
	 can grant a medical exemption only by issuing 	
	 an SPE certificate to those drivers who may not 	
	 be physically qualified only for a limb 
	 amputation, limb impairment, vision impairment 	
	 or insulin-treated diabetes mellitus and not for 	
	 any other physical impairment or issue.  MoDOT 	
	 does not have a minimum requirement for the 	
	 years of commercial motor vehicle driving 
	 experience for any of the exemptions available.

 Helpful Links

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration 
	 www.fmcsa.dot.gov

FMCSA Medical
	 www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-regulations/topics/
	 medical/medical.htm

NRCME 
	 https://nationalregistry.fmcsa.dot.gov/

NRCME Part 390.101 – 390.115 
	 www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-regulations/administra	
	 tion/fmcsr/fmcsrguidedetails.aspx?menukey=390

MoDOT Motor Carrier Services Medical 
	 www.modot.org/mcs/Safety/index.htm
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(1)	 Require the person to furnish an application for 	
	 employment (391.21);
(2)	 Make an inquiry into the person’s driving record 	
	 during the preceding three years to the appropri-	
	 ate State agency(s) and an investigation of the 	
	 person’s employment record during the preceding 
	 three years (391.23);

Multiple-Employer Drivers

Instructions:  If a motor carrier employs a person as a 
multiple-employer driver (as defined in CFR 390.5), 
the motor carrier shall comply with all requirements 
of Part 391, except the carrier need not-

(3)	 Perform annual driving record inquiry required 	
	 (391.25(a)); 
(4)	 Perform the annual review of the person’s driving 	
	 record required (391.25(b)); or
(5)	 Require the person to furnish a record of viola-	
	 tions or a certificate (391.27).

The checklist below may be helpful to ensure that 
required documents are obtained.

Multiple-Employer Drivers

Name _________________________________________________________________

Social Security Number ____________________________________________________

Driver’s License Number ___________________________________________________

Type of License _______________________________________ State ______________

In addition to the above information, copies of the following must be obtained.

	Medical Examiner’s Certificate
	Road Test (or equivalent)
	Certificate of Road Test
	Controlled Substances Test

I certify that the above named driver, as defined in 390.5 is regularly driving a commercial motor vehicle 
operated by the below named carrier and is fully qualified under Part 391, Federal Motor Carrier Safety 
Regulations.  His current medical examiner’s certificate expires on _______________ (Date).

This certificate expires:__________________________________________________________
                                     (Date not later than expiration date of medical certificate)

Issued on _______________	 	 Issued by _______________________________________
	    (Date)	 	 	 	 	   (Name of carrier)
	 	 	 	 	 Address _______________________________________
							         
                                                                                _______________________________________
  

Driver Furnished by Other Motor Carriers Certificate

Driver’s Name _________________________________________________________________

Social Security Number _________________________________________________________

Driver’s Signature _____________________________________________________________
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Medical Exemption 
Program
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Interstate Commerce Contact information

n	 Skill Performance Evaluation Certificate Pro-	
	 gram for Drivers with Missing or Impaired Arms, 	
	 Hands, Fingers, Legs or Feet 

For more information regarding Skill Performance Evaluations 
(SPEs), Medical Exemptions or Waivers:

FMCSA, Physical Qualifications Service Centers

n	 Medical Exemptions for Drivers with Vision or 	
	 Diabetes Impairments

FMCSA, Vision and Diabetes Division (703) 448-3094

Or visit the web and download information on all the above exemptions or waivers @ www.fmcsa.dot.gov/

Intrastate Commerce Contact Information

Intrastate application packets are available by contacting:

MoDOT
Attn:  Medical Exemption Program
Motor Carrier Services Division
P.O. Box 893
Jefferson City, MO  65102-0893

MoDOT Motor Carrier Services Division 1-866-831-6277  Or 573-522-9001

Or visit the web and download information on all the above exemptions or waivers @ www.modot.org/mcs

Note 1 Canadian carriers, for information regarding proper service center, contact a FMCSA division (State) 
office in AK, ME, MI, MT, NY, ND, VT, or WA. 
Note 2 Mexican carriers, for information regarding proper service center, contact a FMCSA division (State) 
office in AZ, CA, NM, or TX

Service Center	 Territory Included	 Location of Office - Telephone Number

CT, DC, DE, MA, MD, ME, NJ, NH, NY, 
PA, PR, RI, VA, VT, WV.

IA, IL, IN, KS, MI, MO, MN, NE, OH, WI.

AL, AR, FL, GA, KY, LA, MS, NC, NM, 
OK, SC, TN, TX.

Eastern

Midwestern

Southern

Western American Samoa, AK, AZ, CA, CO, 
Guam, HI, ID, Mariana Islands, MT, 
ND, NV, OR, SD, UT, WA, WY. 
Glen Burnie, MD  21061
Telephone: (443) 703-2240
Fax: (443) 703-2253

Golden Hills Office Centre
12600 West Colfax Avenue, Suite B-300 
Lakewood, CO  80215
Telephone: (303) 407-2350
Fax:  (303) 407-2339

1800 Century Boulevard, NE, Suite 1700 
Atlanta, GA 30345-3220
Telephone: (404) 327-7400
Fax: (404) 327-7349

4749 Lincoln Mall Drive, Suite 300A
Matteson, IL 60443
Telephone: (708) 283-3577
Fax:  (708) 283-3579

802 Cromwell Park Drive, Suite N
Glen Burnie, MD 21061
Telephone: (443) 703-2240
Fax: (443) 703-2253
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Driving of 
Motor Vehicles

Part 392
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Illness or Fatigue

No driver is permitted to operate a motor vehicle 
when his/her ability and/or alertness is impaired by 
fatigue, illness, or any other cause that makes it unsafe 
to begin (or continue) to drive the vehicle.

Drugs

No driver may be on duty and possess, be under the 
influence of, or use:

n	 Any Schedule I drug or other substance listed in 21 	
	 CFR 1308.11
n	 Any amphetamine or formulation of an amphet-	
	 amine (including pep pills and bennies)
n	 Narcotics or derivatives
n	 Any other substance that makes driving unsafe

Alcohol

A driver is forbidden to consume or be under the in-
fluence of alcohol within four hours of going on duty, 
while on duty, or while driving.  A driver is forbidden 
to possess an alcoholic beverage while on duty, unless 
it is a manifested part of the shipment.

Safe Loading

No one may drive or require anyone to drive a com-
mercial motor vehicle unless the cargo is properly 
loaded and secured.  (See RSMo 307.013)

Railroad Crossing/Stopping

Motor vehicles transporting hazardous materials, and 
most buses transporting passengers, are forbidden to 
cross railroad tracks without first stopping and look-
ing both ways. Additionally, the driver must not shift 
gears while crossing the track.

Seat Belts

A driver must not drive before correctly restrain-
ing him/herself, if the vehicle is equipped with seat 
belt assemblies.  Some resources for seat belts can be 
found at www.savemolives.com.

Part 392
Driving of Motor Vehicles

Emergency Signals for Stopped Vehicles

A vehicle stopped upon a highway or shoulder must 
activate the vehicle’s hazard warning flashers at once.  
The driver must leave the flashers on until warning 
devices are activated.  The flashers must again be used 
while the warning devices are being picked up before 
the vehicle moves on.

Placement of Warning Devices

The warning devices must be placed as follows (ex-
cept where special rules apply):

n	 One warning device must be placed on the traffic 	
	 side of the vehicle, within ten feet, in the direction 	
	 of approaching traffic
n	 A second device must be placed facing approaching 	
	 traffic approximately 100 feet away in the center of 	
	 the lane or shoulder where the vehicle is stopped
n	 The third device must be placed about 100 feet 	
	 away from the stopped vehicle, in the direction 	
	 away from approaching traffic

Radar Detectors

Section 390.5 Definition:
Radar detector means any device or mechanism to 
detect the emission of radio microwaves, laser beams 
or any other future speed measurement technology 
employed by enforcement personnel to measure the 
speed of commercial motor vehicles upon public roads 
and highways for enforcement purposes. Excluded 
from this definition are radar detection devices that 
meet both of the following requirements:
(1)	 Transported outside the driver’s compartment of 	
	 the commercial motor vehicle. For this purpose, 	
	 the driver’s compartment of a passenger-carrying 	
	 CMV shall include all space designed to accom-	
	 modate both the driver and the passengers; and
(2)	 Completely inaccessible to, inoperable by, and 	
	 imperceptible to the driver while operating the 	
	 commercial motor vehicle.
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Use of radar detectors is prohibited, including the fol-
lowing:

n	 Radar detectors shall not be used by a driver in a 	
	 commercial vehicle
n	 A driver shall not operate any commercial motor 	
	 vehicle that is equipped with a radar detector
n	 Motor carriers shall not require or permit a driver 	
	 to violate the radar detector provisions

Texting 

No driver is permitted to engage in texting while driv-
ing. 

No motor carrier can allow or require drivers to text 
while driving. 

For the purpose of this section only, driving means 
operating a commercial motor vehicle with the mo-
tor running, including while temporarily stationary 
because of traffic, a traffic control device or other 
momentary delays. 

Driving does not include operating a CMV with or 
without the motor running when the driver moved 
the vehicle to the side of, or off, a highway and halted 
where the vehicle can safely remain stationary. 

Texting while driving is permissible when necessary 
to communicate with law enforcement officials or 
other emergency services.

An exception applies to school bus operations and 
vehicles designed or used to transport 9 to 15 passen-
gers, including the driver, not for direct compensation. 

Cell Phone/Push-to-Talk 

No commercial motor vehicle driver can use a hand-
held mobile device while driving. 

Hands-free cell phones, including headsets and push 
-to-talk equipment can be used while driving if:
•	 The equipment is within reach while the driver is 

restrained by a safety belt.
•	 The driver can activate the equipment by touching 

a single button. 

Drivers can use a hand-held mobile device if the 
vehicle is stopped in a safe area for parking a com-
mercial motor vehicle, or to communicate with law 
enforcement or other emergency services to report 
emergencies.

Drivers cannot use hand-held mobile devices when 
•	 The vehicle is inoperation on the highway
•	 The vehicle is temporarily stopped on the 

highway for traffic, waiting for a stoplight, stop 
sign or other traffic control device

•	 The device is not within the reach of a driver 
using a safety belt.

Simply stated, a driver may not reach for, dial or 
hold a hand-held mobile device while driving. 
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Parts and 
Accessories 
Necessary for Safe 
Operation

Part 393
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Every commercial motor vehicle must be equipped 
with certain standard equipment. Other (optional) 
equipment or accessories are permitted only if these 
items do not decrease the operational safety of the 
vehicle.

Lights

What lighting is covered?
Part 393 specifies the required color, position, and 
types of lamps and reflectors for commercial mo-
tor vehicles. All lamps and reflectors for commercial 
motor vehicles manufactured after March 7, 1989, 
must meet the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle 
Safety Standard (FMVSS) No. 108 (49 CFR 571.108) 
in effect on the date of manufacture. Certain trailers 
manufactured on or after December 1, 1993, must 
have retro-reflective sheeting or additional reflex 
reflectors to make them more visible to other motor-
ists at nighttime and under other conditions of reduced 
visibility. Trailers manufactured before December 1, 
1993, must be retrofitted with retro-reflective sheeting 
or additional reflectors by June 1, 2001.

Lamps and reflectors on commercial motor vehicles 
manufactured on or prior to March 7, 1989, must meet 
either the requirements of Part 393 or of FMVSS No. 
108 that were in effect on the date of manufacture.

Must be Operable

All required lamps must light on request at an inspec-
tion and must light when required during regular 
operation of the vehicle.

Lamp Mounting

All lamps must be permanently and securely mounted 
on a permanent part of the vehicle. The exceptions are 
temporary lamps, such as those used in a driveaway-
towaway operation or mounted on projecting loads. 
Temporary lamps must be securely attached.

Stop Lamps

All stop lamps on a commercial motor vehicle must 
activate when the service brakes are applied.

Brakes

Commercial motor vehicles must be equipped with the 
following brake systems:

Part 393
Parts and Accessories Necessary for Safe Operation

n	 A service brake system that meets the require	
	 ments of 49 CFR 393.52, which specifies braking 	
	 and holding performance
n	 A parking brake system that meets the require-	
	 ments of 49 CFR 393.41, which specifies parking 	
	 brake activation and the method for holding the 	
	 brakes in the applied position

Brakes on All Wheels

Every commercial motor vehicle must be equipped 
with brakes acting on all wheels, with the following 
exceptions:

n	 Trucks and truck tractors with three or more axles, 	
	 manufactured before July 25, 1980, are not re	-	
	 quired to have steering axle brakes
n	 Vehicles being towed in a driveaway-towaway op-	
	 eration. (However, the towed vehicle must have 	
	 brakes in operation if the brakes on the towing 	
	 vehicle are not capable of stopping the combina-	
	 tion vehicle under the conditions covered by Sec-	
	 tion 393.52)
n	 Any full trailer, semi-trailer, or pole trailer having 	
	 a gross weight of 3,000 pounds or less provided 	
	 the trailer weight does not exceed 40 percent of 	
	 weight of the towing vehicle

Breakaway and Emergency Braking

Every vehicle used to tow a trailer equipped with 
brakes must have a means of maintaining the opera-
tion of the brakes on the towing vehicle in the event 
that the trailer breaks away from the towing vehicle. 
Among the other requirements:

n	 Every truck or truck tractor equipped with air 	
	 brakes, when used to tow other vehicles equipped 	
	 with air brakes, must be capable of activating 	
	 (manually and automatically) the emergency 		
	 features of the trailer brakes. The brakes must ap-	
	 ply automatically when the towing vehicle air 	
	 supply pressure is between 20 and 45 psi. The 	
	 manual control must be operable by the driver 	
	 from the driver’s seat, with seat belt in use
n	 Every trailer is required to be equipped with 		
	 brakes that apply automatically if the trailer breaks 	
	 away from the towing vehicle.*  The brakes must 	
	 remain in the applied position for at least 15 
	 minutes.
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*These requirements do not apply to vehicles in 
driveaway-towaway operations.

Brake Tubing and Hose

Safe and reliable operation of a vehicle’s brakes 
depends upon adequate protection of the tubing and 
hoses from mechanical and other damage.
n	 Design and construction of brake tubing and hose 	
	 must ensure proper, adequate, and continued func-	
	 tioning
n	 Installation must ensure proper functioning of the 	
	 hose
n	 Length and flexibility must be enough to accom-	
	 modate all normal motions of the parts to which 	
	 the hose is attached
n	 Protection against mechanical damage must in-	
	 clude protection against chafing, kinking, and 	
	 mechanical damage
n	 Protection from high temperature must include 	
	 protection from or located away from exhaust 	
	 pipes and other sources of high temperatures

Brake Warning Devices

Buses, trucks, and truck tractors must be equipped 
with a signal that provides a warning to the driver 
when a failure occurs in the vehicle’s service brake 
system. This signal requirement covers hydraulic 
brake systems, air brake systems, vacuum brake sys-
tems, and hydraulic brakes applied or assisted by air 
or vacuum.

Automatic Brake Adjusters and Brake Ad-
justment Indicators

n	 Each commercial motor vehicle manufactured 	
	 on or after October 20, 1993, and equipped with 	
	 a hydraulic brake system, must be equipped with 	
	 an automatic brake adjustment system that meets 	
	 the requirements of FMVSS No. 105
n	 Each commercial motor vehicle manufactured on 	
	 or after October 20, 1994, and equipped with an 	
	 air brake system, must be equipped with an auto-	
	 matic brake adjustment system that meets the 	
	 requirements of FMVSS No. 121
n	 Air-braked vehicles manufactured on or after 	
	 October 20, 1994, and equipped with an 	 	
	 external automatic adjustment mechanism, must 	
	 be equipped with an automatic brake adjustment 

indicator that meets the requirements of FMVSS No. 
121

Automatic Slack Adjusters

n	 All Commercial Vehicle’s manufactured since Oc-	
	 tober 1994 are required to be equipped with auto-	
	 matic slack adjusters.
n	 Automatic slack adjusters should work properly 	
	 without manual adjustment, but do require regular 	
	 maintenance and should be checked on regular 	
	 intervals to ensure proper function.

Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance 
(CVSA) Recommendations

n	 If the brakes are out-of-adjustment on this type of 	
	 vehicle, it is a brake auto slack adjuster problem, 	
	 not brakes-out-of-adjustment. Out-of-adjustment 	
	 indicates the adjuster is not working properly due 	
	 to being broken, improperly installed or serviced, 	
	 the driver has readjusted the brakes incorrectly, 	
	 etc. 
n	 Carriers need to improve their brake knowledge 	
	 and maintenance program to catch brake prob-	
	 lems early and only allow drivers who are truly 	
	 qualified and knowledgeable to work on brakes 	
	 and adjusters. Maintenance records should re-	
	 flect how often and how far adjustments are made 	
	 on brakes to track brake issues. 
n	 Drivers, mechanics, and carrier officials need to be 	
	 educated about brakes and slack adjusters. Brakes 	
	 are one of the most common violations cited and 	
	 one of the top contributing factors in crashes.

Antilock Braking Systems (ABS)

Certain commercial motor vehicles are required to be 
equipped with antilock braking systems that meet the 
requirements of FMVSS No. 105 (49 CFR 571.105) 
concerning hydraulic brake systems, and FMVSS No. 
121 (49 CFR 571.121) concerning air brake systems. 
The rules apply to:

n	 Truck-tractors manufactured on or after March 1, 	
	 1997
n	 Air-braked single-unit trucks, buses, and trailers 	
	 (including converter dollies) manufactured on or 	
	 after March 1, 1998, and
n	 Hydraulic-braked trucks and buses manufactured 	
	 on or after March 1999
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Windshield Condition

A vehicle’s windshield must be free of discoloration 
and cracks in the area extending from the top of the 
steering wheel to within two inches of the top of the 
windshield.

Fuel Systems

Fuel systems used for the operation of commercial 
motor vehicles and of auxiliary equipment installed on 
or used in connection with commercial motor vehicles 
must meet the following requirements:

Each fuel system must be located so that
n	 No part of the system extends beyond the widest 	
	 part of the vehicle
n	 No part of a fuel tank is forward of the front axle 	
	 of a power unit
n	 Fuel spilled vertically from a fuel tank while it is 	
	 being filled will not contact any part of the exhaust 	
	 or electrical systems of the vehicle, except the fuel 	
	 level indicator assembly
n	 Fill pipe openings are located outside the vehicle’s 	
	 passenger compartment and its cargo compartment
n	 Fuel lines do not extend between a towed vehicle 	
	 and the towing unit while the combination is in 	
	 motion
n	 No part of the fuel system of a bus manufactured 	
	 on or after January 1, 1973, is located within or 	
	 above the passenger compartment

Coupling Devices

Sections 393.70 and 393.71 provide requirements for 
the attachment and location of the fifth wheel and 
requirements for the towing of full trailers. In addi-
tion, requirements for saddle mount operations are 
provided.

Cargo Securement

Sections 393.100-393.136 provide the standards cover-
ing cargo securement. Cargo is required to be loaded 
and secured so that it will not shift or fall off the ve-
hicle. The cargo securement regulations include mini-
mum strength requirements for securement devices 
and requirements for protection against longitudinal 
and lateral movement of the cargo.

Two cargo securement requirements are Weight & 
Length:
n	 Weight – The total weight of the item is the work-	
	 ing load limit (WLL)
s	 Securement devices MUST be at least ½ of the 	
	 WLL
s	 All tie downs have a working load limit (WLL) 	
	 including the anchor points
s	 The weakest point will always be used as the 	
	 maximum
s	 Use WLL markings as a guide, if the WLL is not 	
	 marked, use the table in 393.108
s	 The truck or trailer headerboard and friction mats 	
	 can be used to help secure the load

n	 Length – The length determines the number of tie- 	
	 downs required
s	 One device is required for each 10 feet of load, or 	
	 faction of 10 feet
s	 Other requirements apply, such as securing round 	
	 objects (pipes) from rolling, machinery arms must 	
	 be down and locked

Sleeper Berths

Sleeper berths must meet minimum dimensions. A 
sleeper berth must not be installed on a trailer and 
must be located in or adjacent to the cab. An exit door 
at least 18” high by 36” wide must lead directly into 
the cab. Section 393.76 contains special provisions for 
sleeper berths. 

Sleeper berths must be equipped with adequate sheets 
and blankets, and a mattress and springs or inner-
spring mattress. They must be adequately ventilated, 
and located so as to protect occupants against exhaust 
heat and fumes and fuel leaks. A mandatory restraint 
system must withstand at least 6,000 lbs. of force ap-
plied toward the front of the vehicle.

Exhaust Systems

Exhaust systems must meet the following require-
ments:  

n	 The exhaust system and discharge must be located 	
	 where it is not likely to burn or damage the electri-	
	 cal wiring, the fuel supply, nor any combustible 	
	 part of the vehicle
n	 The discharge from the exhaust system must not 
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be located immediately below the fuel tank or the fuel 
tank filler pipe
n	 The exhaust system may not be temporarily re-	
	 paired with patch or wrap material
n	 The exhaust pipe and mufflers must be securely 	
	 fastened to the vehicle
n	 The exhaust system may not leak or discharge at 	
	 any point forward of or directly below the driver or 	
	 sleeper compartment

For trucks and truck tractors, the exhaust system must 
discharge at a location to the rear of the cab, or above 
and near the rear of the cab.

For a bus powered by a gasoline engine, the exhaust 
pipe must discharge at a point no farther forward than 
six inches forward of the rearmost part of the bus.

For a bus powered by diesel or other fuel (not gaso-
line), the exhaust pipe must discharge either:

n	 At a point no farther forward than 15 inches for-	
	 ward of the rearmost part of the bus or
n	 To the rear of all doors or windows designed to be 	
	 open (not including emergency exits)

Rear End Protection

Every commercial motor vehicle must be equipped 
with either bumpers or other devices that prevent the 
under ride of another vehicle. Tractors, pole trail-
ers, pulpwood trailers, low chassis vehicles, special 
purpose vehicles, wheels back vehicles, trailers towed 
in driveaway-towaway operations, and driveaway-
towaway vehicles may be exempt. Certain trailers 
manufactured on or after January 26, 1998, must have 
rear impact guards that meet FMVSS Nos. 223 & 224.

Seat Belts

Commercial motor vehicle must be equipped with 
seats, seat belt assemblies, and seat belt anchorages as 
specified in the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Stan-
dards (FMVSS).

Emergency Equipment

Commercial motor vehicles must carry the following 
emergency equipment:

n	 Fire extinguisher 
n	 Spare fuses
n	 Warning devices for stopped vehicles 

Fire Extinguisher

Fire extinguishers must be securely mounted and 
readily accessible for use. Each extinguisher must 
have a gauge or other indicator that shows whether the 
extinguisher is fully charged, and a label showing its 
Underwriters’ Laboratories (UL) rating. 

The fire extinguisher(s) must meet one of the follow-
ing standards:

n	 One extinguisher with a UL rating of 5 B:C or 	
	 more or
n	 Two extinguishers each with a UL rating of 4 B:C 	
	 or more
n	 One extinguisher with a UL rating of 10 B:C or 	
	 more, if the vehicle is transporting placardable 	
	 quantities of hazardous material

Suspension, Steering and Conspicu-
ity Requirements 

Suspension Systems

Suspension systems are required to be structurally 
sound and in safe working order, including the 
following:

n	 Axles must be in proper alignment, and no posi-	
	 tioning part can be cracked, broken, loose, or 	
	 missing
n	 Adjustable axles must have locking pins in place
n	 Leaf springs must not be cracked, broken, missing, 	
	 or shifted out of position
n	 Coil springs must not be cracked or broken
n	 Torsion bars must not be cracked or broken
n	 Air suspensions must support the vehicle in a level 	
	 position, and must not leak



93

Steering System

Steering system must be in proper working order, 
which includes the following:

n	 Steering wheel must be properly secured and no 	
	 cracked or missing spokes
n	 Steering wheel lash must meet the requirements of 	
	 Section 393.209 (b)
n	 Steering column must be securely fastened
n	 Steering system must not have worn or welded 	
	 universal joints, loose steering gear box, 	 	
	 missing bolts, or a loose pitman arm on the steer-	
	 ing gear output shaft
n	 Power steering unit must not have loose or broken 	
	 parts, (frayed, cracked, or slipping belts); no leaks; 	
	 or insufficient fluid in reservoir

FMCSA’S Conspicuity Requirements 
for Commercial Motor Vehicles

The FMCSA has regulations requiring the use of 
conspicuity materials (i.e., retroreflective sheeting (or 
reflex reflectors)) on trailers and the rear of truck trac-
tors. The rules are intended to reduce the incidence of 
motorists crashing into the sides or rear of trailers at 
nighttime and under other conditions of reduced vis-
ibility, and to reduce the incidence of motorists rear-
ending truck tractors (being operated without trailers) 
under the same conditions.

There are three separate groups of commercial motor 
vehicles subject to the FMCSR requirements and the 
date of manufacture for the vehicle must be known to 
determine the applicability of the rules to the vehicle. 
The rules cover:

n	 Trailers manufactured on or after December 1, 	
	 1993; 
n	 The retrofitting of trailers built before that date; 	
	 and
n	 Truck tractors built on or after July 1, 1997.

For more information on the Conspicuity Require-
ments check the Internet at:  
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/pdfs/Consp.pdf
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Part 395
Hours of Service 
Drivers
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Hours of Service Final Rule Issued 
(Property Carrier)

Final rule for property carriers issued in 2011 by 
FMCSA. Drivers are limited to driving 11 hours and 
working no more than 14 hours each day with 10 
hours resting between shifts. Drivers are also limited 
to 60 hours on duty in 7 consecutive days or 70 hours 
on duty in 8 consecutive days. Complete information 
is available at: www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-regulations/
topics/hos/index.htm

General Rule

The hours of service rules apply to all motor carriers 
and drivers, with exceptions found in paragraphs (b) 
through (k) of Section 395.1.

On-Duty Time

Means all time from the time a driver begins to work 
or is required to be in readiness to work until the time 
the driver is relieved from work and all responsibility 
for performing work. On duty time shall include:

1.	 All time at a plant, terminal, facility, or other 	
	 property of a motor carrier or shipper, or on any 	
	 public property, waiting to be dispatched, unless 	
	 the driver has been relieved from duty by the mo-	
	 tor carrier.
2.	 All time inspecting, servicing, or conditioning any 	
	 commercial motor vehicle at any time.
3.	 All driving time as defined in the term driving 	
	 time.
4.	 All time, other than driving time, in or upon any 	
	 commercial motor vehicle except time spent rest-	
	 ing in a sleeper berth.
5.	 All time loading or unloading a commercial motor 	
	 vehicle, supervision, or assisting in the loading 	
	 or unloading, attending a commercial motor ve-	
	 hicle being loaded or unloaded, remaining in 		
	 readiness to operate the commercial motor vehicle, 	
	 or in giving or receiving receipts for shipments 	
	 loaded or unloaded.
6.	 All time repairing, obtaining assistance, or re-	
	 maining in attendance upon a disabled commercial 	
	 motor vehicle.

Part 395
Hours of Service of Drivers

7.	 All time spent providing a breath sample or urine 	
	 specimen, including travel time to and from the 	
	 collection site, in order to comply with the ran-	
	 dom, reasonable suspicion, post-accident, or 	 	
	 follow-up testing required by Part 382 when 	 	
	 directed by a motor carrier.
8.	 Performing any other work in the capacity, em-	
	 ploy, or service of a motor carrier; and
9.	 Performing any compensated work for a person 	
	 who is not a motor carrier.

On-duty time does not include:
1.  Any time resting in a parked vehicle (also applies 	
	 to passenger-carrying drivers.)
2.  Up to two hours in the passenger seat immediately 	
	 before or after eight consecutive hours in the 		
    sleeper berth. This applies only property-carrying 	
	 CMVs in motion.

100 Air-Mile Radius Exemption

A driver is exempt from maintaining the driver’s daily 
log requirements of Section 395.8 if all of the follow-
ing are true:

n	 The driver operates within a 100 air-mile radius of 	
	 the normal work reporting location
n	 The driver returns to the work reporting location 	
	 and is released from work within 12 consecutive 	
	 hours
n	 Each 12 hours on duty are separated by at least 8 	
	 consecutive hours of off duty
n	 The driver does not exceed a maximum of ten 	
	 hours driving time following eight consecutive 	
	 hours off duty
n	 The motor carrier that employs the driver main-	
	 tains and retains for a period of six months accu-	
	 rate and true time records that show:
	 -	 The total number of hours the driver is on 	
		  duty each day	
	 -	 The time the driver reports for duty each day
	 -	 The time the driver is released from duty each 	
		  day
	 -	 The total time for the preceding seven days 	
	 	 for first-time or intermittent drivers
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Driving Time

Means all time spent at the driving controls of a com-
mercial motor vehicle in operation.

Passenger Carrying Vehicles

10-Hour Rule

Drivers are allowed to drive for ten hours following 
eight consecutive hours off duty.

15-Hour Rule

A motor carrier cannot permit or require a driver to 
drive after 15 hours are spent on duty following 8 
consecutive hours off.

60 and 70 Hour Rules

A motor carrier must not permit or require a driver to 
drive after a total of:

n	 60 hours on duty in 7 consecutive days or
n	 70 hours on duty in 8 consecutive days 
n	 If the driver works more than one job of any kind, 	
	 that time must also be included as on duty time

Driver’s Record of Duty Status

Every driver shall prepare a record of duty status 
(driver’s daily log) in his/her own handwriting for 
each 24-hour period, unless operating under the 100 
air-mile radius exemption.

Failure to complete or retain the log, or knowingly 
falsifying logs or other reports, makes the driver and/
or carrier liable to prosecution. 

Property Carrying Vehicles

Motor carriers and drivers must comply beginning on 
January 4, 2004 with the following:

11-Hour Rule

Drivers are allowed to drive for 11 hours following 10 
consecutive hours off duty.

14-Hour Rule

A motor carrier cannot permit or require a driver to 
drive after 14 hours are spent on duty following 10 
consecutive hours off.

16 Hour Exemption

395.1(o) A property-carrying driver is exempt from 
395.3(a)(2), the 14-hour rule, when:

n	 The driver returns and is released from his normal 	
	 work reporting location for the previous 5 duty 	
	 tours;
n	 The driver returns to his normal work reporting 	
	 location and is released within 16 hours; and 
n	 The driver has not used this exemption within the 	
	 previous 7 consecutive days, except that the 16-	
	 hour provision may be used after any period of be-	
	 ing off duty for 34 or more consecutive hours.

60 and 70 Hour Rules

A motor carrier must not permit or require a driver to 
drive after a total of:

n	 60 hours on duty in 7 consecutive days or
n	 70 hours on duty in 8 consecutive days 
n	 If the driver works more than one job of any kind, 	
	 that time must also be included as on duty time

30 Minute Rest Breaks
Operators may drive only if eight hours or less have 
passed since the end of the driver’s last off-duty 
period of at least 30 minutes. 

The 30-minute break requirement does not apply to :
n	 Any driver that operates within 100 air-miles of 	
	 their normal work reporting location if they 		
	 comply with time limitations and recordkeeping 
	 requirements.
n	 Non-CDL drivers who operate within a 150 
	 air-mile radius of the location where the driver 	
	 reports for duty if the driver complies with time 	
	 limitations and recordkeeping requirements.
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34 Hour Restart Provision

395.3(c)(1) & (2) allows the driver to restart the 60/70 
hour period when:

n	 Any period of 7 or 8 consecutive days may end 	
	 with the beginning of any off-duty period of 34 or 	
	 more consecutive hours
n	 May only be used once every 168 hours (7 days)
n	 Must include two periods between 1 a.m. to 5 a.m. 	
	 home terminal time.
Driver’s Record of Duty Status

Every driver shall prepare a record of duty status 
(driver’s daily log) in his/her own handwriting for 
each 24-hour period, unless operating under the 100 
air-mile radius exemption.

Failure to complete or retain the log, or knowingly 
falsifying logs or other reports, makes the driver and/
or carrier liable to prosecution.

Non-CDL 150 Air-Mile Radius Provision

Operators of property-carrying commercial motor 
vehicles not requiring a CDL, as defined in Part 383, 
may be covered by the Non-CDL 150 air-mile radius 
provision. Note that the applicability depends on the 
type of vehicle being driven, not whether the operator 
possesses a CDL.

Drivers of Non-CDL vehicles who are operating with-
in 150 air-mile radius of their normal work reporting 
location and return to their normal work reporting 
location at the end of their duty tour are now covered 
by separate HOS provisions. 

These drivers are required to comply with the follow-
ing:

n	 The 11 hours driving, minimum 10 hours off-duty, 	
	 14 consecutive hour duty period, 60/70 hours in 7/8 	
	 days, 34-hour restart all applies.
n	 On any 2 days of every 7 consecutive days, the 	
	 driver may extend the 14-hour duty period to 16 	
	 hours.
n	 There is no requirement that the driver be released 	
	 from duty at the end of the 14- or 16-hour duty 	

	 periods. The driver may continue to perform non-	
	 driving duties, which would be counted against the 	
	 60/70 hour weekly limitation.
n	 Time records may be used in lieu of records of 	
	 duty status.
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Each item, required to be entered, on the Driver’s 
Record of Duty Status is listed below, followed by a 
cryptic explanation of when the information should be 
recorded.

(1)	 Date - Entered when the driver first comes on 	
	 duty.
(2)	 Total miles driving today - Entered at the end of 	
	 the driver’s workday.
(3)	 Truck or tractor and trailer number - Entered 	
	 just prior to operating the vehicle.
(4)	 Name of carrier - Entered when the driver first 	
	 comes on duty. The name of the motor carrier 	
	 may be preprinted.
(5)	 Driver’s signature/certification - Entered at the 	
	 end of the driver’s workday.
(6)	 Main office address - Entered when the driver 	
	 first comes on duty. The address of the motor car-	
	 rier may be preprinted.

(7)	 Remarks - Entered whenever an event occurs that 	
	 requires an entry in the remarks section. (Tire 	
	 check - emergency condition)
(8)	 Name of co-driver - Entered when the co-driver 	
	 is known (prior to the commencement of 		
	 driving operations).
(9)	 Total hours - Computed and entered at the end of 	
	 the driver’s workday.
(10)	Shipping document number(s), or name of ship-	
	 per and commodity - Entered at the time the trip 	
	 is assigned to the driver (when loaded).
(11)	24 hour period describing duty status.

Note:  All supporting documents including toll tickets, 
fuel receipts, scale tickets, etc. must be maintained 
with duty status records for six months in accordance 
with 395.8(k)(i).
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Daily Hours Of Service

Employee Name/#                                                                                             Month/Year                                 
Each day provide the following information:	 Property Carrier
		  n	 Do not work more than 12 hours in one day.
1.	 Time you report for work each day.	 n	 Do not drive more than 11 hours in one day.
		  n	 Must be “off duty” at least 10 consecutive hours 	
2.  	Time you are released from work each day.	  	 between work periods.	 	 	

		  Passenger Carrier
3. 	 The total hours worked each day.	 n	 Do not work more than 12 hours in one day.
		  n	 Do not drive more than 10 hours in one day.
(see title 49 CFR, section 395.1(e))	 	 *must be “off duty” at least 8 consecutive

DAILY HOURS OF SERVICE 
Employee	Name/#	__________________________________________	Month/Year	________________	

Each	day	provide	the	following	information:	 	 												PROPERTY CARRIER
	 	 	 	 	 	 *DO	NOT	WORK	MORE	THAN	12	HOURS	IN	ONE	DAY.	
1.    Time you report for work each day.  *DO	NOT	DRIVE	MORE	THAN	11	HOURS	IN	ONE	DAY.	
	 	 	 	 	 	 *MUST	BE	"OFF	DUTY"	AT	LEAST	10	CONSECUTIVE	
2.				Time	you	are	released	from	work	each	day.	 				HOURS	BETWEEN	WORK	PERIODS.	

PASSENGER CARRIER  
3.				The	total	hours	worked	each	day.	 	 *DO	NOT	WORK	MORE	THAN	12	HOURS	IN	ONE	DAY.	

*DO	NOT	DRIVE	MORE	THAN	10	HOURS	IN	ONE	DAY.	
(See	Title	49	CFR,	Section	395.1(e))	 	 *MUST	BE	"OFF	DUTY"	AT	LEAST	8	CONSECUTIVE	

			HOURS	BETWEEN	WORK	PERIODS.	

Hours	of	Service	(395.1e)	 COMMENTS	
Date	 Start	 End	 Total	 Unit	#	

1 : :

2 : :

3 : :

4 : :

5 : :

6 : :

7 : :

8 : :

9 : :

10 : :

11 : :

12 : :

13 : :

14 : :

15 : :

16 : :

17 : :

18 : :

19 : :

20 : :

21 : :

22 : :

23 : :

24 : :

25 : :

26 : :

27 : :

28 : :

29 : :

30 : :

31 : :
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Instructions 
When using a driver for the first time or intermit-
tently, a signed statement must be obtained, giving 
the total time on duty (driving and on duty) during 
the immediate preceding seven days and the time at 
which the driver was last relieved from duty prior to 
beginning work

Hours-Of-Service Record For First Time Or Intermittent Drivers

HOURS-OF-SERVICE RECORD FOR FIRST TIME OR INTERMITTENT DRIVERS 

Instructions:		When	using	a	driver	for	the	first	time	or	intermittently,	a	signed	statement	must	be	obtained,	
giving the total time on duty (driving	and	on	duty)	during	the	immediate preceding seven days and the time 
at	which	the	driver	was	last	relieved	from	duty	prior	to	beginning	work.	

Name:		(Print)		______________________________________________________________________	
	 	 	 								First																																						Middle																																				Last	

	 	 	 	 DAY	 	 TOTAL	TIME	ON	DUTY	

1 _________	
2 _________	
3 _________	
4 _________	
5 _________	
6 _________	
7 _________	

																																										_______________________________________	

	 	 	 	 													TOTAL													_________	

I	hereby	certify	that	the	information	contained	herein	is	true	to	the	best	of	my	knowledge	and	belief,	and	that	my	
last	period	of	release	from	duty	was	from:	
_______________________________________		to		_______________________________________	
																													(Hour/Date)																																																																		(Hour/Date)		

Signature		_____________________________________________		Date		______________________
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The driver must submit the original log sheet to 
the employing carrier within 13 days after comple-
tion. When a motor carrier uses a driver initially or 
intermittently, that carrier must obtain from him/her 
a signed statement giving the total time on duty dur-
ing the immediately preceding 7 days and the time 
at which he/she was last relieved of duty. Records of 
duty status must be maintained for a minimum of six 
months at the carrier’s principal place of business, 
with all supporting documents. 

Electronic On-Board Recording Devices

Alternatively, motor carriers may require a driver to 
use an electronic on-board recording device (EOBR) 
to record duty status. The driver must still have in 
his/her possession records of duty status in automated 
or written form, for the previous seven consecutive 
days. The driver must sign all hard copies of the 
driver’s record of duty status.

EOBR Information Requirements
n	 Shall produce, upon demand, a driver’s hours 	
	 of service chart, electronic display, or printout 	
	 showing the time and sequence of duty status 
	 changes including the drivers’ starting time 		
	 at the beginning of each day.
n	 Shall provide a means whereby authorized Federal, 	
	 State, or local officials can immediately check the 	
	 status of a driver’s hours of service. This informa-	
	 tion may be used in conjunction with handwritten 	
	 or printed records of duty status, for the previous 7 	
	 days.
n	 Support systems used in conjunction with on- 	
	 board recorders at a driver’s home terminal or 	
	 the motor carrier’s principal place of business 	
	 must be capable of providing authorized Federal, 	
	 State or local officials with summaries of an in-	
	 dividual driver’s hours of service records, includ-	
	 ing the information specified in §395.8(d). The 	
	 support systems must also provide information 	
	 concerning on board system sensor failures and 	
	 identification of edited data. Such support systems 	

Submitting/Retaining Duty Status Log 	 should meet the information interchange require-	
	 ments of the American National Standard Code 	
	 for Information Interchange (ANSCII) (EIARS 	
	 232/CCITV.24 port (National Bureau of Standards 	
	 “Code for Information Interchange,” FIPS PUB 1 	
	 1)).
n	 The driver shall have in his/her possession records 	
	 of duty status for the previous 7 consecutive 		
	 days available for inspection while on duty. 	 	
	 These records shall consist of information stored 	
	 in and retrievable from the automatic on board 	
	 recording device, handwritten records, computer 	
	 generated records, or any combination thereof.
n	 All hard copies of the driver’s record of duty status 	
	 must be signed by the driver. The driver’s signature 	
	 certifies that the information contained thereon is 	
	 true and correct.
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Q 	 Under the EOBR final rule, what population of 	
	 commercial carriers will be required to install
	 EOBRs? 

A 	 The new EOBR final rule will require interstate 	
	 commercial truck and bus companies with serious 	
	 patterns of hours-of-service (HOS) violations 	
	 to use electronic on-board recorders (EOBRs) in 	
	 all their vehicles. Nearly 5,700 interstate carriers 	
	 will be required to use EOBRs after the final rule’s 	
	 first year of implementation.

Q	 What information would be recorded by EOBRs in 	
	 the final rule?

A	 The final rule would require EOBRs to record 	
	 basic information needed to track a driver’s on- 	
	 and off-duty status:  name; duty status (on-duty/	
	 not driving, driving time, sleeper berth, off-duty); 	
	 date, time and location of the commercial vehicle 	
	 and distance traveled. It would also require EO-	
	 BRs to use Global Positioning System (GPS) tech-	
	 nology or other location tracking systems to 		
	 automatically identify the location of the commer-	
	 cial vehicle, which would further reduce the likeli-	
	 hood of falsification of HOS information. 

Q	 How will the final EOBR rule be enforced and 	
	 when will the remedial directive go into affect? 

A	 Under the EOBR final rule, commercial carriers 	
	 found with 10 percent or more HOS violations 	
	 during a compliance review will be required to 	
	 install and use EOBRs in all their vehicles for a 	
	 minimum of two years. The final rule will go into 	
	 effect on June 1, 2012 to ensure EOBR manufac-	
	 turers have sufficient time to meet the rule’s per-	
	 formance standards and to manufacture products 	
	 to meet industry demand. 

Q	 What is the penalty if a carrier with a pattern of 	
	 violations fails to install and use the EOBRS?

Electronic On-Board Recorders For Hours Of Service Final Rule 
Question & Answer

A	 That carrier would be prohibited from operating in 	
	 interstate commerce. For-hire carriers may also 	
	 have their operating authority revoked. 

Q	 Why didn’t FMCSA propose mandatory use of 	
	 EOBRs for the entire motor carrier industry?
	 Will the Agency consider a broader EOBR man-	
	 date in the future? 

A	 This final rule issued today is the first of two 	
	 important steps to ensure carriers are operating 	
	 in compliance with HOS requirements. FMC-	
	 SA believes the greatest safety benefit comes 	
	 from mandating EOBRs for high-risk carriers 	
	 without delay. By focusing on carriers with high 	
	 rates of noncompliance with the HOS rules, this fi-	
	 nal rule will help FMCSA significantly improve 	
	 highway safety today and will assist 	carriers in 	
	 creating an environment where their drivers are 	
	 focused on safety.  As a second step, FMCSA will 	
	 initiate a rulemaking later this year that considers 	
	 an EOBR mandate for a broader population of mo-	
	 tor carriers.

Q	 Would on-board recording devices currently being 	
	 used by carriers have to be replaced with
	 devices that meet the new EOBR standards?

A	 No. FMCSA proposed that on-board recording 	
	 devices that were voluntarily installed before the 	
	 new requirements are implemented may continue 	
	 to be used through the life of the vehicle. Any 	
	 EOBR installed on a commercial vehicle manufac-	
	 tured on or after two years following the publica-	
	 tion date of the final rule must meet the new stan-	
	 dard.

Q	 What incentives does FMCSA offer to carriers 	
	 that voluntarily install the EOBRs?

A	 Supporting Documents: Carriers that volun-	 	
	 tarily adopt EOBRs will receive relief from some 	
	 of FMCSA’s requirements to retain HOS support-	
	 ing documents, such as toll receipts used to check 	
	 the accuracy of driver logbooks. Compliance 	
	 Reviews: For carriers that voluntarily adopt 	 	
	 EOBRs, FMCSA will revise its compliance review 	
	 procedures to permit examination of a random 	
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	 sample of drivers’ records of on-duty status after 	
	 an initial sampling of all driver records.

Q	 Would the final rule violate CMV drivers’ pri-	
	 vacy?

A	 No. The final rule does not change the require	
	 ments for who must comply with HOS rules, and it 	
	 does not require any additional information 		
	 concerning drivers’ activities while on duty. The 	
	 rulemaking is intended to provide a more accu-	
	 rate 	record of drivers’ duty status and significantly 	
	 reduce the likelihood of falsification 	of hours-of-	
	 service information. 

Q	 What data does FMCSA have to show that the 	
	 final rule would prevent commercial vehicle-
   	 related crashes?

A	 The crash rate for the carriers that will be covered 	
	 by the EOBR final rule is 40 percent higher than 	
	 the crash rate of other motor carriers. The manda-	
	 tory use of EOBRs will bring non-compliant car-	
	 riers back in compliance with federal HOS rules. 	
	 We believe strongly that when carriers follow the 	
	 rules, crashes will be reduced. 

Q	 How many fatigue-related fatal crashes occur each 	
	 year?

A	 Generally, FMCSA believes truck driver fatigue 	
	 is a factor in 5.5 percent of the fatal crashes in-	
	 volving large trucks. 

Q	 What percentage of fatigue-related crashes can be 	
	 attributed to those carriers that will be impacted 	
	 by the EOBR mandate?

A	 Specific data on the number of fatigue related 	
	 crashes among the carriers that would be covered 	
	 by the final rule is not available, but these car-	
	 riers have a clear pattern of violating the HOS 	
	 rules. These high-risk carriers represent a group 	
	 that have crash rates higher than others and are 	
	 likely to have more fatigue-related crashes because 	
	 of their high level of noncompliance with the HOS 	
	 rules.

Q	 Why did FMCSA decide not to combine the 		
	 EOBR and HOS rulemakings into a single rule	
	 making?

A	 There are many issues surrounding EOBRs, 		
	 including safety benefits, technical requirements, 
	 economic considerations, and privacy and legal 	
	 concerns. To do justice to such a complex issue we 	
	 initiated a separate rulemaking effort apart from 	
	 our simultaneous work on the HOS rule. 

Q	 What does the final rule include with regard to 	
	 technology standards for EOBRs?

A	 With this final rule, FMCSA updates the perfor-	
	 mance specifications for EOBRs to make best use 	
	 of modern and efficient communications and in-	
	 formation management processes. The final rule 	
	 provides new technical performance standards 	
	 including requirements for recording the date, 	
	 time and location of a driver’s duty status. 

Q	 Will this rule contribute to more lawsuits by those 	
	 obtaining access to motor carrier data?

A	 No, this rule will not contribute to more lawsuits. 	
	 The final rule will only require EOBRs to record 	
	 basic information needed to track a driver’s duty 	
	 status:  identity of the driver, duty status, date, 	
	 time and location of the vehicle and distance trav-	
	 eled. 
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Inspection, Repair, 
and Maintenance

Part 396
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Every motor carrier, its officers, drivers, agents, repre-
sentatives, and employees directly concerned with in-
spection or maintenance of commercial motor vehicles 
must comply and be conversant with these rules.

General Requirements

Every carrier shall systematically inspect, repair, 
and maintain all commercial motor vehicles under its 
control.

Record Keeping Requirements

Motor carriers must maintain the following informa-
tion for every vehicle that they have controlled for 30 
days or more:

n	 Identifying information, including company num-	
	 ber, make, serial number, year, and tire size
n	 A schedule of inspections to be performed, includ-	
	 ing type and due date
n	 Inspection, repair, and maintenance records
n	 Records of tests conducted on buses with push out 	
	 windows, emergency doors, and marking lights

These records must be retained for one year at the 
location where the vehicle is garaged, and maintained 
for six months after the vehicle leaves the carrier’s 
control (via sale, trade-in, or scrap).

Roadside Inspection Reports

Any driver who receives a roadside inspection report 
must deliver it to the motor carrier.

Certification of Roadside Inspection 
Reports

An official of the motor carrier is to examine the road-
side inspection report and ensure that any violations 
or defects noted on the report are corrected.  Within 
15 days after the inspection, the carrier must sign the 
completed roadside inspection report to certify that all 
violations have been corrected, and then return it to 
the indicated address.  A copy must be retained for 12 
months from the date of inspection.

Part 396
Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance
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Inspection and Maintenance Record

Make                                                    Year                           Model                         VIN No.                                

No. of Tires                   Sizes                              Co. Unit No.                                 

If Leased, Name of Lessor                                                                                                                                        

Example of what repair may consist of is lights and reflectors, wheels and tires, running gear and undercarriage,
brake system, hoses, tubing, body, etc.

X – O.K., A – Adjustment Made; R – Repairs Made; RP – Replacement Made

Date	 Milage	 Lube	 Oil	 Repair	 	 	 Cost
(MM/DD/YYYY)	 	 	 	 Type	 Location	 Invoice#
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Nature and Due Date of Inspections/Maintenance 
Operations to Be PerformedNATURE & DUE DATE OF INSPECTIONS/MAINTENANCE 

OPERATIONS TO BE PERFORMED 

Date	 Next	Inspection	And	Maintenance	Operation	
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No commercial motor vehicle shall be driven unless 
the driver is satisfied that the following parts and 
accessories are in good working order, nor shall any 
driver fail to use or make use of such parts and acces-
sories when and as needed §392.7:

n	 Service brakes (including trailer brake 
	 connections)
n	 Parking (hand) brake
n	 Steering mechanism
n	 Lighting devices and reflectors
n	 Tires
n	 Horn
n	 Windshield wiper or wipers
n	 Rear-vision mirror or mirrors
n	 Coupling devices

Post-Trip Inspection Report
Every carrier must require its drivers to prepare a 
daily written post-trip inspection report at the end 
of each driving day. Every driver is responsible for 
preparing such a report for each vehicle driven. This 
report must cover at least the following parts and ac-
cessories:

n	 Service brakes (including trailer brake connec-
tions)
n	 Parking (hand) brake
n	 Steering mechanism
n	 Lighting devices and reflectors
n	 Tires
n	 Horn
n	 Windshield wipers
n	 Rearview mirrors
n	 Coupling devices
n	 Wheels and rims
n	 Emergency equipment

The report must list any condition that the driver 
either found or had reported to him/her that would 
affect safety of operation or cause a breakdown. If no 
defect or deficiency is reported or found, the report 
should state this. The driver must sign the report in all 
cases.

Equipment, Inspection and Use 
Pre-Trip Inspection Report

Before dispatching the vehicle again, a carrier shall 
ensure that a certification has been made as to any 
defect or deficiency that they have been corrected, or 
state those deficiencies that do not require immediate 
correction. Carriers must keep the original post-trip 
inspection report and the certification of repairs for at 
least three months from the date of preparation.

Before starting out, the driver must be satisfied that 
the motor vehicle is in safe operating condition. If the 
last vehicle inspection report notes any deficiencies, 
the driver must review and sign to acknowledge that 
necessary repairs have been completed. The report 
does not have to be carried on the vehicle.

EXCEPTIONS:  The Post-Trip Inspection Report shall 
not apply to a private motor carrier of passengers 
(nonbusiness), a driveaway-towaway operation, or any 
motor carrier operating only one commercial motor 
vehicle.
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Driver’s Vehicle Inspection Report
DRIVER’S VEHICLE INSPECTION REPORT 

 
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 Beginning	Mileage		_________________	

Tractor		____________________		Date		_______________			 Ending	Mileage		____________________	

√   Check Any Defects Noted Below 

	 Parking	(Hand)	Brake	 	 Wheels	And	Rims	

	 Steering	Mechanism	 	 Emergency	Equipment	

	 Lights	And	Reflectors	 	 Engine	

 Tires  Transmission 

	 Horn	 	 Clutch	

	 Windshield	Wipers	 	 Exhaust	

	 Rear	View	Mirrors	 	 Brakes	

	 Coupling	Devices	 	 Cooling	And	Oil	Pressure	

Explain In Detail Any Defects Checked (Tractor Only) 

If	No	Defects	–	Write	“None”	

Explain In Detail Any Trailer Defects 

Trailer	No.		______________________________	 Trailer	No.		______________________________	

I	Have	Inspected	The	Above	Unit	And	 Driver’s	Signature																																				Date	

Reported	All	Defects	Known	To	Me.	

I Have Reviewed The Previous Report And Next Trip Driver’s	Signature															Date	

Needed	Repairs	Of	Safety	Defects	On	

This	Tractor	Have	Been	Made.	 Repairman’s	Signature																												Date	

I	Have	Made	All	Needed	Repairs	Of	The	

Defects	Reported	On	This	Unit.	

 

I have inspected the above unit and reported all 
defects known to me.

I have reviewed the previous report and needed 
repairs of safety defects on this tractor have been 
made.

I have made all needed repairs of the defects 
reported on this unit.

    Date

     Date

    Date
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DRIVER’S VEHICLE INSPECTION REPORT 

DRIVER  ___________________________________________________ TOTAL HOURS  ___________________   

TIME OUT  ___________________ TIME RETURNED  ____________________ DATE  ___________________ 

TRACTOR  ___________________ BEGINNING MILEAGE  ____________ ENDING MILEAGE  ___________ 
√   CHECK ANY DEFECTS NOTED BELOW 

 PARKING (HAND) BRAKE  WHEELS AND RIMS 

 STEERING MECHANISM  EMERGENCY EQUIPMENT 

 LIGHTS AND REFLECTORS  ENGINE 

 TIRES  TRANSMISSION 

 HORN  CLUTCH 

 WINDSHIELD WIPERS  EXHAUST 

 REAR VIEW MIRRORS  BRAKES 

 COUPLING DEVICES  COOLING AND OIL PRESSURE 

EXPLAIN IN DETAIL ANY DEFECTS CHECKED (TRACTOR ONLY) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IF NO DEFECTS – WRITE “NONE” 

EXPLAIN IN DETAIL ANY TRAILER DEFECTS 

TRAILER NO.  ______________________________ TRAILER NO.  ______________________________ 

  

  

  

  

  

I HAVE INSPECTED THE ABOVE UNIT AND DRIVER’S SIGNATURE                                    DATE 

 REPORTED ALL DEFECTS KNOWN TO ME. 

I HAVE REVIEWED THE PREVIOUS REPORT AND NEXT TRIP DRIVER’S SIGNATURE               DATE 

 NEEDED REPAIRS OF SAFETY DEFECTS ON 

THIS TRACTOR HAVE BEEN MADE. REPAIRMAN’S SIGNATURE                            DATE 

 

 
I HAVE MADE ALL NEEDED REPAIRS OF THE 

DEFECTS REPORTED ON THIS UNIT. 

DRIVER  ___________________________________________________ TOTAL HOURS  ___________________   

TIME OUT  ___________________ TIME RETURNED  ____________________ DATE  ___________________ 

TRACTOR  ___________________ BEGINNING MILEAGE  ____________ ENDING MILEAGE  ___________ 
√   CHECK ANY DEFECTS NOTED BELOW 

 PARKING (HAND) BRAKE  WHEELS AND RIMS 

 STEERING MECHANISM  EMERGENCY EQUIPMENT 

 LIGHTS AND REFLECTORS  ENGINE 

 TIRES  TRANSMISSION 

 HORN  CLUTCH 

 WINDSHIELD WIPERS  EXHAUST 

 REAR VIEW MIRRORS  BRAKES 

 COUPLING DEVICES  COOLING AND OIL PRESSURE 

EXPLAIN IN DETAIL ANY DEFECTS CHECKED (TRACTOR ONLY) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IF NO DEFECTS – WRITE “NONE” 

EXPLAIN IN DETAIL ANY TRAILER DEFECTS 

 

TRAILER NO.  ______________________________ 

 

TRAILER NO.  ______________________________ 

  

  

  

  

  

I HAVE INSPECTED THE ABOVE UNIT AND DRIVER’S SIGNATURE                                    DATE 

 REPORTED ALL DEFECTS KNOWN TO ME. 

I HAVE REVIEWED THE PREVIOUS REPORT AND NEXT TRIP DRIVER’S SIGNATURE               DATE 

 NEEDED REPAIRS OF SAFETY DEFECTS ON 

THIS TRACTOR HAVE BEEN MADE. REPAIRMAN’S SIGNATURE                            DATE 

 

 
I HAVE MADE ALL NEEDED REPAIRS OF THE 

DEFECTS REPORTED ON THIS UNIT. 

DRIVER  ___________________________________________________ TOTAL HOURS  ___________________   

TIME OUT  ___________________ TIME RETURNED  ____________________ DATE  ___________________ 

TRACTOR  ___________________ BEGINNING MILEAGE  ____________ ENDING MILEAGE  ___________ 
√   CHECK ANY DEFECTS NOTED BELOW 

 PARKING (HAND) BRAKE  WHEELS AND RIMS 

 STEERING MECHANISM  EMERGENCY EQUIPMENT 

 LIGHTS AND REFLECTORS  ENGINE 

 TIRES  TRANSMISSION 

 HORN  CLUTCH 

 WINDSHIELD WIPERS  EXHAUST 

 REAR VIEW MIRRORS  BRAKES 

 COUPLING DEVICES  COOLING AND OIL PRESSURE 

EXPLAIN IN DETAIL ANY DEFECTS CHECKED (TRACTOR ONLY) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IF NO DEFECTS – WRITE “NONE” 

EXPLAIN IN DETAIL ANY TRAILER DEFECTS 

 

TRAILER NO.  ______________________________ 

 

TRAILER NO.  ______________________________ 

  

  

  

  

  

I HAVE INSPECTED THE ABOVE UNIT AND DRIVER’S SIGNATURE                                    DATE 

 REPORTED ALL DEFECTS KNOWN TO ME. 

I HAVE REVIEWED THE PREVIOUS REPORT AND NEXT TRIP DRIVER’S SIGNATURE               DATE 

 NEEDED REPAIRS OF SAFETY DEFECTS ON 

THIS TRACTOR HAVE BEEN MADE. REPAIRMAN’S SIGNATURE                            DATE 

 

 
I HAVE MADE ALL NEEDED REPAIRS OF THE 

DEFECTS REPORTED ON THIS UNIT. 

DRIVER  ___________________________________________________ TOTAL HOURS  ___________________   

TIME OUT  ___________________ TIME RETURNED  ____________________ DATE  ___________________ 

TRACTOR  ___________________ BEGINNING MILEAGE  ____________ ENDING MILEAGE  ___________ 
√   CHECK ANY DEFECTS NOTED BELOW 

 PARKING (HAND) BRAKE  WHEELS AND RIMS 

 STEERING MECHANISM  EMERGENCY EQUIPMENT 

 LIGHTS AND REFLECTORS  ENGINE 

 TIRES  TRANSMISSION 

 HORN  CLUTCH 

 WINDSHIELD WIPERS  EXHAUST 

 REAR VIEW MIRRORS  BRAKES 

 COUPLING DEVICES  COOLING AND OIL PRESSURE 

EXPLAIN IN DETAIL ANY DEFECTS CHECKED (TRACTOR ONLY) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IF NO DEFECTS – WRITE “NONE” 

EXPLAIN IN DETAIL ANY TRAILER DEFECTS 

TRAILER NO.  ______________________________ TRAILER NO.  ______________________________ 

  

  

  

  

  

I HAVE INSPECTED THE ABOVE UNIT AND DRIVER’S SIGNATURE                                    DATE 

 REPORTED ALL DEFECTS KNOWN TO ME. 

I HAVE REVIEWED THE PREVIOUS REPORT AND NEXT TRIP DRIVER’S SIGNATURE               DATE 

 NEEDED REPAIRS OF SAFETY DEFECTS ON 

THIS TRACTOR HAVE BEEN MADE. REPAIRMAN’S SIGNATURE                            DATE 

 

 
I HAVE MADE ALL NEEDED REPAIRS OF THE 

DEFECTS REPORTED ON THIS UNIT. 

Driver’s Vehicle Inspection Report
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Periodic Inspection

Every commercial vehicle, including each segment of 
a combination vehicle, requires a periodic inspection 
and must be performed at least once every 12 months. 
At a minimum, inspections must include all items 
enumerated in the Minimum Periodic Inspection 
Standards, Appendix G to Subchapter B.  Carriers 
may perform required annual inspections themselves. 
The motor carrier must retain the original or a copy of 
the periodic inspection report for 14 months from the 
report date.

Equivalent to Periodic Inspection

The motor carrier may meet periodic inspection re-
quirements through:

n	 State or other jurisdiction’s roadside inspection 	
	 program 
n	 Self-inspection by qualified employee or
n	 Third party inspection by qualified individual

Documentation of Inspection

Documentation (report, sticker, or decal) of the most 
recent periodic inspection must be kept on the vehicle. 

Inspector Qualification

Motor carriers must ensure that persons performing 
annual inspections are qualified.
Inspectors must:

n	 Understand the inspection standards of Part 393 	
	 and Appendix G 
n	 Be able to identify defective components
n	 Have knowledge and proficiency in methods, pro-	
	 cedures, and tools

Inspector Training or Experience

Inspectors may have gained experience or training by:

n	 Completing a state or federal training program, 	
	 or earning a state or Canadian province qualifying 	
	 certificate in commercial motor vehicle safety 	
	 inspections
n	 A combination of other training or experience 	
	 totaling at least a year

Evidence of Qualifications

Motor carriers must retain evidence of an inspector’s 
qualifications until one year after the inspector ceases 
to perform inspections for the carrier. 

Brake Inspector Qualification

The motor carrier is responsible for ensuring that 
all inspections, maintenance, repairs, and service to 
brakes of commercial motor vehicles comply with 
these regulations. The carrier must ensure that the em-
ployees responsible for brake inspection, maintenance, 
service, or repairs meet minimum brake inspector 
qualifications.

Qualifications for Brake Inspectors

The brake inspector must:

n	 Understand and be able to perform the brake ser-	
	 vice and inspection
n	 Know the methods, procedures, tools and equip-	
	 ment needed and
n	 Be qualified to perform brake service or inspection 	
	 by training and/or experience

Qualifying Brake Training or Experience

Qualifying brake training or experience includes suc-
cessful completion of:

n	 A state, Canadian province, federal agency, or 	
	 union training program
n	 A state-approved training program
n	 Training that led to attainment of a state or Canadi-	
	 an province qualifying certificate to perform as-	
	 signed brake service or inspection tasks, including 	
	 passage of CDL air brake test in the case of a brake 	
	 inspection or
n	 One year of brake-related training, experience, or 	
	 combination of both
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Maintaining Evidence of Brake Inspector 
Qualifications

Motor carriers must maintain evidence of brake in-
spector qualification at the principal place of business 
or the location where the inspector works. Evidence 
must be retained for the period during which the brake 
inspector is employed in that capacity and for one year 
thereafter.
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Annual Vehicle Inspection Report
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A vehicle does not pass an inspection if it has 
one	of	the	following	defects	or	deficiencies:		
1. Brake System. 
a.	Service	Brakes.		
(1)	Absence	of	braking	action	on	any	axle	
required	to	have	brakes	upon	application	of	the	
service	brakes	(such	as	missing	brakes	or	brake	
shoe(s)	failing	to	move	upon	application	of	a	
wedge.	S	cam,	cam,	or	disc	brake).		
(2)	Missing	or	broken	mechanical	components	
including:	shoes,	lining	pads,	springs,	anchor	
pins, spiders, cam rollers, push rods, and air 
chamber	mounting	bolts.		
(3)	Loose	brake	components	including	air	
chambers,	spiders,	and	cam	shaft	support	
brackets.		
(4)	Audible	air	leak	at	brake	chamber	(Example	
ruptured	diaphragm,	loose	chamber	clamp,	etc.).		
(5)	Readjustment	limits.	The	maximum	stroke	at	
which	brakes	should	be	readjusted	is	given	
below.	Any	brake	14,	or	more	past	the	
readjustment	limit	or	any	two	brakes	less	than	
14,	beyond	the	readjustment	limit	shall	be	cause	
for	rejection.	Stroke	shall	be	measured	with	
engine	off	and	reservoir	pressure	of	80	to	90	psi	
with	brakes	fully	applied.		
BOLT	TYPE	BRAKE	CHAMBER	DATA		
Type		 Effective		

area  
(sq.	in.)		

Outside		
diameter 
(in.)		

Maximum 
stroke  
at which 
brakes		
should	be	
readjusted		

A		 12		 6	15/16		 1	3/8	
B		 24		 9	3/16		 1¾	
C		 16		 8	1/16		 1¾	
D		 6		 5¼		 1¼	
E		 9		 6	3/16		 1	3/8	
F		 36		 11		 2¼	
G		 30		 9	7/8		 2	
ROTOCHAMBER	DATA		
Type		 Effective		

area  
(sq.	in.)		

Outside		
diameter  
(in.)		

Maximum 
stroke  
at which 
brakes		
should	be	
readjusted		

9		 9		 4	9/32		 1½		
12		 12		 4	13/16		 1½		
16		 16		 5	13/32		 2		
20		 20		 5	15/16		 2		
24  24  6 13/32  2  
30		 30		 7	1/16		 2¼		
36		 36		 7	5/8		 2¾		
50		 50		 8	7/8		 3		
CLAMP	TYPE	BRAKE	CHAMBER	DATA		
Type		 Effective		

area  
(sq.	in.)		

Outside		
diameter  
(in.)		

Maximum 
stroke  
at which 
brakes		
should	be	
readjusted		

6		 6		 4½		 1¼		
9		 9		 5¼		 1	3/8		
12		 12		 5	11/16		 1	3/8		
16		 16		 6	3/8		 1¾		
20		 20		 6	25/32		 1¾		
24		 24		 7	7/32		 1¾1		
30  30  8 3/32  2  
36		 36		 9		 2¼		
*(2"	for	long	stroke	design).		
WEDGE	BRAKE	DATA	. --Movement of the 
scribe	mark	on	the	lining	shall	not	exceed	116
inch.  
(6)	Brake	linings	or	pads.		
(a)	Lining	or	pad	is	not	firmly	attached	to	the	
shoe;		
(b)	Saturated	with	oil,	grease,	or	brake	fluid;	or		
(c)	Non	steering	axles:	Lining	with	a	thickness	
less than 14 inch at the shoe center for air drum 
brakes,	116	inch	or	less	at	the	shoe	center	for	
hydraulic	and	electric	drum	brakes,	and	less	
than	18	inch	for	air	disc	brakes.		
(d)	Steering	axles:	Lining	with	a	thickness	less	
than	14	inch	at	the	shoe	center	for	drum	brakes,	
less	than	18	inch	for	air	disc	brakes	and	116	
inch or less for hydraulic disc and electric 
brakes.		
(7)	Missing	brake	on	any	axle	required	to	have	
brakes.		
(8)	Mismatch	across	any	power	unit	steering	
axle	of:		
(a)	Air	chamber	sizes.		
(b)	Slack	adjuster	length.		
b.	Parking	Brake	System.	No	brakes	on	the	
vehicle	or	combination	are	applied	upon	
actuation	of	the	parking	brake	control,	including	
driveline	hand	controlled	parking	brakes.		
c.	Brake	Drum	or	Rotors.		
(1)	With	any	external	crack	or	cracks	that	open	
upon	brake	application	(do	not	confuse	short	
hairline	heat	check	cracks	with	flexural	cracks).		
(2)	Any	portion	of	the	drum	or	rotor	missing	or	
in danger of falling away.  
d.	Brake	Hose.		
(1)	Hose	with	any	damage	extending	through	
the	outer	reinforcement	ply.	(Rubber	
impregnated	fabric	cover	is	not	a	reinforcement	
ply).	(Thermoplastic	nylon	may	have	braid	
reinforcement	or	color	difference	between	cover	
and	inner	tube.	Exposure	of	second	color	is	
cause	for	rejection.		
(2)	Bulge	or	swelling	when	air	pressure	is	
applied.  
(3)	Any	audible	leaks.		

(4)	Two	hoses	improperly	joined	(such	as	a	
splice	made	by	sliding	the	hose	ends	over	a	
piece	of	tubing	and	clamping	the	hose	to	the	
tube).		
(5)	Air	hose	cracked,	broken	or	crimped.		
e.	Brake	Tubing		
(1)	Any	audible	leak.		
(2)	Tubing	cracked,	damaged	by	heat,	broken	or	
crimped  
f.	Low	Pressure	Warning	Device	missing,	
inoperative,	or	does	not	operate	at	55	psi	and	
below,	or	12	the	governor	cut	out	pressure,	
whichever is less.  
g.	Tractor	Protection	Valve.	Inoperable	or	
missing	tractor	protection	valve(s)	on	power	
unit.  
h.	Air	Compressor.		
(1)	Compressor	drive	belts	in	condition	of	
impending	or	probable	failure.		
(2)	Loose	compressor	mounting	bolts.		
(3)	Cracked,	broken	or	loose	pulley.		
(4)	Cracked	or	broken	mounting	brackets,	
braces	or	adapters.		
i.	Electric	Brakes.		
(1)	Absence	of	braking	action	on	any	wheel	
required	to	have	brakes.		
(2)	Missing	or	inoperable	breakaway	braking	
device.  
j.	Hydraulic	Brakes.	(Including	Power	Assist	
Over	Hydraulic	and	Engine	Drive	Hydraulic	
Booster).		
(1)	Master	cylinder	less	than	14	full.		
(2)	No	pedal	reserve	with	engine	running	except	
by	pumping	pedal.		
(3)	Power	assist	unit	fails	to	operate.		
(4)	Seeping	or	swelling	brake	hose(s)	under	
application of pressure.  
(5)	Missing	or	inoperative	check	valve.		
(6)	Has	any	visually	observed	leaking	hydraulic	
fluid	in	the	brake	system.		
(7)	Has	hydraulic	hose(s)	abraded	(chafed)	
through	outer	cover	to	fabric	layer.		
(8)	Fluid	lines	or	connections	leaking	restricted,	
crimped,	cracked	or	broken.		
(9)	Brake	failure	or	low	fluid	warning	light	on	
and/or inoperative.  
k.	Vacuum	Systems.	Any	vacuum	system	
which:		
(1)	Has	insufficient	vacuum	reserve	to	permit	
one	full	brake	application	after	engine	is	shut	
off.  
(2)	Has	vacuum	hose(s)	or	line(s)	restricted,	
abraded	(chafed)	through	outer	cover	to	cord	
ply,	crimped,	cracked,	broken	or	has	collapse	of	
vacuum	hose(s)	when	vacuum	is	applied.		
(3)	Lacks	an	operative	low	vacuum	warning	
device as required.  
2. Coupling Devices. 
a. Fifth Wheels.  
(1)	Mounting	to	frame.		
(a)	Any	fasteners	missing	or	ineffective.		
(b)	Any	movement	between	mounting	
components.  
(c)	Any	mounting	angle	iron	cracked	or	broken.		
(2)	Mounting	plates	and	pivot	brackets.		
(a)	Any	fasteners	missing	or	ineffective.		
(b)	Any	welds	or	parent	metal	cracked.		
(c)	More	than	38	inch	horizontal	movement	
between	pivot	bracket	pin	and	bracket.		
(d)	Pivot	bracket	pin	missing	or	not	secured.		
(3)	Sliders.		
(a)	Any	latching	fasteners	missing	or	
ineffective.  
(b)	Any	fore	or	aft	stop	missing	or	not	securely	
attached.  
(c)	Movement	more	than	38	inch	between	slider	
bracket	and	slider	base.		
(d)	Any	slider	component	cracked	in	parent	
metal or weld.  
(4)	Lower	coupler.		
(a)	Horizontal	movement	between	the	upper	and	
lower fifth wheel halves exceeds 12 inch.  
(b)	Operating	handle	not	in	closed	or	locked	
position.  
(c)	Kingpin	not	properly	engaged.		
(d)	Separation	between	upper	and	lower	coupler	
allowing light to show through from side to side.  
(e)	Cracks	in	the	fifth	wheel	plate.	Exceptions:	
Cracks	in	fifth	wheel	approach	ramps	and	
casting	shrinkage	cracks	in	the	ribs	of	the	body	
of a cast fifth wheel.  
(f)	Locking	mechanism	parts	missing,	broken,	
or deformed to the extent the kingpin is not 
securely held.  
b.	Pintle	Hooks.		
(1)	Mounting	to	frame.		
(a)	Any	missing	or	ineffective	fasteners	(a	
fastener is not considered missing if there is an 
empty	hole	in	the	device	but	no	corresponding	
hole	in	the	frame	or	vise	versa).		
(b)	Mounting	surface	cracks	extending	from	
point of attachment (e.g., cracks in the frame at 
mounting	bolt	holes).		
(c)	Loose	mounting.		
(d)	Frame	crossmember	providing	pintle	hook	
attachment cracked.  
(2)	Integrity.		
(a)	Cracks	anywhere	in	pintle	hook	assembly.		
(b)	Any	welded	repairs	to	the	pintle	hook.		
(c)	Any	part	of	the	horn	section	reduced	by	
more	than	20%.		
(d)	Latch	insecure.		
c.	Drawbar/Towbar	Eye.		
(1)	Mounting.		
(a)	Any	cracks	in	attachment	welds.		
(b)	Any	missing	or	ineffective	fasteners.		
(2)	Integrity.		
(a)	Any	cracks.		
(b)	Any	part	of	the	eye	reduced	by	more	than	
20%.		
d.	Drawbar/Towbar	Tongue.		
(1)	Slider	(power	or	manual).		
(a)	Ineffective	latching	mechanism.		
(b)	Missing	or	ineffective	stop.		
(c)	Movement	of	more	than	14	inch	between	
slider and housing.  

(d)	Any	leaking,	air	or	hydraulic	cylinders,	
hoses,	or	chambers	(other	than	slight	oil	
weeping	normal	with	hydraulic	seals).		
(2)	Integrity.		
(a)	Any	cracks.		
(b)	Movement	of	14	inch	between	subframe	and	
drawbar	at	point	of	attachment.		
e.	Safety	Devices.		
(1)	Safety	devices	missing.		
(2)	Unattached	or	incapable	of	secure	
attachment.  
(3)	Chains	and	hooks.		
(a)	Worn	to	the	extent	of	a	measurable	reduction	
in link cross section.  
(b)	Improper	repairs	including	welding,	wire,	
small	bolts,	rope	and	tape.		
(4)	Cable.		
(a)	Kinked	or	broken	cable	strands.		
(b)	Improper	clamps	or	clamping.		
f.	Saddle	Mounts.		
(1)	Method	of	attachment.		
(a)	Any	missing	or	ineffective	fasteners.		
(b)	Loose	mountings.		
(c)	Any	cracks	or	breaks	in	a	stress	or	load	
bearing	member.		
(d)	Horizontal	movement	between	upper	and	
lower saddle mount halves exceeds 14 inch.  
3. Exhaust System. 
a.	Any	exhaust	system	determined	to	be	leaking	
at	a	point	forward	of	or	directly	below	the	
driver/sleeper compartment.  
b.	A	bus	exhaust	system	leaking	or	discharging	
to	the	atmosphere:		
(1)	Gasoline	powered	--	excess	of	6	inches	
forward	of	the	rearmost	part	of	the	bus.		
(2)	Other	than	gasoline	powered	--	in	excess	of	
15	inches	forward	of	the	rearmost	part	of	the	
bus.		
(3)	Other	than	gasoline	powered	--	forward	of	a	
door	or	window	designed	to	be	opened.	
(Exception:	emergency	exits).		
c. No part of the exhaust system of any motor 
vehicle	shall	be	so	located	as	would	be	likely	to	
result	in	burning,	charring,	or	damaging	the	
electrical wiring, the fuel supply, or any 
combustible	part	of	the	motor	vehicle.		
4. Fuel System. 
a.	A	fuel	system	with	a	visible	leak	at	any	point.		
b.	A	fuel	tank	filler	cap	missing.		
c. A fuel tank not securely attached to the motor 
vehicle	by	reason	of	loose,	broken	or	missing	
mounting	bolts	or	brackets	(some	fuel	tanks	use	
springs	or	rubber	bushings	to	permit	
movement).		
5. Lighting Devices. 
All	lighting	devices	and	reflectors	required	by	
Section 393 shall	be	operable.		
6. Safe loading. 
a.	Part(s)	of	vehicle	or	condition	of	loading	such	
that the spare tire or any part of the load or 
dunnage can fall onto the roadway.  
b.	Protection	Against	Shifting	Cargo	--Any	
vehicle without a front end structure or 
equivalent device as required.  
7. Steering Mechanism. 
a.	Steering	Wheel	Free	Play	(on	vehicles	
equipped with power steering the engine must 
be	running)		
STEERING WHEEL FREE PLAY  
(on vehicles equipped with power steering the 
engine	must	be	running).		
Steering	wheel	
diameter  

Manual  
steering system 

Power  
steering 
system  

16"		 2"		 4½"		
18"		 2¼"		 4¾"		
20"		 2½"		 5¼"		
22"		 2¾"		 5¾"		
b.	Steering	Column.		
(1)	Any	absence	or	looseness	of	U	bolt(s)	or	
positioning	part(s).		
(2)	Worn,	faulty	or	obviously	repair	welded	
universal	joint(s).		
(3)	Steering	wheel	not	properly	secured.		
c.	Front	Axle	Beam	and	All	Steering	
Components	Other	Than	Steering	Column.		
(1)	Any	crack(s).		
(2)	Any	obvious	welded	repair(s).		
d.	Steering	Gear	Box.		
(1)	Any	mounting	bolt(s)	loose	or	missing.		
(2)	Any	crack(s)	in	gear	box	or	mounting	
brackets.		
e. Pitman Arm. Any looseness of the pitman 
arm on the steering gear output shaft.  
f.	Power	Steering.	Auxiliary	power	assist	
cylinder loose.  
g.	Ball	and	Socket	Joints.		
(1)	Any	movement	under	steering	load	of	a	stud	
nut.  
(2)	Any	motion,	other	than	rotational,	between	
any	linkage	member	and	it's	attachment	point	of	
more	than	¼	inch.		
h.	Tie	Rods	and	Drag	Links.		
(1)	Loose	clamp(s)	or	clamp	bolt(s)	on	tie	rods	
or drag links.  
(2)	Any	looseness	in	any	threaded	joint.		
i.	Nuts.	Nut(s)	loose	or	missing	on	tie	rods	
pitman arm, drag link, steering arm or tie rod 
arm.  
j.	Steering	System.	Any	modification	or	other	
condition that interferes with free movement of 
any steering component.  
8. Suspension. 
a.	Any	U	bolt(s),	spring	hanger(s),	or	other	axle	
positioning	part(s)	cracked,	broken,	loose	or	
missing resulting in shifting of an axle from its 
normal position. (After a turn, lateral axle 
displacement is normal with some suspensions. 
Forward or rearward operation in a straight line 
will	cause	the	axle	to	return	to	alignment).		
b.	Spring	Assembly.		
(1)	Any	leaves	in	a	leaf	spring	assembly	broken	
or missing.  

(2)	Any	broken	main	leaf	in	a	leaf	spring	
assembly.	(Includes	assembly	with	more	than	
one	main	spring).		
(3)	Coil	spring	broken.		
(4)	Rubber	spring	missing.		
(5)	One	or	more	leaves	displaced	in	a	manner	
that	could	result	in	contact	with	a	tire,	rim,	brake	
drum or frame.  
(6)	Broken	torsion	bar	spring	in	a	torsion	bar	
suspension.  
(7)	Deflated	air	suspension,	i.e.,	system	failure,	
leak, etc.  
c.	Torque,	Radius	or	Tracking	Components.	
Any part of a torque, radius or tracking 
component	assembly	or	any	part	used	for	
attaching the same to the vehicle frame or axle 
that	is	cracked,	loose,	broken	or	missing.	(Does	
not	apply	to	loose	bushings	in	torque	or	track	
rods.)		
9. Frame 
a.	Frame	Members.		
(1)	Any	cracked,	broken,	loose,	or	sagging	
frame	member.		
(2)	Any	loose	or	missing	fasteners	including	
fasteners attaching functional component such 
as engine, transmission, steering gear, 
suspension,	body	parts,	and	fifth	wheel.		
b.	Tire	and	Wheel	Clearance.	Any	condition,	
including	loading,	that	causes	the	body	or	frame	
to	be	in	contact	with	a	tire	or	any	part	of	the	
wheel	assemblies		
c.	(1)	Adjustable	Axle	Assemblies	(Sliding	
Subframes).	Adjustable	axle	assembly	with	
locking pins missing or not engaged.  
10. Tires. 
a. Any tire on any steering axle of a power unit.  
(1)	With	less	than	432	inch	tread	when	
measured	at	any	point	on	a	major	tread	groove.		
(2)	Has	body	ply	or	belt	material	exposed	
through the tread or sidewall.  
(3)	Has	any	tread	or	sidewall	separation.		
(4)	Has	a	cut	where	the	ply	or	belt	material	is	
exposed.  
(5)	Labeled	"Not	for	Highway	Use"	or	
displaying other marking which would exclude 
use on steering axle.  
(6)	A	tube	type	radial	tire	without	radial	tube	
stem markings. These markings include a red 
band	around	the	tube	stem,	the	word	"radial"	
embossed	in	metal	stems,	or	the	word	"radial"	
molded	in	rubber	stems.		
(7)	Mixing	bias	and	radial	tires	on	the	same	
axle.  
(8)	Tire	flap	protrudes	through	valve	slot	in	rim	
and touches stem.  
(9)	Regrooved	tire	except	motor	vehicles	used	
solely	in	urban	or	suburban	service	(see	
exception	in	§393.75(e).		
(10)	Boot,	blowout	patch	or	other	ply	repair.		
(11)	Weight	carried	exceeds	tire	load	limit.	This	
includes overloaded tire resulting from low air 
pressure.  
(12)	Tire	is	flat	or	has	noticeable	(e.g.,	can	be	
heard	or	felt)	leak.		
(13)	Any	bus	equipped	with	recapped	or	
retreaded	tire(s).		
(14)	So	mounted	or	inflated	that	it	comes	in	
contact with any part of the vehicle.  
b.	All	tires	other	than	those	found	on	the	
steering	axle	of	a	power	unit:		
(1)	Weight	carried	exceeds	tire	load	limit.	This	
includes overloaded tire resulting from low air 
pressure.  
(2)	Tire	is	flat	or	has	noticeable	(e.g.,	can	be	
heard	or	felt)	leak.		
(3)	Has	body	ply	or	belt	material	exposed	
through the tread or sidewall.  
(4)	Has	any	tread	or	sidewall	separation.		
(5)	Has	a	cut	where	ply	or	belt	material	is	
exposed.  
(6)	So	mounted	or	inflated	that	it	comes	in	
contact with any part of the vehicle. (This 
includes	a	tire	that	contacts	its	mate.)		
(7)	Is	marked	"Not	for	highway	use"	or	
otherwise marked and having like meaning.  
(8)	With	less	than	232	inch	tread	when	
measured	at	any	point	on	a	major	tread	groove.		
11. Wheels and Rims. 
a.	Lock	or	Side	Ring.	Bent,	broken,	cracked,	
improperly seated, sprung or mismatched 
ring(s).		
b.	Wheels	and	Rims.	Cracked	or	broken	or	has	
elongated	bolt	holes.		
c.	Fasteners	(both	spoke	and	disc	wheels).	Any	
loose,	missing,	broken,	cracked,	stripped	or	
otherwise ineffective fasteners.  
d. Welds.  
(1)	Any	cracks	in	welds	attaching	disc	wheel	
disc to rim.  
(2)	Any	crack	in	welds	attaching	tubeless	
demountable	rim	to	adapter.		
(3)	Any	welded	repair	on	aluminum	wheel(s)	on	
a steering axle.  
(4)	Any	welded	repair	other	than	disc	to	rim	
attachment	on	steel	disc	wheel(s)	mounted	on	
the steering axle.  
12. Windshield Glazing. 
(Not	including	a	2	inch	border	at	the	top,	a	1	
inch	border	at	each	side	and	the	area	below	the	
topmost	portion	of	the	steering	wheel.)	Any	
crack, discoloration or vision reducing matter 
except:	(1)	coloring	or	tinting	applied	at	time	of	
manufacture;	(2)	any	crack	not	over	14	inch	
wide,	if	not	intersected	by	any	other	crack;	(3)	
any damaged area not more than 34 inch in 
diameter, if not closer than 3 inches to any other 
such	damaged	area;	(4)	labels,	stickers,	
decalcomania,	etc.	(see	§393.60	for	exceptions).		
13. Windshield Wipers. 
Any power unit that has an inoperative wiper, or 
missing or damaged parts that render it 
ineffective.  
Comparison of Appendix G, and the new North 
American Uniform Driver Vehicle Inspection 
Procedure (North American Commercial 

Vehicle Critical Safety Inspection Items and Out 
Of Service Criteria) 
The	vehicle	portion	of	the	FHWA's	North	
American	Uniform	Driver	Vehicle	Inspection	
Procedure	(NAUD	VIP)	requirements,	CVSA's	
North	American	Commercial	Vehicle	Critical	
Safety	Inspection	Items	and	Out	Of	Service	
Criteria	and	Appendix	G	of	subchapter	B	are	
similar documents and follow the same 
inspection procedures. The same items are 
required	to	be	inspected	by	each	document.	
FHWA's	and	CVSA's	out	of	service	criteria	are	
intended	to	be	used	in	random	roadside	
inspections to identify critical vehicle inspection 
items and provide criteria for placing a 
vehicle(s)	out	of	service.	A	vehicle(s)	is	placed	
out	of	service	only	when	by	reason	of	its	
mechanical condition or loading it is determined 
to	be	so	imminently	hazardous	as	to	likely	cause	
an	accident	or	breakdown,	or	when	such	
condition(s)	would	likely	contribute	to	loss	of	
control	of	the	vehicle(s)	by	the	driver.	A	certain	
amount	of	flexibility	is	given	to	the	inspecting	
official whether to place the vehicle out of 
service	at	the	inspection	site	or	if	it	would	be	
less hazardous to allow the vehicle to proceed to 
a repair facility for repair. The distance to the 
repair	facility	must	not	exceed	25	miles.	The	
roadside type of inspection, however, does not 
necessarily	mean	that	a	vehicle	has	to	be	defect	
free in order to continue in service.  
In contrast, the Appendix G inspection 
procedure	requires	that	all	items	required	to	be	
inspected	are	in	proper	adjustment,	are	not	
defective and function properly prior to the 
vehicle	being	placed	in	service.		
Differences Between the Out Of Service Criteria 
& FHWA's Annual Inspection 
1. Brake System. 
The	Appendix	G	criteria	rejects	vehicles	with	
any	defective	brakes,	any	air	leaks,	etc.	The	out	
of	service	criteria	allows	20%	defective	brakes	
on non steering axles and a certain latitude on 
air	leaks	before	placing	a	vehicle	out	of	service.	
2. Coupling Devices. 
Appendix	G	rejects	vehicles	with	any	fifth	
wheel mounting fastener missing or ineffective. 
The	out	of	service	criteria	allows	up	to	20%	
missing or ineffective fasteners on frame 
mountings	and	pivot	bracket	mountings	and	
25%	on	sliderlatching	fasteners.	The	out	of	
service criteria also allows some latitude on 
cracked welds.  
3.	Exhaust	System.		
Appendix	G	follows	Section	393.83 verbatim.	
The	CVSA	out	of	service	criteria	allows	
vehicles to exhaust forward of the dimensions 
given	in	Section	393.83 as long as the exhaust 
does not leak or exhaust under the chassis.  
4. Fuel System. 
Same	for	Appendix	G	and	the	out	of	service	
criteria.  
5. Lighting Devices. 
Appendix G requires all lighting devices 
required	by	section	393 to	be	operative	at	all	
times. The out of service criteria only requires 
one stop light and functioning turn signals on 
the	rear	most	vehicle	of	a	combination	vehicle	
to	be	operative	at	all	times.	In	addtion	one	
operative head lamp and tail lamp are required 
during the hours of darkness.  
6. Safe Loading. 
Same	for	both	Appendix	G	and	the	out	of	
service criteria.  
7. Steering Mechanism. 
Steering	lash	requirements	of	Appendix	G	
follows the new requirements of §393.209 .
8. Suspension. 
Appendix G follows the new requirements of 
§393.207 which	does	not	allow	any	broken	
leaves	in	a	leaf	spring	assembly.	The	out	of	
service	criteria	allows	up	to	25%	broken	or	
missing	leaves	before	being	placed	out	of	
service.  
9. Frame. 
The out of service criteria allows a certain 
latitude	in	frame	cracks	before	placing	a	vehicle	
out of service. Appendix G follows the new 
requirements of §393.201 which does not allow 
any frame cracks.  
10. Tires. 
Appendix G follows the requirements of 
§393.75 which requires a tire tread depth of 432 
inch on power unit steering axles and 232 inch 
on all other axles. The out of service criteria 
only requires 232 inch tire tread depth on power 
unit steering axles and 132 inch on all other 
axles.  
11. Wheel and Rims. 
The out of service criteria allows a certain 
amount latitude for wheel and rim cracks and 
missing or defective fasteners. Appendix G 
meets the requirements of the new §393.205 
which does not allow defective wheels and rims 
non	effective	nuts	and	bolts.		
12. Windshield Glazing. 
The out of service criteria places in a restricted 
service condition any vehicle that has a crack or 
discoloration in the windshield area lying within 
the sweep of the wiper on the drivers side and 
does not address the remaining area of the 
windshield. Appendix G addresses requirements 
for the whole windshield as specified in §393.60 
13. Windshield Wipers. 
Appendix	G	requires	windshield	wipers	to	be	
operative at all times. The out of service criteria 
only requires that the windshield wiper on the 
driver's	side	to	be	inspected	during	inclement	
weather.  
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I,                                                                      ,  hereby certify that I am knowledgeable in the requirements for 
performing an annual vehicle inspection and I can identify defective components in compliance with the regula-
tions of the U.S. Department of Transportation for annual vehicle inspections contained in 49 CFR Part 396 Ap-
pendix G.  I hereby agree to comply with all such regulations governing annual vehicle inspections.

A qualified inspector must meet one or more of the following requirements.  Please check those applicable.

                   Successfully completed a state or federal sponsored training program, which qualifies me to perform 	
	 a commercial vehicle safety inspection.

          	 One year of training and/or experience in truck manufacturer of similar commercially                       	
	 sponsored training designed to train in truck operation and maintenance.

	 One year experience as a mechanic or inspector in a motor carrier maintenance program.

	 One year experience as a mechanic or inspector in truck maintenance at a commercial garage, fleet 	
	 leasing company, or similar facility.

	 One year experience as a commercial vehicle inspector for a state, provincial or federal government.

                                                                                            
Signature of Mechanic/Inspector

I,                                                                                , hereby certify that                                                  has met 
the requirements for a qualified inspector to perform the annual vehicle inspection in compliance with the regu-
lations of the U.S. Department of Transportation for qualified inspectors contained in 49 CFR Section 396.19.

Dated this                    day of                               , 20                 .

                                                                                                      
 Signature of Owner/Supervisor

Periodic Inspector Qualification
Certification
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I,                                                                                , hereby certify that I am knowledgeable and understand 
the requirements for performing the brake service or inspection task and I can identify the defective compo-
nents in compliance with the regulations of the U.S. Department of Transportation for brake service or in-
spection tasks contained in 49 CFR Part 396 Appendix G.  I hereby agree to comply with all such regulations 
governing the annual brake service and inspection tasks.

A qualified inspector must meet one or more of the following requirements.  Please check those applicable.

 	 Has successfully completed an apprenticeship program sponsored by a State, Canadian                    	
	 province, Federal Agency or a labor union.
	 Has successfully completed a training program approved by a state, federal agency.
	 Has a certificate from a State or Canadian province qualifying me to perform the assigned
	 brake service or inspection task.
	 Has brake related training or experience or a combination totaling at least one year.   
            
Such training may consist of: 
	 Participation in a training program sponsored by a brake or vehicle manufacturer or similar com-	
	 mercial training program designed to train students in brake maintenance or inspection similar to 	
	 the assigned brake service or inspection tasks.
	 Experience performing brake maintenance or inspection similar to the assigned brake service or 	
	 inspection task in a motor carrier maintenance program. 
	 Experience performing brake maintenance or inspection similar to the assigned brake service or 	
	 inspection task at a commercial garage, fleet leasing company or similar facility.
	 Has passed the air brake knowledge and skills test for a Commercial Driver’s License.

						              			 
Signature of Brake Inspector

I,                                                                    , hereby certify that                                                                 has 
met the requirements for a qualified inspector to perform the brake service or inspection task in compliance 
with the regulations of the U.S. Department of Transportation for qualified inspectors contained in 49 CFR 
Section 396.25

Dated this                     day of                                     , 20            .

                         
                                                                                                       
Signature of Owner/Supervisor                                   

Brake Inspector Qualification
Certification
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Transportation of 
Hazardous Materials
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Do you transport hazardous materials?

Hazardous materials are any substances defined by 
the Secretary of Transportation as posing an unrea-
sonable risk to health and safety or property.  Most 
people recognize gasoline, propane, or dynamite as 
being hazardous materials, but did you know that 
common materials such as paint, nail polish remover, 
adhesives, cleaning compounds, hair spray, matches, 
and others may be classified as hazardous materials?  
It is important to know if you are transporting haz-
ardous materials because violations of the Hazardous 
Materials Regulations (HMR) carry civil fines of up 
to $32,500 and possible criminal penalties including 
up to five years in jail.  Hazardous materials fall into 
one of the following basic classes and divisions:

To determine if a material you are transporting is haz-
ardous, contact the shipper who provided the material 
or see the definitions of these materials in the hazard-
ous materials regulations.

What do I need to do if I transport Haz-
ardous Materials?

A motor carrier that transports a hazardous material, 
whether interstate or intrastate, must comply with the 
Federal Hazardous Materials Regulations, 49 CFR 
100-180.  These regulations include requirements 
including registration, training, shipping papers, 
labels, placards, and packages.  In addition, there are 
additional requirements in the Federal Motor Carrier 
Safety Regulations, which include insurance require-
ments, operational restrictions, commercial driver’s li-
cense endorsements, routing, parking, and attendance 
requirements for hazardous materials.  

Transportation of Hazardous Materials

Explosives 1.1	      Non-Flammable Gas, 2.2	 Organic Peroxide, 5.2
Explosives 1.2	      Poison Gas, 2.3	 Poison Liquid or Solid, 6.1
Explosives 1.3	      Flammable & Combustible Liquids, 3     	 Infectious Substance, 6.2
Explosives 1.4	      Flammable Solids, 4.1	 Radioactive, 7
Explosives 1.5	      Spontaneously Combustible, 4.2	 Corrosive, 8
Explosives 1.6	      Dangerous When Wet, 4.3	 Miscellaneous, 9
Flammable Gas 2.1	      Oxidizer, 5.1	 Consumer Commodities, ORM-D

What Are the Fees Associated With Trans-
porting Hazardous Materials?

For those registrants not qualifying as a small busi-
ness or not-for profit organization, PHMSA is increas-
ing the annual fee from $975 (plus a $25 administra-
tive fee) to $2,575 (plus a $25 administrative fee) for 
registration year 2010–2011 and following years. Reg-
istration is available on line at the following website:  
www.phmsa.dot.gov

Effective date of this final rule is April 29, 2010.
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Introduction

The purpose of this training is to ensure that each 
hazmat employer trains its hazmat employees 
regarding safe loading, unloading, handling, storing 
and transporting of hazardous materials and emer-
gency preparedness for responding to accidents or 
incidents involving the transportation of hazardous 
materials.

Definitions

Hazmat Employer:

A.	 A person who employs or uses at least one 		
	 hazmat employee on a full-time, part-time, or 	
	 temporary basis; 
B.	 A person who is self-employed (including an 	
	 owner-operator of a motor vehicle, vessel, or 		
	 aircraft) transporting materials in commerce;
C.	 A department, agency, or instrumentality of 		
	 the United States Government, or an author-	 	
	 ity of a State, political subdivision of a State, or 	
	 an Indian tribe; and who:
n	 Transports hazardous materials in commerce;
n	 Causes hazardous material to be transported or 	
	 shipped in commerce; or
n	 Designs, manufactures, fabricates, inspects, 		
	 marks, maintains, reconditions, repairs or 		
	 tests a package, container, or packaging compo-	
	 nent that is represented, marked, certified, or 	
	 sold by that person as qualified for use in trans-	
	 porting hazardous materials in commerce;
n	 Representing, marking, certifying, selling, of-	
	 fering, reconditioning, testing, repairing, or 		
	 modifying containers, drums, or packagings as 	
	 qualified for use in the transportation of hazard-	
	 ous materials.

Hazmat Employee:

A.	 A person employed on a full-time, part-time, 	
	 or temporary basis by a hazmat employer and 	
	 in the course of such employment directly af-	
	 fects hazardous materials transportation safety.  
B.	 Self-employed (including an owner-operator 		
	 of a motor vehicle, vessel, or aircraft) transport-	
	 ing hazardous materials in commerce and in 		

	 the course of such self-employment directly 		
	 affects hazardous materials transportation safety.
C.	 A railroad signalman; or
D.	 A railroad maintenance-of-way employee who:
n	 Loads, unloads, or handles hazardous materials;
n	 Designs, manufactures, fabricates, inspects, 		
	 marks, maintains, reconditions, repairs or tests a 	
	 package, container, or packaging component that 	
	 is represented, marked, certified, or sold as 	 	
	 qualified for use in transporting hazardous mate-	
	 rial in commerce;
n	 Prepares hazardous materials for transportation;
n	 Is responsible for safety of transporting hazardous 	
	 materials;
n	 Operates a vehicle used to transport hazardous 	
	 materials.

Examples of who will be required to be trained 
are:	
n	 A person determining if a material is a hazardous 	
	 material;
n	 A person who designs, produces and/or sells a 	
	 packaging for hazardous materials;
n	 A person determining proper packaging for a haz-	
	 ardous material;
n	 A person who puts the hazardous material in the 	
	 package;
n	 A person who marks and labels the package;
n	 A person who fills out shipping papers;
n	 A person who loads or unloads hazardous materi-	
	 als;
n	 A person who moves the packaging in a ware-	
	 house during the course of transportation;
n	 A person who operates a vehicle transporting the 	
	 material;
n	 A railroad signalman; or
n	 A railroad maintenance-of-way employee.

Hazmat Training
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Training for a hazmat employee must be completed 
within 90 days after employment.  Each hazmat 
employee must again receive the required training at 
least once every three years.

Training Requirements

Four/*Five Categories of training for highway mode:

n	 General Awareness/Familiarization Training
	 Each hazmat employee shall be provided general 	
	 awareness/familiarization training designed 		
	 to provide familiarity with the requirements of this 	
	 subchapter, and to enable the employee to recog-	
	 nize and identify hazardous materials consistent 	
	 with the hazard communication standards of this 	
	 subchapter.  
n	 Function Specific Training 
	 Each hazmat employee shall be provided function-	
	 specific training concerning requirements of this 	
	 subchapter, or exemptions issued under subchapter 	
	 A of this chapter, which are specifically applicable 	
	 to the functions the employee performs.
n	 Safety Training 
	 Each hazmat employee shall receive safety training 	
	 concerning-  
	 (i) Emergency response information required by 	
	 subpart G of Part 172;  
	 (ii) Measures to protect the employee from the 	
	 hazards associated with hazardous materials to 	
	 which they may be exposed in the work place, 	
	 including specific measures the hazmat employer 	
	 has implemented to protect employees from expo-	
	 sure; and  
	 (iii) Methods and procedures for avoiding ac-		
	 cidents, such as the proper procedures for handling 	
	 packages containing hazardous materials.  
n	 Security Awareness Training
	 Each hazmat employee must receive training that 	
	 provides an awareness of security risks associated 	
	 with hazardous materials transportation and meth-	
	 ods designed to enhance transportation security. 	
	 This training must also include a component cover-	
	 ing how to recognize and respond to possible secu-	

Part 172
Subpart H Training

	 rity threats. New hazmat employees must receive 	
	 the security awareness training required by this 	
	 paragraph within 90 days after employment.
n	 *In-Depth Security Training (Only when re-	
	 quired to have a Security Plan, see 172.800)
	 Each hazmat employee of a person required to 	
	 have a security plan in accordance with subpart 	
	 I of this part must be trained concerning the securi-	
	 ty plan and its implementation. Security training 	
	 must include company security objectives, respon-	
	 sibilities, actions to take in the event of a security 	
	 breach, and the organizational security structure.

Initial and Recurrent Training - (To be done within 90 
days of hire.)
n	 Responsibility of Hazmat Employer.
n	 The Records Shall Include:
	 1.	 Employee’s name;
	 2.	 Training completion date;
	 3.	 Description of materials used for training;
	 4.	 Name and address of person providing training;
	 5.	 Certification that employee has been trained and 	
		  tested.

Applicability & Responsibility for Training	
n 	 Hazmat employer to ensure each of its employees 	
	 are trained.
n	 Hazmat employee cannot perform any hazardous 	
	 material function unless trained.
n	 Training may be provided by public or private 	
	 source.
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This subpart prescribes requirements for development 
and implementation of plans to address security risks 
related to the transportation of hazardous materials 
in commerce.  

Hazardous Materials Transporta-
tion Security Requirements
Subpart I – Security Plans

1.1	 Any quantity.
1.2 	 Any quantity.
1.3 	 Any quantity.
1.4 	 Placarded quantity.
1.5  	Placarded quantity.
1.6  	Placarded quantity.
2.1  	A large bulk quantity.
2.2  	A large bulk quantity of materials with an 
	 oxidizer subsidiary.

Air, refrigerated liquid, (cryogenic liquid) ........................................ 2.2 UN1003 2.2, 5.1
Air, refrigerated liquid, (cryogenic liquid) non-pressurized .......... 2.2 UN1003 2.2, 5.1
Compressed gas, oxidizing, n.o.s. ....................................................... 2.2 UN3156 2.2, 5.1
Gas, refrigerated liquid, oxidizing, n.o.s. (cryogenic liquid) ......... 2.2 UN3311 2.2, 5.1
Liquefied gas, oxidizing, n.o.s. ............................................................ 2.2 UN3157 2.2, 5.1
Nitrous oxide ........................................................................................... 2.2 UN1070 2.2, 5.1
Nitrous oxide, refrigerated liquid ........................................................ 2.2 UN2201 2.2, 5.1
Oxygen, compressed .............................................................................. 2.2 UN1072 2.2, 5.1
Oxygen, refrigerated liquid (cryogenic liquid) ................................. 2.2 UN1073 2.2, 5.1

2.3  	Any quantity.
3  	 PG I and II in a large bulk quantity.
4.1  	Placarded quantity desensitized explosives.
4.2  	PG I and II in a large bulk quantity.
4.3  	Any quantity.
5.1 	 A large bulk quantity of Division 5.1 materials in 
	 PG I and II perchlorates, ammonium nitrate, 
	 ammonium nitrate fertilizers, or ammonium 
	 nitrate emulsions or suspensions or gels.
5.2  	Any quantity of Organic peroxide, Type B, liquid 
	 or solid, temperature controlled.
6.1  	Any quantity PIH or a large bulk quantity of a 
	 material that is not a PIH.
6.2 	 CDC or USDA list of select agents.
7 	 IAEA Categories 1 & 2; HRCQ; known radion-
	 uclides in forms listed as RAM–QC by NRC; or 	
	 a quantity of uranium hexafluoride requiring 
	 placarding under §172.505(b).
8 	 PG I in a large bulk quantity.

Security Plans: 172.800

Each person who offers for transportation in com-
merce or transports in commerce one or more of 
the following hazardous materials must develop and 
adhere to a security plan for hazardous materials that 
conforms to the requirements of this subpart:

Security Plan Requirements Starting 
04/08/10

Listed below by Class/Division are the hazardous 
materials and thresholds subject to security planning 
under this final rule. The phrase ‘‘large bulk quan-
tity,’’ as used in the following table, refers to a quan-
tity greater than 6,614 pounds for solids or 792 gallons 
for liquids and gases in a single packaging such as a 
cargo tank motor vehicle, portable tank, tank car, or 
other bulk container.

Therefore, in this final rule shippers and carriers of 
oxygen and other Division 2.2 compressed gases 
with a subsidiary hazard of Division 5.1 oxidizer, in 
quantities greater than 793 gallons in a single package 

or container, are required to develop and implement 
security plans. A list of Division 2.2 oxidizing gases 
that are authorized for transportation in large bulk 
quantities is provided below. 
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Components of a Security Plan: 172.802
Every motor carrier should evaluate the level of secu-
rity and safety within their own system, including at a 
minimum the following:

General Security Information

n	 A security plan which includes: 
s	 Personnel Security 
s	 Hazardous materials and package control 
s	 En route security 
s	 Technical innovations 
s	 Management prerogatives 
s	 Communications 
s	 Reassessment based upon current conditions 
n	 Recommend that management encourage input and 	
	 participation in the development and implementa-	
	 tion of the company’s security program. 

Personnel Security

n	 Understand any employee could pose a security 	
	 risk. 
n	 Implement a method for security identification (i.e. 	
	 ID Badges). Identification should include the 		
	 employee name, the company name, the 		
	 employee’s picture, and a phone number where the 	
	 employee’s identification can be confirmed.
n	 Review the list of drivers and request the required 	
	 number of driver qualification files for review. 
n	 Comply with the investigation and inquiry require   
	 ments of 49 CFR Section 391.23. Discuss with the 	
 	 company official any additional checks made, such 
	 as criminal background checks, personal reference  	
 	 checks, credit checks, etc. 
n	 When reviewing the contents of driver qualification 	
	 files, pay particular attention to:
s	 Gaps in employment 
s	 Frequent job shifts 
s	 All names used by the applicant 
s	 Type of military discharge 
s	 Citizenship 
s	 Present and prior residence information 
s	 Personal references 
s	 Criminal history 
n	 Comply with the Immigration Reform and Con	
	 trol Act of 1986. All I-9 forms must be properly  	
	 completed and maintained for all employees. 

n	 Use face-to-face interviews of prospective employ	
 	 ees, to obtain information to help to appraise the 	
	 applicants’ personality, character, motivation, hon	
	 esty, integrity, and reliability. 
n	 Any information or suspicious activity discovered 	
	 during the review of these files should be reported 	
	 immediately to your state’s Homeland Security or   
     the state or local Department of Transportation 
     office for possible referral to a local FBI office. 

Hazardous Materials and Package 
Controls

Security enhancements that might be considered:
n	 Are the facility grounds adequately lighted? 
n	 Are hazardous materials located in a secure area? 
n	 Are transport vehicles located in a secure area?
n	 Is the access to hazardous materials limited and/or 	
	 monitored (sign-in/sign out)?
n	 Consider requiring employee identification cards/	
	 badges. 
n	 Consider other protective measures, such as, secu-	
	 rity alarms, video surveillance, security services, 	
	 etc.
n	 Consider if a guard force is appropriate (DOD 	
	 Shipments, PIH, RAM, other).
n	 Require records for removal of HM from secure 	
	 locations. 
n	 Reinforce, with employees, the importance to 	
	 remain aware of their surroundings at all times. 
n	 Recommend standard procedures for control of 	
	 HM packages, educating all employees on package 	
	 control measures. Post procedures prominently at 	
	 appropriate locations. 
n	 Know who you are dealing with, including ship-	
	 pers, receivers and vendors that service your facil-	
	 ity. 
n	 Limit and track keys/entry cards, paying special 	
	 attention to those issued to employees that are no 	
	 longer with the company.

En Route Security

n	 Avoid high population centers, including down	
	 town and/or metropolitan areas, tunnels and 		
	 bridges where possible (see 49 CFR 397.67). 
n	 Ensure that all hazardous materials are delivered 	
	 expeditiously. 
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n	 Instruct drivers to lock vehicles when in transit or 	
	 unattended. 
n	 Reinforce attendance and parking rules in 49 CFR 	
	 Part 397. 
n	 Drivers must be aware of vehicles that may be fol-	
	 lowing their truck and strangers asking inappropri-	
	 ate questions.
n	 Be suspicious of individuals asking you to stop as a 	
	 result of an alleged traffic accident. If unsure 		
	 whether the accident occurred, drive to a police 	
	 station or to a well-lit busy location before stop-	
	 ping.
n	 Be cautious about stopping to help stranded motor-	
	 ists or at accident scenes. If possible, call the State 	
	 Police instead.
n	 Do not pick up hitchhikers.
n	 Do not discuss the nature of the cargo at coffee 	
	 shops, trucks, over the CB radio, etc.
n	 Drivers must remain aware of their surroundings at 	
	 all times.
n	 Drivers should have a means to maintain com	-	
	 munication with the company, such as, cell phones, 	
	 2-way radios, CBs, satellite communication sys-	
	 tems, etc.

Technical Innovations

n	 Make yourself aware of technical innovations that 	
	 could assist in security such as cell phones, satellite 	
	 tracking, and surveillance systems. 
n	 Look at state of the art locks and seals. 
n	 Are access control systems appropriate? 
n	 Consider tamper proof locking features for fifth 	
	 wheels (so that trailers can’t be stolen). 
n	 Consider installing electronic engine controls 	
	 that require a code, in addition to a key, to start a 	
	 vehicle. 
n	 Consider theft prevention devices, steering locks, 	
	 fuel cut-off switches, electrical cut-off switches, 	
	 and other high security ignition devices. 

Management Prerogatives

n	 Include fingerprinting and photographs of appli-	
	 cants in the employment process. 
n	 Be aware of personal identity theft such as using 	

	 stolen social security numbers, references, etc. 
n	 Consider running criminal background checks. 
n	 Consider implementing security training for em-	
	 ployees that includes: 
s	 Company security objectives 
s	 Specific security procedures 
s	 Employee responsibility 
s	 Organizational security structure 

Communications

n	 Develop a communications network with others in 	
	 the industry in an effort to share information to 	
	 determine if there is a pattern of activities that, 	
	 when taken alone are not significant, but when 	
	 taken as a whole generate concern. 
n	 Develop a means of communication within the 	
	 physical plant and the vehicle (cell phones, satel-	
	 lite tracking, radios, etc.) Is the system capable of 	
	 reaching all key personnel? 
n	 Security messages should be presented to employ-	
	 ees in various methods such as newsletters, bulletin 	
	 boards, etc. 

Readjustment Based Upon Current 
Conditions

n	 Emphasize that terrorist activities tend to happen 	
	 in groups. Security should be heightened if new 	
	 attacks begin. 
n	 Increase security measures while the U.S. is in-	
	 volved in military activities in foreign countries.
n	 Increase security measures when the U.S. is at a 	
	 heightened state of alert. 

Other

n	 Suspicious activities should immediately be 
	 reported by telephone, using 311 or 911, as 
	 appropriate.

Part 177
Transportation By Highway
n    Driver Training (177.816)
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Use Of Guide
This guide is designed for In-house use when review-
ing hazardous material shipping paper requirements. 
However, this document should not be used to de-
termine compliance with the U.S. DOT Hazardous 
Materials Regulations (HMR).

1.	 Definitions

A.	 Shipping Paper - (49 CFR 171) A shipping paper 	
	 is a shipping order, bill of lading, manifest, or 	
	 other shipping document serving a similar purpose 	
	 and containing the information required by 49 	
	 CFR 182.201, 172.202 and 172.204.

B.	 The terms “dangerous goods” and “hazardous 	
	 materials” are considered synonymous.

Shipper’s Responsibility  
(49 CFR 172.200(a)) 

The person offering a hazardous material for transport 
has the responsibility to properly prepare the shipping 
paper. (See also 173.22)

A.	Contents - When describing a hazardous material 	
	 on a shipping paper, that description must conform 	
	 to the following requirements:

	 1)	 When a hazardous material and other materi-	
	 	 als are both described on the same shipping 	
		  paper, the hazardous material description en-	
	 	 tries:
	 	 a)	Must be entered first, or
	 	 b)	Must be entered in a contrasting color (or 	
			   highlighted in a contrasting color - for repro-	
	 	 	 duced 	copies of the shipping paper only), or
	 	 c)	Must be identified by the entry “X” placed 	
	 	 	 before the proper shipping name in a column 	
	 	 	 captioned “HM”. The “X” may be replaced 	
	 	 	 by “RQ” (Reportable Quantity), if appropri-	
			   ate.
	 2)	 The required shipping description on the origi-	
	 	 nal shipping paper and all copies must be leg-	
	 	 ible and printed (manually or mechanically) in 	
	 	 English.
	 3)	 The required description may not contain any 	
	 	 code of abbreviation, unless it is specifically 	

Guide For Hazardous Material
Shipping Papers

	 	 authorized or required, such as “UN”, United 	
	 	 Nations, “NA”, North America, or “Ltd. Qty.”, 	
	 	 Limited Quantity.
4)	 A shipping paper may contain additional informa-	
	 tion concerning the material provided the informa-	
	 tion is not inconsistent with the required descrip-	
	 tion. The additional information must be placed 	
	 after the basic description required by 49 CFR 	
	 172.202(a).
5)	 A copy of the shipping paper must be retained for 	
	 two years after provided to the carrier. 
	 a)  Each person who provides a shipping paper 	
	 must retain a copy of the shipping paper required 	
	 by 172.200(1), or an electronic image thereof, 	
	 that is accessible at or through its principal place 	
	 of business and must make the shipping paper 	
	 available, upon request, to an authorized official 	
	 of a Federal, State, or local government agency at 	
	 reasonable times and locations. For a hazardous 	
	 waste, the shipping paper copy must be retained 	
	 for 3 years after the initial carrier accepts the 	
	 material. For all other hazardous materials, the 	
	 shipping paper must be retained for 2 years after 	
	 the initial carrier accepts the material. Each ship-	
	 ping paper copy must include the date of accep-	
	 tance by the initial carrier, except that, for rail, 	
	 vessel, or air shipments, the date on the shipment 	
	 waybill, airbill, or bill of lading may be used in 	
	 place of the date of acceptance by the initial car-	
	 rier. 

Hazardous Materials Description  
(49 CFR 172.202)
  
The shipping description of a hazardous material on a 
shipping paper must include the following:

A.	 The identification number for the material (pre-	
	 ceded by “UN” or “NA”, as appropriate 49 CFR 	
	 172.202(a)(3)).
B.	 Proper shipping name - MAY NOT BE ABREVI-	
	 ATED (49 CFR 172.101 Hazardous Materials 	
	 Table or 172.102 Optional HMT).
C.	 The hazard class & subsidiary class or division of 	
	 the material (See 49 CFR 172.202(a)(2)).
D.	 Packing Group (If Applicable)
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G.	 Technical names for N.O.S. descriptions - See 	
	 172.203(k).
H.	Marine Pollutants - See 172.203(l).
I.	 Poisonous Materials - See 172.203(m).
J.	 Elevated Temperature Material (Hot) - see 172.325.

Carrier Responsibility - Transportation 
by Highway

A.	 Shipping Papers (49 CFR 177.817)
	 1)	 General - A carrier may not accept a hazard-	
		  ous material for transportation unless it is 	
	 	 accompanied by a shipping paper prepared 	
		  in accordance with the shipping paper require-	
	 	 ments contained in Subpart C of Part 172, 49 	
	 	 CFR 172.200, 172.201, 172.202 and 172.203.
2)	 Shipper’s Certification - See 172.204.
3)	 Accessibility of shipping papers - Each carrier and 	
	 driver of the vehicle shall ensure that the ship-	
	 ping paper is readily available for inspection and 	

E.	 The total quantity by weight (net or gross, as ap-	
	 propriate) or volume, including the unit of mea-	
	 sure, of the hazardous material, except for empty 	
	 packaging, cylinders if compressed gases, and 	
	 packaging of greater than 119 gallons capacity.
F.	 Except as otherwise provided in the regulations, 	
	 the basic description must be in the sequence 	
	 shown in the 49 CFR 172.101 Hazardous Materi-	
	 als Table. For example:  UN1090, Acetone, 3, PGII 
G.	 Alternate basic description available: “Acetone, 3, 	
	 UN1090, PG II”.
H.	 The total quantity of the material covered by one 	
	 description must appear before or after (or both 	
	 before and after) the basic description. 
	 1)	 The number and type of packages must be 	
	 	 indicated. Abbreviations may be used to speci-	
		  fy the type of packaging or units of measure. 	
	 	 ((Section 172.202(a)(6)) requires the number 	
	 	 and types of packages to be indicated on ship-	
		  ping papers. 
I.	 Technical names for N.O.S. and other generic 	
	 descriptions (172.203(k)). If the material is de-	
	 scribed on a shipping paper by one of the proper 	
	 shipping names identified by the letter “G” in 	
	 Column (1) of the 172.101 Table, the technical 	
	 name of the hazardous material must be entered 	
	 in parentheses in association with the basic de-	
	 scription as follows:  Example: “3, N.O.S., UN 	
	 1993, PGI, (Acetone)”.

Additional Description Requirements 
(49 CFR 172.203) ALL MODES

A.	 Special permits - Each shipping paper issued in 	
	 connection with shipment made under a special 	
	 permit must bear the notation “DOT-SP” followed 	
	 by the special permit number assigned and lo-	
	 cated so that the notation is clearly associated with 	
	 the description to which the special permit ap-	
	 plies. Each shipping paper issued in connection 	
	 with a shipment made under an exemption or 	
	 special permit issued prior to October 1, 2007, 	
	 may bear the notation “DOT-E” followed by the 	
	 number assigned and so located that the notation 	
	 is clearly associated with the description to which 	
	 it applies.

B.	 Place the exemption number adjacent to the 	 	
	 description to which the exemption applies. See 	
	 172.203(a).
C.	 Limited Quantities - Descriptions for materials 	
	 defined as “Limited Quantities” must include the 	
	 words “Limited Quantities” or “Ltd. Qty” follow	
	 ing the basic description. See 172.203(b).
D.	 Hazardous Substances 172.203(c)
	 1)	 If the proper shipping name (for a material that 	
	 	 is a hazardous substance) does not identify the 	
	 	 hazardous substance by name, the following 	
	 	 shall be entered, in parentheses, in association 	
	 	 with the basic description:
	 	 a)	 Name of the hazardous substance from the 	
			   Appendix to the 172.101 Hazardous Materi-	
	 	 	 als Table or 
	 	 b)	 For waste streams, the waste stream num-	
	 	 	 ber.
	 2)	 The letters “RQ” (Reportable Quantity) shall 	
	 	 be entered on the shipping paper either before 	
	 	 or after the basic description required by 49 	
	 	 CFR 172.202 for each hazardous substance.
E.	 Radioactive Materials - For additional description 	
	 requirements refer to 172.203(d).
F.	 Empty Packaging - See 49 CFR 172.203(e).
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	 recognizable by authorities in case of an accident 	
	 or for inspection:
	 a)	 Clearly distinguish the shipping paper if it is 	
		  carried with other shipping papers or other 	
	 	 papers of any kind, by either distinctively tab-	
	 	 bing it or having it appear first; and
	 b)	 Store the shipping paper as follows:
		  i.	 When the driver is at the controls of the 	
	 	 	 vehicle, within easy reach or visible 
			   to anyone entering the vehicle compart-	
	 	 	 ment; or
		  ii.	 When the driver is away from the vehicle 	
	 	 	 the shipping papers must be left on the 	
			   driver’s seat or in the door pouch on the 	
			   driver’s side.
4)	 A copy of the shipping paper must be retained for 	
	 one year after accepting the Hazardous Materials.
	 a)   A motor carrier (as defined in Sec. 390.5 of 	
	 	 subchapter B of chapter III of subtitle B) us-	
		  ing a shipping paper without change for mul-	
		  tiple shipments of one or more hazardous ma-	
		  terials having the same shipping name and 	
	 	 identification number may retain a single copy 	
		  of the shipping paper, instead of a copy for 	
		  each shipment made, if the carrier also retains 	
		  a record of each shipment made, to include 	
	 	 shipping name, identification number, quantity 	
		  transported, and date of shipment.

Emergency Response Information 
Requirements (172.201(D), Subpart G, 172.600)

A.	 Emergency response information (172.602)
	 1)	 “Emergency response information” means 	
	 	 information that can be used in the mitigation 	
		  of an incident involving hazardous materials 	
		  and, as a minimum, must contain the following 	
	 	 information:
	 	 a)	 The basic description and technical name of 	
	 	 	 the hazardous material;
	 	 b)	 Immediate hazards to health; 
	 	 c)	 Risk of fire or explosion;
	 	 d)	 immediate precautions to be taken in the 	
	 	 	 event of an accident or incident;
	 	 e)	 Immediate methods for handling fires;
	 	 f)	 Initial methods for handling spills or leaks 	
	 	 	 in the absence of fire; and

	 	 g)	 Preliminary first aid measures.
	 2)	 Form of information. The emergency response 	
	 	 information must be:
	 	 a)	 Printed legibly in English;
	 	 b)	 Available for use away from package con-	
	 	 	 taining the hazardous material; and
	 	 c)	 Presented with or on the shipping paper.
	 3)	 Maintenance of information - Emergency re-	
	 	 sponse information shall be maintained as fol-	
	 	 lows:
	 	 a)	 Carriers - Each carrier who transports a 	
			   hazardous material shall maintain the 		
			   emergency response information in the 	
	 	 	 same manner as prescribed for shipping 	
			   papers.
	 	 b)	 Facility operators - Each operator of a 	
			   facility where a hazardous material is re-	
			   ceived, stored or handled during transpor-	
			   tation, shall maintain the emergency re-	
			   sponse information whenever the haz-		
			   ardous material is present, and the in-		
	 	 	 formation must be accessible to facility 	
			   personnel in the event of an incident in-	
			   volving the hazardous materials.

B.	 Emergency response telephone number (172.604)
	 1)	 A person who offers a hazardous material for 	
		  transportation must provide a 24-hour emer-	
	 	 gency response telephone number, includ	 -	
		  ing the area code, for use in the event of an 	
		  emergency involving the hazardous materials. 	
	 	 The telephone number must be:
	 	 a)	 Monitored at all times the hazardous mate-	
			   rial is in transportation, including storage 	
	 	 	 incidental to transportation;
	 	 b)	 The number of a person who is either 		
	 	 	 knowledgeable of the hazards and charac-	
	 	 	 teristics of the hazardous material being 	
			   shipped and has comprehensive emergency 	
			   response and incident mitigation informat-	
			   ion for that material, or has immediate ac-	
			   cess to a person who possesses such knowl-	
	 	 	 edge and information; and
	 	 c)	 Entered on a shipping paper, as follows:
			   i. 	 Immediately following the description 	
	 	 	 	 of 	a hazardous material; or
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Use Of Guide 
This guide is designed for in-house use when 
reviewing hazardous materials placarding require-
ments.  However, this document should not be 
used to determine compliance with the U.S. DOT 
Hazardous Materials Regulations (HMR).

Guide For Placards

Table 2
Category	 Placard Name
1.4	 Explosive 1.4
1.5	 Explosive 1.5
1.6	 Explosive 1.6
2.1	 Flammable Gas
2.2	 Non-Flammable Gas
3	 Flammable
Combustible Liquid	 Combustible
4.1	 Flammable Solid
4.2	 Spontaneous Combustible
5.1	 Oxidizer
5.2	 Organic Peroxide
6.1 (PG I or II, other than 	 Poison
      Zone A or B inhalation 
      hazard) 
6.1 (PG III)                      	 Keep Away from Food
6.2	 None
8	 Corrosive
9	 Class 9
ORM D	 None

Note:  For details on the uses of Tables 1 and 2, see 
Section 172.504. For placarding transition chart, see 
Section 171.14

Table 1
Category	 Placard Name
1.1                                          	 Explosive 1.1
1.2                                            	 Explosive 1.2
1.3                                            	 Explosive 1.3
2.3                                        	 Poison Gas
4.3                                            	 Dangerous When Wet
5.2   	 Organic Peroxide

6.1   	 Poison Inhalation
 	 Hazard
7  	 Radioactive

(Type B Temperature 
Controled)
(Inhalation Hazard 
Zone A or B)
(Radioactive yellow 
III label only)

	 	 	 ii.  Entered once on the shipping paper in a clearly visible 	
	 	 	 location. It must be indicated that telephone number is 	
	 	 	 for emergency response information (for example:  
	 	 	 “EMERGENCY CONTACT:”***).
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1.	 Guidelines
A.	 Placard any transport vehicle, freight container, or 	
	 rail car containing any quantity of material listed 	
	 in Table 1.
B.	 Materials, which are shipped in bulk packages, 	
	 such as portable tanks, cargo tanks, or tank cars, 	
	 must be placarded when they contain any quan-	
	 tity of Table 1 and/or Table 2 material.
C.	 Motor vehicles or freight containers containing 	
	 packages which are subject to the “Poison-Inha-	
	 lation Hazard” shipping paper description of 		
	 Section 172.203(k)(4), must be placarded POI-	
	 SON in addition to the placards required by Sec-	
	 tion 172.504 (see Section 172.505).
D.	 When the gross weight of all hazardous mate	-	
	 rial covered in Table 2 is less than 1001 pounds, 	
	 no placard is required on a transport vehicle or 	
	 freight container.

2.	 Additional Placarding Guidelines
A.	 A transport vehicle or freight container contain-	
	 ing two or more classes of material requiring 
	 dif	ferent placards specified in Table 2 may be 	
	 placarded DANGEROUS in place of the separate -	
	 placards specified for each of those classes of 	
	 material specified in Table 2. However, when 2205 	
	 pounds or more of one class of material is loaded 	
	 therein at one loading facility, the placard speci-	
	 fied for that class must be applied. This excep-	
	 tion, provided in Section 172.504(b) does not  
	 apply to portable tanks, tank cars, or cargo tanks.
	 CAUTION:  Check each shipment for compliance 	
	 with the appropriate hazardous materials regula-	
	 tions - Proper Classification, Packaging, Marking, 	
	 Labeling, Placarding Documentation - prior to of-	
	 fering shipment.

Materials of Trade means a hazardous material, 
other than a hazardous waste, that is carried on a mo-
tor vehicle —

n	 For the purpose of protecting the health and safety 	
	 of the motor vehicle operator or passengers
n	 For the purpose of supporting the operation or 	
	 maintenance of a motor vehicle (including its aux-	
	 iliary equipment) or
n	 By a private motor carrier (including vehicles 	
	 operated by a rail carrier) in direct support 
	 of a principal business that is other than transpor-	
	 tation by motor vehicle

173.6	  Materials of Trade Exceptions

When transported by motor vehicle in conformance 
with this section, a materials of trade is not subject 
to any other requirements of this subchapter besides 
those set forth or referenced in this section.

(A)	 Materials and Amounts 

A materials of trade is limited to the following:
(1)	A Class 3, 8, 9, Division 4.1, 5.1, 5.2, 6.1, or ORM-	
	 D material contained in a packaging having a 	
	 gross mass or capacity not over—
	 (i)		 0.5 kg (1 pound) or 0.5 L (1 pint) for a Pack-	
	 	 	 ing Group I material;
	 (ii)	 30 kg (66 pounds) or 30 L (8 gallons) for a 	
			   Packing Group II, Packing Group III, or 	
	 	 	 ORMD material;
	 (iii)	 1500 L (400 gallons) for a diluted mixture, 	
			   not to exceed 2 percent concentration, of a 	
	 	 	 Class 9 material.
(2)	A Division 2.1 or 2.2 material in a cylinder with 	
	 a gross weight not over 100 kg (220 pounds), or 	
	 a permanently mounted tank manufactured to 	
	 ASME standards of not more than 70 gallon water 	
	 capacity for a non-liquefied Division 2.2 material 	
	 with no subsidiary hazard.
(3)	A Division 4.3 material in Packing Group II or III 	
	 contained in a packaging having a gross capacity 	
	 not exceeding 30 ml (1 ounce).
(4)	This section does not apply to a hazardous mate-	
	 rial that is self-reactive (see 173.124), poisonous by 	
	 inhalation (see 173.133), or a hazardous waste.

Materials Of Trade 
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(4)	The operator of a motor vehicle that contains a 	
	 materials of trade must be informed of the pres-	
	 ence of the hazardous material (including whether 	
	 the package contains a reportable quantity) and 	
	 must be informed of the requirements of this sec-	
	 tion.

(D)	  Aggregate Gross Weight

Except for a materials of trade authorized by para-
graph (a)(1)(iii) of this section, the aggregate gross 
weight of all materials of trade on a motor vehicle may 
not exceed 200 kg (440 pounds).

(E)	 Other Exceptions  

A materials of trade may be transported on a motor 
vehicle under the provisions of this section with other 
hazardous materials without affecting its eligibility for 
exceptions provided by this section.

The HM Safety Permitting Program requires carriers 
of certain hazardous materials to hold an HM Safety 
Permit issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety 
Administration. Federal hazardous material trans-
portation law, 49 U.S.C. 5101 et seq., was enacted “to 
provide adequate protection against the risks to life 
and property inherent in the transportation of hazard-
ous material in commerce ...”.

What Hazardous Materials Require An HM Safety 
Permit? 
The following hazardous materials carried in these 
quantity amounts will require an HM Safety Permit: 
1.	 Radioactive Materials: A highway route-controlled 	
	 quantity of Class 7 material, as defined in 173.403 	
	 of 49 CFR.
2.	Explosives: More than 25kg (55 pounds) of a Divi-	
	 sion 1.1, 1.2 or 1.3 material, or an amount of a Divi-	
	 sion 1.5 material requiring a placard under Part 172 	
	 Subpart F of 49 CFR.
3.	Toxic by Inhalation Materials: 
	 Hazard Zone A: More that one liter (1.08 quarts) 	

Hazardous Materials (HM) 
Safety Permits

(B)	 Packaging 

(1)	Packaging must be leak tight for liquids and gases, 	
	 sift proof for solids, and be securely closed, se-	
	 cured against movement, and protected against 	
	 damage.
(2)	Each material must be packaged in the manufac-	
	 turer’s original packaging, or a packaging of equal 	
	 or greater strength and integrity.
(3)	Outer packagings are not required for receptacles 	
	 (e.g., cans and bottles) that are secured against 	
	 movement in cages, carts, bins, boxes or compart-	
	 ments.
(4)	For gasoline, a packaging must be made of 	 	
	 metal or plastic and conform to the requirements 	
	 of this subchapter or to the requirements of the 	
	 Ocupational Safety and Health Administration 	
	 of the Department of Labor contained in 29 CFR 	
	 1910.106(d)(2) or 1926.152(a)(1).
(5)	A cylinder or other pressure vessel containing a 	
	 Division 2.1 or 2.2 material must conform to pack-	
	 aging, qualification, maintenance, and use require-	
	 ments of this subchapter, except that outer pack-	
	 agings are not required. Manifolding of cylinders 	
	 is authorized provided all valves are tightly closed.

(C)	 Hazard Communication 

(1)	A non-bulk packaging other than a cylinder 
(including a receptacle transported without an outer 
packaging) must be marked with a common name or 
proper shipping name to identify the material it con-
tains, including the letters “RQ” if it contains a report-
able quantity of a hazardous substance.
(2)	A bulk packaging containing a diluted mixture of 
a Class 9 material must be marked on two opposing 
sides with the four-digit identification number of the 
material. The identification number must be displayed 
on placards, orange panels or, alternatively, a white 
square-on-point configuration having the same outside 
dimensions as a placard (at least 273 mm (10.8 inches) 
on a side), in the manner specified in 172.332 (b) and 
(c) of this subchapter.
(3)	A DOT specification cylinder (except DOT speci-	
	 fication 39) must be marked and labeled as pre-	
	 scribed in this subchapter.  Each DOT-39 cylinder 	
	 must display the markings specified in 178.65(i).
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	 per package of a “material poisonous by inhala-	
	 tion,” as defined in 171.8 of 49 CFR, that meets 	
	 the criteria for “hazard zone A,” as specified in 	
	 173.116(a) or 173.133(a) of 49 CFR.
	 Hazard Zone B: A “material poisonous by inhala-	
	 tion,” as defined in 171.8 of this title, that meets 	
	 the criteria for “hazard zone B,” as specified in 	
	 173.116(a) or 173.133(a) of 49 CFR in a bulk packag-	
	 ing (capacity greater than 450 L [119 gallons]). 
	 Hazard Zone C & D: A “material poisonous by 	
	 inhalation,” as defined in 171.8 of this title, that 	
	 meets the criteria for “hazard zone C,” or “hazard 	
	 zone D,” as specified in 173.116(a) of this title, in a 	
	 packaging having a capacity equal to or greater 	
	 than 13,248 L (3,500 gallons).
4.	Methane: A shipment of compressed or refrigerated 	
	 liquefied methane or liquefied natural gas or other 	
	 liquefied gas with a methane content of at least 	
	 85% in a bulk packaging having a capacity equal to 	
	 or greater than 13,248 L (3,500 gallons) for liquids 	
	 or gases. 

Do The Permitting Requirements Apply To Mate-
rials That Have Subsidiary Hazards That Fall In 
The Materials List, Even If Their Primary Hazard 
Does Not? Example: A Flammable Liquid, Class 3, 
Has A Subsidiary Poison Inhalation Hazard. 
Materials poisonous by inhalation that meet the defini-
tions in 171.8, 173.116(a) and 173.133(a) will require a 
permit regardless of other hazards the materials may 
exhibit. Materials will generally not have a subsid-
iary radioactive or explosive hazard as these hazards 
would be considered the primary hazard. Liquefied 
gases must have at least 85% methane content to 
require a permit, or meet the definitions of materials 
toxic by inhalation, explosive or radioactive. 

Are Shipments Of LPG Covered Under The HM 
Safety Permit Program? 
No. Only shipments of flammable gas containing at 
least 85% methane content are covered by the HM 
Safety Permit program.
 

Is Anhydrous Ammonia Covered Under The HM 
Safety Permit Program? 
Yes. Even though anhydrous ammonia is regulated 
domestically as a non-flammable gas, anhydrous am-
monia still meets the definition of a toxic by inhala-
tion material Hazard Zone D and is covered when 
transported in a packaging having a capacity greater 
than 13,248 L (3,500 gallons). 
When Do I Need To Have My HM Safety Permit? 
Motor carriers will be required to apply for the HM 
Safety Permit, or a Temporary HM Safety Permit, 
the next time they renew their biennial update (fil-
ing the MCS-150). For a motor carrier, such as an 
intrastate carrier, that has not filed a MCS-150 form, 
they must hold the HM Safety Permit or a Temporary 
HM Safety Permit in order to transport the permitted 
hazardous materials (HM).

How do I Apply for An HM Safety Permit?
When a motor carrier is required to submit their 
MCS-150 form, the motor carrier simply completes 
the MCS-150B form in the place of the MCS-150. 
This starts the permit application process. If a motor 
carrier has not previously submitted a MCS-150 form 
to FMCSA, then they would simply fill out the MCS-
150B to start the application process. 

Where Can I Obtain The MCS-150B Form?
Hard copies of the MCS-150B are available through 
each FMCSA District Office.
On-line applications can be completed by visiting the 
following link:  http://li-public.fmcsa.dot.gov/LIV-
IEW/PKG_REGISTRATION.prc_option. 

What Are Carriers Required To Do To Obtain 
And Keep An HM Safety Permit? 
Carriers will be required to: 
1.	Maintain a “satisfactory” safety rating in order to 	
	 obtain and hold a safety permit. 
2.	Maintain their crash rating, and their driver, ve-	
	 hicle, hazardous materials or out-of service rating 	
	 so they are not in the worse 30 percent of the na-	
	 tional average as indicated in FMCSA’s Motor Car-	
	 rier Management Information System (MCMIS). 
3.	 Have a satisfactory security program (and associ-	
	 ated training) according to 49 CFR 173.800 in 	
	 place. 
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4.	Maintain registration with PHMSA (800) 942-6990 	
	 or (617) 494-2545. 
5.	Develop a system of communication that will en-	
	 able the vehicle operator to contact the motor car-	
	 rier during the course of transportation and main-	
	 tain records of these communications. 
6.	Have written route plan required for radioactive 	
	 materials set forth in 49 CFR 397.101 and for explo-	
	 sives in Section 397.19 (currently required). 
7.	 Perform a pre-trip inspection (North American 	
	 Standard (NAS) Level VI Inspection Program for 	
	 Radioactive Shipments) for shipments containing 	
	 highway route controlled Class 7 (radioactive) ma-	
	 terials. 

Pursuant to Title 49 CFR Part 107, Subpart G (107.601 
- 107.620), certain offerors and transporters of hazard-
ous materials, including hazardous waste, are required 
to file an annual registration statement with the U.S. 
Department of Transportation and to pay a fee. The 
fee provides funds for grants distributed to States 
and Indian tribes for hazardous materials emergency 
response planning and training. This program began 
in 1992 and is administered by the Associate Admin-
istrator for Hazardous Materials Safety, Pipeline and 
Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHM-
SA).

The Instruction Brochure and Registration Form 
can be printed from the following link: http://www.
hazmat.dot.gov/. This brochure contains extensive 
information about the registration requirements. You 
can call (617) 494-2545 or (800) 942-6990 to request 
additional copies of the brochure and form or to 
inquire about the status of registrations already sub-
mitted and certificates of registration.  For questions 
concerning the program or its requirements, e-mail 
via the webpage or call (202) 366-4109. 

Required To Register?
Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Adminis-
tration (PHMSA)

Where can I get more information about 
Hazardous Materials?

There are many ways to get additional information 
about safe transportation of hazardous materials.  The 
regulations and interpretations can be found on the In-
ternet at www.hazmat.dot.gov or www.phmsa.dot.gov/
hazmat.  In addition, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety 
Administration has developed an informational book-
let titled “How to Comply with the Federal Hazardous 
Materials Regulations” as well as a Spanish/English 
bi-lingual package which contains general awareness 
training for hazardous materials.  These documents 
and more information can be found on the FMCSA 
web site at www.fmcsa.dot.gov/safetyprogs/hm.htm.  
The department also offers a hazardous materials 
information hotline at 1-800-HMR-4922.  Registration 
and other hazardous materials questions may also be 
directed to Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety 
Administration (PHMSA) at (800) 467-4922 or (847) 
294-8580 or at the above web site.

Hazardous Waste/Waste Tire

Transporters of Hazardous Waste (includes waste oil, 
combustible liquids, corrosives, poisons/toxins, flam-
mable liquids, flammable solids, PCB’s and infectious 
waste) are required to have a Hazardous Waste Trans-
porter License Certificate. Transporters of Waste Tires 
(tires that are no longer suitable for its original intend-
ed purpose because of wear, damage, or defect with 
some exceptions) are required to have a Waste Tire 
Hauler Permit. The license/permit issued is valid for 
one year. This registration program allows the state to 
insure that the environment is protected and that the 
waste is being properly disposed.  Register online @ 
www.modot.org/mcs or call (866) 831-6277. 

Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Administration 
(PHMSA)
Central Region
2300 East Devon Avenue, Suite 478
Des Plaines, IL  60018
Phone:  (847) 294-8580  Fax:  (847) 294-8590
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Farm Motor Carriers
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Motor Carriers of Agricultural 
Products

Overview
Farmers and producers are mainly concerned with the 
operation of the farm. If your operation includes
moving your commodities, products or supplies by 
commercial vehicle, you are a motor carrier in addi-
tion to being a farmer and may be subject to federal 
safety regulations. In order to determine the applica-
bility of the safety regulations, we need to consider 
the following definitions:

Definitions
Interstate commerce is trade, traffic or transporta-
tion in the United States between states, or originating 
in one state and destined in another state, or between 
two points in a state through another state, or between 
two places in a state with the origin or destination 
outside the state.

Intrastate commerce means any trade, traffic or 
transportation in any state which does not meet the 
definition of interstate commerce.

Motor carrier is a for-hire motor carrier or a private 
motor carrier.

For-hire motor carrier means a person engaged in 
the transportation of goods for compensation.

Private motor carrier means a person who provides 
transportation of property by commercial motor ve-
hicle and is not a for-hire motor carrier. 

Commercial motor vehicle is a vehicle operated in 
interstate commerce with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rat-
ing, Gross Vehicle Weight, Gross Combination Weight 
Rating or Gross Combination Weight greater than 
10,000 pounds, or, is any vehicle used to transport a 
type or quantity of hazardous materials required to 
be placarded. This definition is adopted into Missouri 
state statute and is applicable to vehicles operating in 
intrastate commerce. 

Farmer means any person who operates a farm or 
is directly involved in the cultivation of land, crops 
or livestock which are owned or are under the direct 
control of that person.

Applicability of Federal Motor Carrier 
Safety Regulations to Farmers

The Revised Statutes of Missouri adopt the Federal 
Motor Carrier Safety Regulations. This means the 
FMCSRs apply to both interstate and intrastate com-
merce. Any vehicle meeting the definition of commer-
cial motor vehicle is subject to the FMCSR. (See the 
definition on the left side of this page.)

However, as of October 1, 2012, some of the FMCSRs 
may not apply to covered farm vehicles, defined as:

•	 A motor vehicle owned and operated by a farm or 
ranch owner, family member or employee, and;

•	 used to transport agricultural commodities, live-
stock, or machinery and supplies to and from the 
farm or ranch, and;

•	 equipped with a special license plate or other 
designation issued by the state the vehicle is reg-
istered in clearly identifying the vehicle is a farm 
vehicle, and;

•	 Vehicles with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating 
(GVWR) of 26,001 pounds or less are not sub-
ject to the requirements for commercial driver’s 
license, drug testing, medical certification, hours 
of service, and vehicle inspection, repair and 
maintenance, or;

•	 Vehicles with a GVWR in excess of 26,001 
pounds are not subject to the requirements for 
commercial driver’s license, drug testing, medi-
cal certification, hours of service, and vehicle 
inspection, repair and maintenance when operated 
within the state or within 150 air-miles from the 
farm or ranch.

The above exceptions do not apply to a vehicle used 
in a for-hire operation or used to transport a type 
or quantity of hazardous materials that must bear a 
hazmat placard.

Also, a farm plated vehicle licensed for 42,000 pounds 
or less and operated solely in intrastate commerce is 
not subject to any part of the FMCSR. Vehicles must 
only transport the property of the farmer owner of a 
vehicle displaying an F-plate. 
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A vehicle with a GVWR OR GCWR of 26,000 or 
GCWR pounds or less (not identified as a farm ve-
hicle) and operated solely in intrastate commerce is 
not subject to any part of the FMCSR unless:

•	 It transports any hazardous material, or;
•	 It is designed to transport more than 16 passen-

gers including the driver.
•	 If either of the above apply, the vehicle is subject 

to the FMCSR when the GVWR or GCWR is 
over 10,000 pounds and not excepted as a covered 
farm vehicle.

In order to determine the applicability of the federal 
safety regulations to your commercial vehicle opera-
tions, you need to consider your scope of operation 
(interstate, intrastate, and distance traveled), the Gross 
Vehicle Weight Rating of the commercial vehicle and, 
in some cases, the licensed weight of the vehicle.  

The following information will assist you to deter-
mine when the federal safety regulations apply:

Part 382 – Controlled Substance and 
Alcohol Testing

Covered farm vehicle; GVWR 26,001 pounds or less:
•	 Interstate commerce – the requirements for 	 	

controlled substance testing are not applicable.
•	 Intrastate commerce – the requirements for con-

trolled substance testing are not applicable.

Covered farm vehicle: GVWR exceeds 26,001 lbs:
•	 Interstate commerce – the requirements for 

controlled substance testing are applicable if the 
vehicle is operated beyond a 150 air-mile radius 
(172.6 land miles) of the farm or ranch.

•	 Intrastate commerce – the requirements for con-
trolled substance testing are not applicable.

Farm-plated vehicle licensed at 42,000 pounds or less:
•	 Interstate commerce – the requirements for 

controlled substance testing is applicable if the 
vehicle has a GVWR or GCWR in excess of 
10,000 pounds, unless subject to any exception for 
covered farm vehicles.

•	 Intrastate commerce – the requirements for con-
trolled substance testing may not be applicable 
based on the GVWR or GCWR of the vehicle and 
any exception for covered farm vehicles.

Vehicles with GVWR or GCWR of 26,000 pounds 
and less (not identified as a farm vehicle):
•	 Interstate commerce – the requirements for con-

trolled substance testing are not applicable.
•	 Intrastate commerce – the requirements for con-

trolled substance testing are not applicable.

Any vehicle for which a commercial driver’s license 
is required also makes the driver subject to controlled 
substance and alcohol testing requirements.

Part 383 – Commercial Driver’s License

Covered farm vehicle; GVWR 26,001 pounds or less:
•	 Interstate commerce – the requirements for CDL 

are not applicable
•	 Intrastate commerce – the requirements for CDL 

are not applicable
Covered farm vehicle: GVWR exceeds 26,001 pounds
•	 Interstate commerce – the requirements for CDL 

apply to farmers, family members and employees 
of the farm if the vehicle is operated beyond a 150 
air-mile radius (172.6 land miles) of the farm or 
ranch.

•	 Intrastate commerce – the requirements for CDL 
are not applicable to farmers, family members and 
employees of the farm.

Farm plated vehicle; licensed at 42,000 pounds or less:
•	 Interstate commerce – the requirements for CDL 

apply if the GVWR or GCWR of the vehicle ex-
ceeds 26,000 pounds unless subject to exceptions 
for covered farm vehicle or reciprocity agreements 
between Missouri and bordering states (does not 
include Kentucky).

•	 Intrastate commerce – the requirements for CDL 
do not apply to farmers, family members and 
employees of the farm.

Vehicles with GVWR or GCWR of 26,000 pounds or 
less (not identified as a farm vehicle):
•	 Interstate and Intrastate commerce – the require-

ments for CDL are not applicable.
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Part 390 – General Applicability of the 
Safety Regulations

Covered farm vehicle; GVWR 26,001 pounds or less:
•	 Interstate commerce – vehicles with GVWR in 

excess of 10,000 pounds must be marked with 
USDOT number.

•	 Intrastate commerce – vehicles are not subject to 
USDOT number marking.

Covered farm vehicle; with GVWR over 26,001 lbs:
•	 Interstate commerce – vehicles must be marked 

with USDOT number.
•	 Intrastate commerce – USDOT number marking 

requirements are not applicable.

Farm plated vehicle licensed at 42,000 pounds or less:
•	 Interstate commerce – USDOT number marking 

required for vehicles with GVWR or GCWR in 
excess of 10,000 pounds.

•	 Intrastate commerce – USDOT number marking 
is not applicable.

Vehicles with GVWR or GCWR 26,000 pounds or 
less (not identified as a farm vehicle):
•	 Interstate commerce – USDOT number marking 

required if GVWR or GCWR exceeds 10,000 lbs..
•	 Intrastate commerce – USDOT number marking 

is not required.

Part 391 – Driver Qualification

Covered farm vehicle; GVWR 26,001 pounds or less
•	 Interstate and Intrastate commerce – medical 

certification for drivers is not required.

Covered farm vehicle; GVWR over 26,001 pounds:
•	 Interstate commerce – drivers required to have a 

medical certificate if vehicle is operated beyond a 
150 air-mile radius (172.6 land miles) of the farm.

•	 Intrastate commerce – drivers are not required to 
have a medical certificate.

Farm plated vehicle licensed at 42,000 pounds or less:
•	 Interstate commerce – drivers are required medi-

cal certification if GVWR or GCWR exceeds 
10,000 pounds unless subject to exception for 
covered farm vehicles.

•	 Intrastate commerce – medical certificate is not 
required.

Vehicles with GVWR or GCWR 26,000 pounds or 
less (not identified as a farm vehicle):
•	 Interstate commerce – drivers are required medi-

cal certification if GVWR or GCWR exceeds 
10,000 pounds.

•	 Intrastate commerce – medical certification not 
required unless GVWR or GCWR exceeds 10,000 
pounds and/or transporting hazardous materials of 
any kind or quantity.

Drivers operating solely in intrastate commerce are 
not required to be medically certified if the driver had 
a valid Missouri chauffeur’s license on May 13, 1988.

Medical certification of drivers is a portion of Part 
391, other sections of this specific part may be ap-
plicable (drivers operating vehicles with GVWR or 
GCWR over 10,000 pounds in interstate commerce 
required to be 21 years of age).

Part 392 – Driving Commercial Vehicles

Covered farm vehicle; GVWR 26,001 pounds or less:
•	 Interstate commerce – all of Part 392 applies, 

such as: texting ban; cell phone restriction, radar 
detector ban; etc., if the vehicle GVWR or GCWR 
exceeds 10,000 pounds.

•	 Intrastate commerce - all of Part 392 applies, such 
as: texting ban; cell phone restriction, radar detec-
tor ban; etc., if the vehicle GVWR exceeds 10,000 
pounds, unless subject to another exception.

Covered farm vehicle; GVWR over 26,001 pounds:
•	 Interstate and intrastate commerce – all of Part 

392 applies, such as: texting ban; cell phone re-
striction, radar detector ban; etc.
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Farm plated vehicle licensed at 42,000 pounds or less:
•	 Interstate commerce - all of Part 392 applies, 

such as:  texting ban; cell phone restriction, radar 
detector ban; etc., if the vehicle GVWR or GCWR 
exceeds 10,000 pounds.

•	 Intrastate commerce – requirements of Part 392 
are not applicable.

Vehicle with GVWR or GCWR 26.000 pounds and 
less (not identified as a farm vehicle):
•	 Interstate commerce – all of Part 392 applies, 

such as:  texting ban; cell phone restriction, radar 
detector ban; etc., if the vehicle GVWR or GCWR 
exceeds 10,000 pounds.

•	 Intrastate commerce - all of Part 392 applies, 
such as:  texting ban; cell phone restriction, radar 
detector ban; etc., if the vehicle GVWR or GCWR 
exceeds 10,000 pounds and transporting hazard-
ous material of any type or quantity.

Part 393 – Equipment

Covered farm vehicle; GVWR 26,001 pounds or less:
•	 Interstate commerce – All of Part 393 is appli-

cable, such as: required lighting; brake systems; 
emergency equipment (fire extinguisher, reflective 
triangles); load securement; etc. if the GVWR 
exceeds 10,000 pounds.

•	 Intrastate commerce - All of Part 393 is appli-
cable, such as: required lighting; brake systems; 
emergency equipment (fire extinguisher, reflective 
triangles); load securement; etc. if the GVWR 
exceeds 10,000 pounds, unless subject to another 
exception.

Covered farm vehicle, GVWR over 26,001 pounds:
•	 Interstate and intrastate commerce – All of Part 

393 is applicable, such as: required lighting; brake 
systems; emergency equipment (fire extinguisher, 
reflective triangles); load securement; etc.

Farm plated vehicle licensed at 42,000 pounds or less:
•	 Interstate commerce – All of Part 393 is appli-

cable, such as:  required lighting; brake systems; 
emergency equipment (fire extinguisher, reflec-
tive triangles); load securement; etc., if GVWR or 
GCWR exceeds 10,000 pounds.

•	 Intrastate commerce – requirements of Part 393 
are not applicable.

Vehicle with GVWR or GCWR 26,000 pounds or less 
(not identified as a farm vehicle):
•	 Interstate commerce – All of Part 393 is appli-

cable, such as: required lighting; brake systems; 
emergency equipment (fire extinguisher, reflec-
tive triangles); load securement; etc., if GVWR or 
GCWR exceeds 10,000 pounds.

•	 Intrastate commerce – All of Part 393 is appli-
cable, such as: required lighting; brake systems; 
emergency equipment (fire extinguisher, reflec-
tive triangles); load securement; etc., if GVWR or 
GCWR exceeds 10,000 pounds and transporting 
hazardous material of any type or quantity.

Part 395 – Hours of Service

Covered farm vehicle; GVWR 26,001 pounds or less:
•	 Interstate commerce – drivers are not subject to 

the hours of service or log book requirements.
•	 Intrastate commerce – drivers are not subject to 

the hours of service or log book requirements.

Covered farm vehicle; GVWR over 26,001 pounds:
•	 Interstate commerce – drivers are subject to the 

hours of service and log book requirements if ve-
hicle is operated beyond 150 air-mile radius (172.6 
land miles) of the farm.

•	 Intrastate commerce – drivers are not subject to 
the hours of service or log book requirements.

Farm plated vehicle licensed at 42,000 pounds or less:
•	 Interstate commerce – drivers are subject to the 

hours of service and log book requirements if ve-
hicle GVWR or GCWR exceeds 10,000 pounds, 
unless subject to covered farm vehicle exception.

•	 Intrastate commerce – drivers are not subject to 
the hours of service or log book requirements.

Vehicle with GVWR or GCWR of 26,000 pounds or 
less (not identified as a farm vehicle):
•	 Interstate commerce – drivers are subject to the 

hours of service and log book requirements if 
GVWR or GCWR exceeds 10,000 pounds.
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•	 Intrastate commerce – drivers are subject to the 
hours of service and log book requirements if 
GVWR or GCWR exceeds 10,000 pounds and if 
transporting hazardous materials of any type or 
quantity, unless subject to another exception (see 
exceptions for agricultural operations).

Other exceptions found in Part 395, such as 100 air-
mile radius driver, may be applicable.

Part 396 – Inspection, Repair 
and Maintenance

Covered farm vehicle; GVWR 26,001 pounds or less:
•	 Interstate and intrastate commerce – annual DOT 

inspection and daily vehicle inspection require-
ments are not applicable.

Covered farm vehicle with GVWR over 26,001 
pounds:
•	 Interstate commerce – annual DOT inspection 

and daily vehicle inspection requirements are 
applicable if vehicle is operated beyond a 150 air-
mile radius (172.6 land miles) from the farm.

•	 Intrastate commerce – annual DOT inspection 
and daily vehicle inspection requirements are not 
applicable.

Farm plated vehicle licensed at 42,000 pounds or less:
•	 Interstate commerce – annual DOT inspection 

and daily vehicle inspection requirements apply 
if the vehicle GVWR or GCWR exceeds 10,000 
pounds, unless subject to another exception.

•	 Intrastate commerce – annual DOT inspection 
and daily vehicle inspection requirements are not 
applicable.

Vehicle with GVWR or GCWR 26,000 pounds or less 
(not identified as a farm vehicle):
•	 Interstate commerce – annual DOT inspection 

and daily vehicle inspection requirements apply 
if the vehicle GVWR or GCWR exceeds 10,000 
pounds, unless another exception applies.

•	 Intrastate commerce – annual DOT inspection 
and daily vehicle inspection requirements apply 
if the vehicle GVWR or GCWR exceeds 10,000 
pounds and transporting hazardous material of 
any type or quantity, unless subject to another 
exception.

Carriers that operate only one vehicle are not required 
to comply with daily vehicle inspection requirements.
Transportation of Agricultural 
Commodities and Farm Supplies

Effective October 1, 2012, the hours of service regula-
tions are not applicable to drivers used by motor carri-
ers during planting and harvesting seasons when:

•	 Transporting agricultural commodities from the 
source of the commodities within a 150 air-mile 
(172.6 land miles) radius of the source, or;

•	 Transporting farm supplies for agricultural pur-
poses from a wholesale or retail distribution point 
of the supplies to a farm or other location where 
the farm supplies are intended to be used within a 
150 air-mile (172.6 land miles) radius of the distri-
bution point, or;

•	 Transporting farm supplies for agricultural pur-
poses from a wholesale distribution point of the 
farm supplies to a retail distribution point of the 
farm supplies within a 150 air-mile (172.6 land 
miles) radius of the wholesale distribution point.

The above exception is limited to hours of service 
only. The exception does apply to for-hire carriers 
and the transportation of hazardous materials. Other 
safety regulations may apply.
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Motor Carriers of 
Passengers
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Historically, the predecessor agencies of the FMCSA 
only regulated “for-hire” transportation of passengers 
with a vehicle designed to transport more than 15 pas-
sengers, including the driver.

Private motor carriers of passengers (PMCPs) became 
subject to the FMCSRs on January 1, 1995. They are 
separated into two groups (business or nonbusiness) 
and are exempt from certain requirements of the 
FMCSRs.

For-Hire Carriers
Three factors must be present before a motor carriers 
of passengers is classified as a “for-hire” carrier:

1.	The motor carrier provides interstate transportation 	
	 of passengers for a commercial purpose;
2.	The motor carrier is compensated, either directly or 	
	 indirectly, for the transportation service provided; 	
	 and
3.	The transportation service is generally available to 	
	 the public at large.

Examples of for-hire transportation of passengers in-
clude intercity bus service, charter bus service, canoe 
rental company bus service, and hotel bus service.

Business PMCPs

Business PMCPs provide private transportation of 
passengers in the furtherance of a commercial pur-
pose. 

Examples of business PMCPs include companies that 
use buses to transport their own employees and pro-
fessional musicians who use buses for concert tours.

Motor Carriers of Passengers

Non-Business PMCPs

Non-business PMCPs provide private transportation 
of passengers that is not in the furtherance of a com-
mercial purpose.

Examples of non-business PMCPs include churches, 
private schools, scout groups, and other organizations 
that may purchase or lease buses for the private trans-
portation of their respective groups.

North American Standard Out-Of-Service 
Criteria

Drivers who operate passenger vehicles are required 
to possess a valid medical certificate or will be de-
clared out-of-service. (391.41(a))
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What is a Business PMCP?

Business PMCPs provide private transportation of 
passengers in the furtherance of a commercial pur-
pose.  Examples include companies that use buses to 
transport their own employees and professional musi-
cians who use buses for concert tours.  Commercial 
businesses that provide passenger transportation to the 
general public are not business PMCPs.

Applicability of FMCSRs

The chart below summarizes the applicability of the 
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSRs) 
to Business Private Motor Carriers of Passengers 
(PMCPs):

Part	 Regulatory Topic					     Applicable

380	 Special Training Requirements 	 	 	 	 Yes
	 Entry Level Driver Training Requirements	
382	 Controlled Substances and Alcohol Use and Testing	 Yes
383	 Commercial Driver’s License	 	 	 	 Yes
387	 Financial Responsibility (Insurance/Surety)	 	 No
390	 General Applicability and Definitions	 	 	 Yes
391	 Qualifications of Drivers	 	 	 	 Partial
392	 Driving of Commercial Motor Vehicles	 	 	 Yes
393	 Parts and Accessories	 	 	 	 	 Yes
395	 Driver’s Hours of Service	 	 	 	 Yes
396	 Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance	 	 	 Yes

Exemptions

Business PMCPs are not subject to:

n	 Minimum levels of financial responsibility
n	 Road test requirements of Part 391
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What is a Non-business PMCP?

Non-business PMCPs provide private transportation 
of passengers that is not in the furtherance of a com-
mercial purpose. Examples of non-business PMCPs 
include churches, private schools, civic organizations, 
scout groups, and other charitable organizations that 
may purchase or lease buses for the transportation of 
their respective groups.

Applicability of FMCSRs

The chart below summarizes the applicability of the 
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSRs) 
to non-business Private Motor Carriers of Passengers 
(PMCPs):

Part	 Regulatory Topic	 Applicable

380	 Special Training Requirements 
	 Entry Level Driver Training Requirements	 Yes
382	 Controlled Substances and Alcohol Use and Testing	 Yes
383	 Commercial Driver’s License	 Yes
387	 Financial Responsibility (Insurance/Surety)	 No
390	 General Applicability and Definitions	 Yes
391	 Qualifications of Drivers	 Partial
392	 Driving of Commercial Motor Vehicles	 Yes
393	 Parts and Accessories	 Yes
395	 Driver’s Hours of Service	 Partial
396	 Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance	 Partial

Exemptions

Non-business PMCPs are not subject to:

n	 Minimum levels of financial responsibility
n	 Subpart C of Part 391
n	 Subpart D of Part 391
n	 Subpart F of Part 391
n	 Most paper work and record-keeping requirements 
	 of Parts 390, 391, 395, and 396
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Applicability

Regulations covering minimum levels of financial 
responsibility (insurance) are found in 49 CFR Part 
387, Subpart B.  These regulations are only applicable 
to “for-hire” carriers transporting passengers in inter-
state commerce.

The chart below summarizes the applicability of the 
minimum levels of financial responsibility regulations 
to passenger carriers.

Applicability of the Minimum Financial Responsibility 
Regulations to Motor Carriers of Passengers

Exemptions

Minimum Financial Responsibility Regulations do 
not apply to:

n	 A motor vehicle transporting only school children 	
	 and teachers to and from school
n	 A motor vehicle providing taxicab service, having 	
	 a seating capacity of less than 7 passengers, and 	
	 not operating on a regular route or between speci-	
	 fied points
n	 A motor vehicle carrying less than 16 individuals 	
	 in a single daily round trip to commute to and 	
	 from work (van pool)

	 “For-Hire” Passenger 	 Business 	 Non-business
	 Carrier	 PCMPs 	 PCMPs

Vehicle with a 	 $5,000,000 insurance 	 Not Subject 	 Not Subject
seating capacity of 	 coverage required
16 or more
			 
Vehicle with a 	 $1,500,000 insurance 	 Not Subject 	 Not Subject
seating capacity of 	 coverage required
15 or less	 	 	
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Are PMCPs required to mark their vehi-
cles as required by 49 CFR Section 390.21?

Yes.  All PMCPs must register with the FMCSA as 
required by 49 CFR Part 385, and mark their vehicle 
with their name, city and state, and U.S. DOT number.

Are non-business PMCP drivers required 
to be medically examined?

No.  Section 391.68 (a)(4) specifically states that much 
of Sections 391.41 and 391.45, which require a driver 
to be medically examined and to have a medical ex-
aminer’s certificate on his/her person, do not apply to 
non-business PMCPs.  However, non-business PMCP 
drivers are subject to the minimum physical qualifica-
tion standards found in Section 391.41 (b) (1)-(13).

Non-business PMCPs should become familiar with 
the minimum physical qualification standards found 
in Section 391.41 and the driver waiver conditions of 
Section 391.49.

Non-business PMCP drivers may be placed out-of-ser-
vice during terminal, en route, or destination inspec-
tions if they are required by Section 391.41 to have a 
waiver and do not possess one.

Are non-business PMCP drivers subject to 
the driver’s hours of service regulations?

Yes.  However, they are not required to prepare or 
maintain records of duty status.  Non-business PMCP 
driver’s hours of service will be evaluated by enforce-
ment officers during terminal, en route, and destina-
tion inspections based on evidence available at the 
inspection location.

It is recognized that some individuals who volunteer 
to drive for non-business PMCPs may also drive for 
other motor carriers and in that capacity are required 
to maintain a record of duty status.  All on-duty time 
performed for a non-business PMCP must be recorded 
on the records of duty-status submitted to that driver’s 
regularly employing motor carrier.

Common Questions About the Applicability of the FMCSRs 
to Private Motor Carriers of Passengers (PMCPs)

Are non-business PMCPs required to have 
their vehicles inspected?

Yes.  Section 396.17 requires that commercial mo-
tor vehicles be inspected at least once annually.  The 
inspection must be completed by a qualified inspector 
and must include all components identified in Appen-
dix G of the FMCSRs.  Documentation of this inspec-
tion must be kept on the vehicle.
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Applicability of FMCSRs (Parts 390-399) to School Bus Transportation

Applicability of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations 
to School Bus Transportation

	 School to Home or 	 Extracurricular 
	 Home to School	 School Activities

Public School Transporting Students	 Not Subject	 Not Subject

Private School Transporting 	 Not Subject	 Subject as 
Pre-primary, Primary, and Secondary	 	 Non-business PMCPs
Students	 	

Private School Transporting 	 Subject as	 Subject as 
Post-secondary Students	 Non-business PMCPs 	 Non-business PMCPs

“For-Hire” Contractors Transporting 	 Not Subject	 Subject as 
Pre-primary, Primary, and Secondary 	 	 “For-Hire” Carriers
Students	 	

“For-Hire” Contractors Transporting 	 Subject as 	 Subject as
Post-secondary Students 	 “For-Hire” Carriers 	 “For-Hire” Carriers	
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Applicability of Minimum Financial Responsibility Part 387 
Regulations to School Bus Transportation

School to Home 
or Home to School	

Extracurricular 
School Trips 
Organized and 
Paid for by 
the School

Extracurricular 
School Trips 
Organized and Paid 
for by an Indepen-
dent Group (e.g., 
Athletic Booster 
Club)

“For-Hire” Contractors 
Transporting Pre-
primary, Primary, and 
Secondary Students and 
Accompanying 
Teachers

Not Subject	 Not Subject	 Bus seating capacity of 16 	
	 	 or more:  $5,000,000 
		  insurance coverage 
		  required

Bus seating capacity of 
15 or less: $1,500,000 
insurance coverage 
required

“For-Hire” Contractors 
Transporting Post-sec-
ondary Students

Bus seating capacity 
of 16 or more:  
$5,000,000 insurance
coverage required

Bus seating capacity 
of 16 or more:  
$5,000,000 insurance
coverage required

Bus seating capacity 
of 16 or more:  
$5,000,000 insurance
coverage required

Bus seating capacity 
of 15 or less: 
$1,500,000 insurance 
coverage required

Bus seating capacity 
of 15 or less: 
$1,500,000 insurance 
coverage required

Bus seating capacity 
of 15 or less: 
$1,500,000 insurance 
coverage required
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What requirements are applicable to 
operators of small passenger-carrying 
commercial motor vehicles?

Interstate passenger carriers are subject to the Safety 
Regulations if the vehicle is:
n	 Designed or used to transport 9 or more passen-	
	 gers (including the driver);
n	 Designed or used to transport 16 or more passen-	
	 gers (including the driver) and is not used to trans-	
	 port passengers for compensation.
n	 Exceptions:
	 390.3(f)(6)  The operation of commercial motor 	
	 vehicles designed or used to transport between 	
	 9 and 15 passengers (including the driver) not for 	
	 direct compensation, provided the vehicle does not 	
	 otherwise meet the definition of a commercial mo-	
	 tor vehicle except for the texting provisions of 	
	 391.15(3) and 392.80, and except that motor carri-	
	 ers operating such vehicles are required to comply 	
	 with 390.15, 390.19 and 390.21(a) and (b)(2).	

Note:  Effective June 1, 2010, Commercial Motor 
Vehicles designed or used to transport 9-15 passen-
gers (including the driver), for direct compensation 
are subject to the Safety Regulations, regardless of 
the distance traveled.

Passenger carriers with a designed seating capacity 
of 15 or less are exempt form Part 382 – Controlled 
Substances and Alcohol Use and Testing, and Part 383 
- Commercial Driver’s License Standards.

For Missouri intrastate commerce, a commercial mo-
tor vehicle is defined as a vehicle having a gross ve-
hicle weight rating or gross combination weight rating 
in excess of 26,001 pounds, a vehicle having a gross 
vehicle weight rating or gross combination weight 
rating of 10,001 pounds and transporting any amount 
of hazardous materials, of any size and transporting 
placardable quantities of hazardous materials, or have 
a designed seating capacity of 9 or more passengers 
including the driver. 

Motor carriers and drivers of commercial vehicles 
with a passenger capacity of 9 to 15 passengers are 
subject to the federal safety regulations.  The extent 

Applicability of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations 
to Commercial Operators of Small Passenger-Carrying Vehicles

these regulations apply depends on the type of opera-
tion the carrier is engaged in.  The following are typi-
cal operational types:

•	 Interstate – Operation across state lines.
•	 Intrastate – Point to point operations within the 

state boundaries of Missouri.
•	 For hire for direct compensation – Passenger 

service is available to the public at large, such as 
for-hire limo operations, taxi operations, etc.  The 
passenger pays a fee to ride in the vehicle.

•	 For hire not for direct compensation – Transporta-
tion service is provided to the public at large, but 
the transportation fee is included in the cost of a 
package deal.  For example, a group sponsors a 
trip to a sporting event and the associated costs 
include tickets to the event, transportation to and 
from the event, and other amenities of the trip.

•	 Private motor carrier of passengers – business – 
This type of transportation service is not available 
to the public at large and an example would be a 
bus used by a band to travel to a performance.

•	 Private motor carrier of passengers – non-busi-
ness – This type of transportation service is not 
available to the public at large.  Examples include 
buses used to transport Scout groups, church 
members, private schools, etc.

The following information is included to assist carri-
ers using these types of vehicles in the above opera-
tion types determine when the federal safety regula-
tions apply and when they may not.  

Controlled Substance and Alcohol Testing	
Part 382 of Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations

The requirement for controlled substance and alcohol 
testing is directly related to the requirement for com-
mercial driver’s licensing.  If the driver is not required 
to have a commercial driver’s license to operate the 
vehicle, the driver is not subject to the controlled sub-
stance and alcohol testing requirements. 
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Commercial Driver’s License
Part 383 of Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations

The requirement for a commercial driver’s license 
is based on either the Gross Vehicle Weight Rat-
ing (GVWR) or Gross Combination Weight Rat-
ing (GCWR) of the vehicle, designed to transport a 
certain number of passengers or is used to transport 
hazardous materials.  Unless the vehicle:
•	 Has a GVWR or GCWR in excess of 26,000 

pounds; or
•	 Is designed to transport more than 16 passengers, 

including the driver; or
•	 Is of any size and used to transport a type or 

quantity of hazardous materials required to be 
placarded;

the driver would not be required to have a commer-
cial driver’s license.  A Missouri resident may need a 
Class E license to operate this type of vehicle.

Financial Responsibility			 
		
Part 387 of Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations
7, Code of State Regulations 265-10.030

The federal regulations regarding insurance apply to 
for-hire carriers operating in interstate commerce.  
Any vehicle in that type of operation with a capacity 
of 15 passengers or fewer requires $1.5 million cover-
age.  

For private motor carriers of passengers (either busi-
ness or non-business operations), state insurance 
coverage applies:

•	 Insurance requirements for vehicles designed to 
carry 12 passengers and less is $100,000 personal 
injury, $300,000 bodily injury, and $50,000 prop-
erty damage.

•	 Insurance requirements for vehicles designed to 
carry 13 passengers and more is $100,000 per-
sonal injury, $500,000 bodily injury and $50,000 
property damage.

General Applicability
Part 390 of Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations

The regulations in this part deal with obtaining and 
marking a USDOT number on the vehicle, motor car-
rier records, and the extent of the applicability of the 
federal safety regulations.
There are some general exceptions from the federal 
safety regulations for:

•	 School bus operations transporting pre-primary, 
primary and secondary school students from 
home to school and from school to home in ve-
hicles designed or used to transport more than 10 
passengers in addition to the driver.

•	 Transportation performed by the Federal govern-
ment, State government or political subdivision of 
the State.

•	 The operation of commercial vehicles designed 
or used to transport between 9 and 15 passengers, 
not for direct compensation, except the motor 
carrier and driver must comply with assisting 
in investigations and special studies (maintain 
a register of vehicular crashes), obtaining and 
marking a USDOT number on the vehicle, drivers 
subject to disqualification for convictions of using 
a hand-held cell phone during vehicle operation, 
the prohibition against texting and the hand-held 
cell phone restriction.

Motor Carriers that are directly compensated:

•	 Interstate commerce – Interstate carriers are sub-
ject to this entire Part.  Marking of the carrier’s 
motor vehicles requires vehicles to be marked on 
both sides with the carrier’s legal or single trade 
name and, in association with that name, their 
USDOT number.   

•	 Intrastate commerce – Intrastate carriers are sub-
ject to this whole Part but have different marking 
requirements.  The carrier must mark their vehicle 
with the name of the owner and location from 
where the vehicle is operated on at least one side 
of the vehicle.  For hire operations require author-
ity and will be assigned a USDOT number.  For 
hire vehicles with a total seating capacity of 13 
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or less have an exception from marking require-
ments.  These vehicles are only required to mark 
their vehicle with their USDOT number and can 
display it on the rear of the vehicle instead of the 
vehicle side.

  Part 391 – Driver Qualification

The regulations in this Part deal with determining the 
qualification of drivers and the documents necessary 
to prove a driver meets minimum qualifications. 

Carriers not directly compensated are only subject to 
minimal regulation as follows:

Interstate commerce – Disqualification for driv-
ers convicted of texting while driving a commercial 
motor vehicle. Drivers of vehicles that have a gross 
vehicle weight rating of 10,001 pounds or more are 
subject to all of this Part.
Intrastate commerce – Only subject to the regulation 
within this Part when the vehicle being operated has a 
gross vehicle weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more.

Carriers that are directly compensated are gener-
ally regulated by this Part but with some exceptions.  
Those exceptions are as follows:

Interstate commerce 
•	 Private Motor Carriers of Passengers (Business) 

are not subject to employment application, previ-
ous employer, and road test requirements.

•	 Private Motor Carrier of Passengers (Non-Busi-
ness) are not subject to most of this Part.  How-
ever, they must be at least 18 years of age and 
meet physical standards even though no medical 
certification is required.

Intrastate commerce
•	 For hire Carriers of Passengers must be at least 18 

years of age and are not required to be medically 
certified if the driver had a chauffeur’s license 
prior to May 13, 1988.   

•	 Private Motor Carriers of Passengers (Business) 
must be at least 18 years of age, are not required 
to be medically certified if the driver had a 
chauffeur’s license prior to May 13, 1988 and are 

not subject to employment application, previous 
employer, road test requirements. 

•	 Private Motor Carriers of Passengers (Non-
Business) are not subject to most of this Part.  
However, they must be at least 18 years of age 
and, unless the driver qualifies for exception 
from medical requirements by having a chauf-
feur’s license before May 13, 1988, meet physical 
standards even though no medical certification is 
required.

Part 392 – Driving Commercial Vehicles

The regulations in this Part apply to both interstate 
and intrastate carriers equally.

Carriers not directly compensated are excepted from 
this Part except must comply with the texting ban and 
cell phone restriction.  Should the vehicle in question 
meet the definition of a commercial motor vehicle by 
gross vehicle weight rating or placardable quantities of 
hazardous materials, this whole Part would apply. 

Carriers that are directly compensated are subject to 
this entire Part.  

Part 393 – Equipment

The regulations in this Part apply to both interstate 
and intrastate carriers equally.

Carriers not directly compensated - are excepted from 
this Part except must comply with Missouri state 
equipment requirements.  Should the vehicle in ques-
tion meet the definition of a commercial motor vehicle 
by gross vehicle weight rating or placardable quanti-
ties of hazardous materials, this whole Part would 
apply.

Carriers that are directly compensated are subject to 
this entire Part. 

Part 395 – Hours of Service

The regulations in this Part apply to both interstate 
and intrastate carriers equally.
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Carriers not directly compensated are excepted from 
this Part.  Should the vehicle in question meet the defi-
nition of a commercial motor vehicle by gross vehicle 
weight rating or placardable quantities of hazardous 
materials, this whole Part would apply. 

Carriers that are directly compensated are subject to 
this Part except that Private Motor Carriers of Pas-
sengers (Non-Business) are not required to maintain 
hours of service records. 

Part 396 – Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance

The regulations in this Part apply to both interstate 
and intrastate carriers equally.

Carriers not directly compensated are excepted from 
this Part.  However, Missouri state inspection require-
ments are applicable.  Should the vehicle in question 
meet the definition of a commercial motor vehicle by 
gross vehicle weight rating or placardable quantities of 
hazardous materials, this whole Part would apply. 

Carriers that are directly compensated are subject to 
this Part except that Private Motor Carriers of Pas-
sengers (Non-Business) are not subject to the driver 
vehicle inspection report requirements and are not 
required to maintain maintenance records. 
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Motor Carriers of 
Household Goods
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What requirements are applicable to 
operators of household goods? 

In Interstate Commerce

Under the federal regulation §375.103, the definition 
of household goods means “… the personal effects or 
property used, or to be used, in a dwelling, when part 
of the equipment or supplies of the dwelling. Trans-
portation of the household goods must be arranged and 
paid for by the individual shipper or by another individ-
ual on behalf of the shipper. Household goods includes 
property moving from a factory or store if purchased 
with the intent to use in a dwelling and transported at 
the request of the householder, who also pays the trans-
portation charges.”

Motor common carriers of household goods must apply 
for authority to operate in interstate commerce, show 
that the applicant is fit, willing and able to provide the 
transportation and to comply with all of the regula-
tory provisions and that the transportation service will 
be consistent with the public interest and the national 
transportation policy.

In addition, the household goods carrier must:

n	 Maintain a tariff 
n	 Furnish copies of tariff publications
n	 Subject to hazardous materials requirements when 	
	 hazardous materials are transported and other 	
	 safety requirements as indicated in the code of fed-	
	 eral regulations
n	 May provide service options of space reservation, 	
	 expedited service, exclusive use of a vehicle, guar-	
	 anteed service for agreed dates and liability insur-	
	 ance
n	 Must provide a non-binding written estimate based 	
	 on a physical survey (if goods are beyond a 50 mile 	
	 radius or survey is waived) of the household goods 	
	 to be transported
n	 May provide a binding estimate upon request if 	
	 provided in the tariff
n	 Prepare an order of service

Motor Carriers of Household Goods

n	 Prepare an inventory for each shipment
n	 Issue a bill of lading
n	 Weigh each shipment on a non-binding estimate
n	 Dispose of claims
n	 Liable for loss and damage when accepting goods
n	 Provide information to prospective customers
n	 Maintain proof of insurance 

In Intrastate Commerce

Under state regulation, the definition of household 
goods is very similar to the federal definition.  Under 
Missouri law, household goods means “…personal 
effects and property used or to be used in a dwelling 
when part of the equipment or supplies of such dwell-
ing and similar property, if the transportation of such 
effects or property, is either arranged and paid for by 
the householder, including transportation of property 
from a factory or store when the property is purchased 
by the householder with intent to use in his or her 
dwelling, or arranged and paid for by another party. 
The term “household goods” shall not include per-
sonal property which when tendered to a motor carrier 
is crated or otherwise packaged to make it suitable for 
transportation by motor carriers of general commodi-
ties, freight or property”.

Motor carriers wanting to transport household goods 
wholly within the state must apply for the authority 
and show that the applicant is fit, willing and able to 
provide the service. In addition, other requirements 
must be complied with that are similar to interstate 
requirements. These requirements include but are not 
limited to: 

n	 Maintaining a tarrif.
n	 Compliance with hazardous materials require-	
	 ments when hazardous materials are transported    	
      and other safety requirements as indicated in the  	
      code of state regulations.
n	 May provide service options of space reservation, 	
	 expedited service, exclusive use of a vehicle, guar-	
	 anteed service for agreed dates and liability insur-	
	 ance.
n	 May provide a binding estimate upon request if 	
	 provided in the tariff.
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n	 Issue a bill of lading.
n	 Weigh each shipment for movements where the 	
	 rates and charges are not on an hourly basis.
n	 Dispose of claims.
n	 Liable for loss and damage when accepting goods.
n	 Provide information to prospective customers.
n	 Maintain proof of insurance.
n	 Must include specific state information when ad-	
	 vertising service as a household goods mover.
n	 Filing an annual financial statement.
n	 Pay an annual intrastate per vehicle license fee 	
	 (not required if interstate authority is also held by 	
	 the carrier).

References to the various state statute and regulations 
can be found on the web at http://www.modot.mo.gov/
mcs/HHG/index.htm
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Leasing
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A.	Leasing Equipment With or Without a 
Driver to an Authorized Carrier

1.	 When a person who is not authorized by this divi-
sion, leases equipment with or without a driver to an 
authorized carrier or if an authorized carrier leases 
equipment to another authorized carrier, the lease 
must be reduced to writing with at least two executed 
copies. One copy must be retained by the lessee (the 
person to whom property is leased) and the other must 
accompany the driver of the leased vehicle.

When the vehicle is leased (except if subleased as 
explained below), the lessee is considered the operator 
of the vehicle. The lease should state that the leased 
equipment is to be operated solely by the lessee dur-
ing the term of the lease and that the lessee maintains 
control over the operation of the equipment including 
licensing, markings, insurance, drivers’ qualifications, 
drivers’ hours of service and all related items, to the 
same extent as if the lessee was the actual owner of 
the vehicle.

The lessee must accept responsibility to the public for 
any injury caused in the operation of leased equip-
ment during the term of the lease, display appropriate 
vehicle markings and shall maintain and operate the 
leased equipment in accordance with all state require-
ments. Upon termination of the lease, lessee markings 
and copies of all leases must be removed from all 
vehicles.

B.	Leasing Equipment to Shippers, 
Receivers, Passenger, Chartering Groups 
or Other Person Not Authorized by the 
Division.

1.	 If a person who is not authorized by this division 	
	 to engage in intrastate transportation, leases 		
	 equipment and driver to a shipper, receiver, pas-	
	 senger or chartering group, the intrastate transpor-	
	 tation is presumed to be private carriage if:
	 a)	 The lessee accepts full control and responsibil-	
		  ity over the operation of the equipment and 	
	 	 drivers;

Leasing

	 b)	 The lease includes all required items as listed 	
	 	 in A above; and
	 c)	 The period for which the lease applies must be 	
	 	 (30) consecutive days or more.

	 The resulting operation will not be presumed to 	
	 be 	private if the lease does not meet these require-	
	 ments.

	 2.	 An authorized motor carrier shall not lease 	
		  vehicles with or without a driver to shippers or 	
		  receivers of property nor to passengers or char-	
		  tering groups.

C.	Subleasing Equipment With or Without 	
a Driver to Another Authorized Carrier

An authorized motor carrier shall not sublease a 
leased vehicle with or without a driver unless the lease 
expressly authorizes the lessee motor carrier to sub-
lease the vehicle to another authorized motor carrier. 
When a vehicle is subleased, the new lessee is exclu-
sively responsible for the complete operations of the 
vehicle and it cannot be further subleased.

D.	Leasing of Authority

A motor carrier cannot lease an operating authority, 
unless approved by the division.

For more detailed information 
concerning leasing, refer to 4 CSR 265-10.040.
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Motor Carrier Services strives to improve the 
safety and traffic flow on Missouri’s transportation 
system by working closely with the public and our 
stakeholders.

Motor Carrier Services 

MoDOT Motor Carrier Services provides a service 
for the commercial motor vehicle industry so carriers 
can receive what they need in one physical location 
or in their place of business via web applications. The 
motor carrier’s business is to deliver goods as quickly, 
safely, efficiently and cost-effectively as possible – 
MCS works with the carriers to do just that. MCS 
provides information, credentials, permits and educa-
tion on safety and economic regulations for businesses 
and individuals operating commercial vehicles on the 
public highways in and through Missouri. MCS is 
headquartered in Jefferson City. There are safety and 
compliance offices located within MoDOT’s districts 
across the state. MCS partners with state, national and 
international entities to meet public and carrier needs. 

Specific responsibilities of MCS are as follows:

International Registration Plan (IRP)

The IRP is a registration reciprocity agreement among 
48 contiguous states of the United States, District of 
Columbia, and 10 provinces of Canada. The program 
for apportioned registration is based upon the percent-
age of miles traveled in two or more jurisdictions. The 
unique feature of the Plan is that, license fees are paid 
to the base jurisdiction and a single license plate and 
cab card is issued for each apportionable vehicle reg-
istered. The license fees are distributed on a pro-rata 
basis by the base jurisdiction to other jurisdictions in 
which the vehicle operates. An apportionable vehicle 
is can be operated both interstate and intrastate.See 
Intrastate Regulatory Authority in the next column if 
using an apportioned vehicle for intrastate work. 

International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) 

The IFTA is an agreement among 48 contiguous 
states of the United States and 10 Canadian provinces 
to promote and encourage the most efficient use of 
the highway system by making the administration of 

motor fuels taxation for motor vehicles operating in 
multiple member jurisdictions uniform. Under the 
agreement, one license is issued per licensee and one 
set of door decals for each registered vehicle. Licens-
ees are required to file quarterly tax returns with the 
base jurisdiction, showing all miles traveled, fuel 
purchased, fuel consumed and tax liability or credit 
for each member jurisdiction.

Hazardous Waste/Waste Tire Transporter 

MCS provides for the licensing and registration of 
hazardous waste and/or waste tires transporters 
operating in or through Missouri. MCS collects and 
deposits fees into the Missouri Department of Natural 
Resources fund and coordinates licensing with DNR.

Intrastate Regulatory Authority

For-hire motor carriers transporting property or pas-
sengers in intrastate commerce (wholly within the 
state) are required to apply for authority to operate in 
Missouri. MCS issues USDOT numbers, certificates, 
permits and/or property carrier registration. This pro-
cess allows for verification that motor carriers have 
required insurance.

Housemover Licenses 

For-hire motor carriers moving houses are required to 
apply for a housemover license to move houses within 
or through Missouri. MCS issues a one-year license 
upon verification of required insurance.

Oversize Overweight (OSOW) Permits

MCS issues permits for the transportation of vehicles, 
machinery, equipment, structures, buildings, or other 
units or components that exceed the legal limits for 
width, length, height and weight. Careful consider-
ation is given to the legal and physical limitations ap-
plicable to all forms of transportation between point 
of fabrication and subsequent destinations. 

Safety, structure, capacities and clearances, roadway 
widths, and traffic volumes will all be considered 
in route determination. Routing is chosen using the 
designated state highway system as shown on the 

Motor Carrier Services
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Missouri Vehicle Route Map and is designed to be as 
direct as possible. 

Loads in excess of routine permit limits (16 feet wide, 
16 feet high or 150 feet in overall length and/or over 
160,000 lbs.) will be considered when air, rail, or 
water terminal points are not available. These applica-
tions can be obtained by request or online. 

MCS ensures the these superloads and the routes they 
take are evaluated and that the loads meet fuel, licens-
ing, safety and insurance requirements.

Apply for an OSOW permit online at www.modot.
org/mce. Learn about OSOW issues at www.modot.
org/mcs/OSOW/index.htm.  MoDOT’s OSOW toll free 
number is 1-800-877-8499.  

Safety and Compliance 

MCS Safety and Compliance section provides for the 
education and enforcement of Missouri state laws and 
federal safety and hazardous materials regulations 
for the transportation of freight and passengers. The 
section has an extensive outreach training program to 
benefit the industry, conducting more than one hun-
dred sessions per year. These efforts promote motor 
carrier safety, including the agricultural community, 
industry productivity, and encourage safer transpor-
tation practices by ensuring operating requirements 
for commercial vehicle drivers, carriers, vehicles 
and equipment are met. Through the medical waiver 
program, Missouri provides an opportunity for drivers 
who cannot meet the minimum medical qualifica-
tions to have an alternate method to obtain a skill 
performance evaluation certificate (federal and state). 
The enforcement of hazardous materials regulations 
is designed to ensure safe and secure transportation, 
proper packaging, employee training, hazard commu-
nication and operational requirements are followed. 
Staff relies on the inspection of commercial vehicles 
at terminals and destinations, compliance reviews, 
new entrant safety audits to new applicants, hazard-
ous material package inspections, and investigation of 
complaints to ensure compliance. The generation of a 
safety rating for the company, prosecution of penalty 

cases when serious violations are discovered, im-
proved homeland safety and security, and crash reduc-
tion are the benefits of the program. The section also 
provides oversight for the settlement of state safety, 
hazardous materials and economic prosecution cases.

UCR 

The Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) replaced the 
Single State Registration Program. Any motor car-
rier, motor private carrier, leasing company, broker or 
freight forwarder that operates in interstate or inter-
national commerce is subject to this new program. 
Registrants must annually file an application and pay 
UCR fees to its base state. Registrants may register 
and file with MCS at www.modot.org/mce or at the 
national UCR online system at www.ucr.in.gov. The 
UCR agreement procedures can be found at www.
naruc.org/NCSTS/. For more UCR information, forms 
and question and answer documents visit our website,  
www.modot.org/mcs.
 
Unified Registration System

The Unified Registration System streamlines the 
FMCSA registration process. FMCSA plans to have 
full implementation of URS by October 23, 2015. Un-
der the rules of URS, all entities currently regulated 
by FMCSA, including motor carriers, brokers, freight 
forwarders, intermodal equipment providers, hazard-
ous materials safety permit applicants/holders and 
cargo tank manufacturing and repair facilities, will be 
identified by a single USDOT number.

The URS also includes new enforcement provisions 
for failing to file a biennial update to your USDOT 
registration and prohibition of operating with an inac-
tive USDOT number. Effective November 1, 2013, 
FMCSA may inactivate the USDOT number of any 
carrier who has not met the biennial update require-
ment. Carriers found operating with an inactive US-
DOT number may be subject to citations and fines.
 
For additional information regarding URS, please visit 
the FMCSA website at www.fmcsa.dot.gov/registra-
tion-licensing/urs-Faqs.aspx.
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Qualified Vehicles

In accordance with the International Fuel Tax Agree-
ment (IFTA) Articles of Agreement Section R245 and 
the International Registration Plan (IRP) Section 204, 
licensees shall report all vehicle activity for qualified 
vehicles. A qualified motor vehicle is defined as fol-
lows:

1.	 Having two axles and a gross vehicle weight or 	
	 registered gross vehicle weight exceeding 26,000 	
	 pounds.
2.	 Having 3 or more axles regardless of weight.
3.	 Being used in combination where the combined 	
	 weight exceeds 26,000 pounds.
4.	 IFTA qualified motor vehicles do not include rec-	
	 reational vehicles.
5.	 IRP qualified vehicles do not include recreational 	
	 vehicles, vehicles displaying restricted plates (i.e. 	
	 farm vehicles), city pickup and delivery vehicles, 	
	 buses used in transportation of chartered parties, 	
	 and government-owned vehicles.

Distance Accounting

Section P540 of the IFTA Procedures Manual and Sec-
tion 400 of the IRP Audit Procedures Manual require 
every carrier to maintain detailed distance records, 
which show operations on an individual vehicle basis. 
Carriers may use Individual Vehicle Mileage Records 
(IVMR), also known as trip sheets or trip reports, for 
all qualified motor vehicles. All travel (loaded, empty, 
deadhead, and bobtail) must be reflected on an IVMR. 
IVMRs must be summarized monthly by vehicle 
and for the licensee’s fleet. Monthly records must be 
recapped in quarterly summaries.

Section P500 of the IFTA Procedures Manual states 
that the licensee is required to preserve the records 
upon which the quarterly tax return or annual tax 
return is based for four years from the tax return due 
date or filing date, whichever is later. Section 1500 
of the IRP indicates any registrant whose application 
for apportioned registration has been accepted shall 
preserve the records on which it is based for a period 
of three years after the close of the registration year.  
Upon request, records must be made available to any 
member jurisdiction. In the event the carrier fails to 

International Fuel Tax Agreement and International 
Registration Plan 
Recordkeeping and Retention Requirements

retain and preserve such records, assessments and 
penalties shall be imposed. Failure to comply could 
result in suspension or revocation of the licensee’s 
operating credentials.

Mileage should be determined using consistent inter-
nal controls and cutoff dates and recorded on stan-
dardized trip reports. At a minimum, the following 
information should be maintained:

1.  Trip dates (beginning and ending);	 	
2.	 Trip origin and destination;	 	 	
3.	 Route of travel;	 	 	
4.  Beginning and ending odometer readings;
5.  Total trip distance traveled;
6.  Miles by jurisdiction;
7.  Vehicle identification and fleet number; and
8.	 Licensee’s name.

If a licensee fails to maintain records from which their 
true liability can be determined, Section R1210.300 
of the IFTA Articles of Agreement states the base ju-
risdiction shall, after adding the appropriate penalties 
and interest, serve an assessment upon the licensee in 
the same manner as an audit assessment.

Fuel Accounting

Under Section P550 of the IFTA Procedures Manual, 
every carrier must maintain complete records of all 
motor fuel purchased, received, and used. Separate to-
tals must be compiled for each motor fuel type. Retail 
fuel and bulk fuel purchases are to be accounted for 
separately. 

Any receipts or vendor invoices containing erasures 
or alterations will not be accepted for tax-paid cred-
its unless the licensee can demonstrate the receipt is 
valid. Under Section A550 of the IFTA Audit Manual, 
when tax paid fuel documentation is unavailable, all 
claims for tax paid fuel will be disallowed. 

Retail Fuel

As stated in Section P560 of the IFTA Procedures 
Manual, retail purchases must be supported by a re-
ceipt or invoice, credit card receipt, automated vendor 
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generated invoice or transaction listing, or microfilm/
microfiche of the receipt or invoice.  At a minimum 
this documentation must include:

1. Date of purchase;
2. Seller’s name and address;
3. Numbers of gallons (liters) purchased;
4. Fuel type;
5. Price per gallon or amount of sale;
6. Unit numbers; and
7. Purchasing company’s name.

Recording fuel purchased on the IVMR is recom-
mended to ensure accurate recording and reporting.

Bulk Fuel

The IFTA Procedures Manual Section P570 defines 
bulk fuel as fuel delivered into a storage tank owned, 
leased or controlled by the licensee and not delivered 
directly to the fuel tank of a qualified vehicle. The 
licensee must retain copies of all delivery tickets and/
or receipts. Bulk fuel inventory reconciliations must 
be maintained.

A licensee may claim a tax-paid credit on the IFTA 
tax return for bulk fuel from the aforementioned tank 
when the fuel is placed into the fuel tank of a qualified 
motor vehicle and either the purchase price of the fuel 
includes tax paid to the member jurisdiction where the 
tank is located or the licensee has paid fuel tax to the 
member jurisdiction where the tank is located. The 
licensee must maintain the following records:

1.	 Date of withdrawal;
2.	 Number of gallons or liters;
3.	 Fuel type;
4.	 Unit number; and
5.	 Purchase and inventory records to substantiate 	
	 that 	tax was paid on all bulk purchases.
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MoDOT Audit Contacts

Questions regarding IFTA or IRP recordkeeping, re-
cord retention or other issues may be addressed to any 
of the following personnel:

Name	 Title	 City	 Phone

Dwayne Bechel	 Senior Auditor	 Sikeston	 573-472-5227
Barbara Black	 Intermediate Auditor	 St. Joseph	 816-387-2510
Kim Carriger	 Senior Auditor	 Chesterfield	 314-453-1847
Rusty Halton	 Senior Auditor	 Park Hills	 573-518-1782
Robert Mason	 Senior Auditor	 Jefferson City	 573-522-9578
Amy Rugen	 Senior Auditor	 Cole Camp	 660-668-3499
Bob Schwab	 Senior Auditor	 Chesterfield	 314-453-1849
Stephanie Teasley	 Senior Auditor	 Springfield	 417-895-6305
Debbie Hill	 Audit Manager	 Jefferson City	 573-526-3441

Other IFTA or IRP questions can be addressed by 
calling MoDOT Motor Carrier Services toll-free at 
1-866-831-6277.
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NOTE: The following form is not an official record. It 
is provided as an example of information required for 
IFTA and IRP compliance.  IVMRs may vary due to 
specific business needs.  

Individual Vehicle Mileage And Fuel Record

Note:  Beginning odometer reading on this trip must 
match ending reading from prior trip and ending read-
ing from this trip must be the beginning reading on 
the next trip.

Blank copies of the document are available on the Mo-
tor Carrier Services web site, www.modot.org/mcs, on 
the Forms and Manuals page.

NOTE:	The	following	form	is	not	an	official	record. It is provided as an example of information 
required for IFTA and IRP compliance.  IVMRs may vary due to specific	business	needs.

Individual Vehicle Mileage And Fuel Record 

Carrier	 ABC	Carriers,	Inc.	 Account	Number	 999999999	 Driver	Name	 John	Doe,	Jr.	 Unit	Number	 58	

Load	
Information Origins:

1/2/04 Pickup 
Maplewood,	MO	
1/3/04	Pickup	Springfield,	
IL	

Destinations: 1/2/04	Delivery	Springfield,	IL	
1/3/04	Delivery	Dayton,	OH	

Driver
Comments:	       

Date	 Town	Origin-Jurisdiction	
Lines-Town	Destination	 State	 Ending	

Odometer	
Miles	by	

Jurisdiction
Highways or 

Routes Traveled 

Name of Fuel 
Stop	and	
Location	

Gallons
Purchased 

1/2/04 Beginning	State	&	
Odometer	Reading	 MO	 45,869	

Maplewood	MO	-	IL	
Line MO	 45,878	 9	 64	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 MO	Line	-	Springfield	IL	 IL	 45,976	 98	 55-29	 Ted's	I-72	Fuel	
Springfield,	IL	 98

1/3/04	 Springfield	IL	-	IN	Line	 IL	 46,101	 125	 29-97-72-57-
74             

	 	 	 	 	 	 IN	Line	-	OH	Line	 IN	 46,259	 158	 74-32-65-465-
70             

	 	 	 	 	 	 OH	Line	-	Dayton	OH	 OH	 46,297	 38	 70-49	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

                                                

                                                

                                           

Total Trip Miles ** 428 Total	Fuel	Purchases	 98	

Odometer	Miles,	Total	Trip	Miles	&	Total	
Jurisdictional Miles Must Agree 

OFFICE	
USE



Total Jurisdictional Miles ** 

Jurisdiction Miles Jurisdiction Miles

MO	 	 	 	

Ending	Odometer	 46,297	 IL	 	 	 	

Beginning	Odometer	 45,869	 IN	 	 	 	

Total	Odometer	Miles	**	 428	 OH	 	 	 	

Note:		Beginning	odometer	reading	on	this	trip	must match ending reading from prior trip and 
ending	reading	from	this	trip	must	be	the	beginning	reading	on	the	next	trip.	

Blank	copies	of	the	document	are	available	on	the	Motor	Carrier	Services	web	site,	
www.modot.org/mcs, on the Forms and Manuals page. 
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Individual Vehicle Mileage And Fuel Record

Individual Vehicle Mileage And Fuel Record 
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How to Obtain 
Manuals and Forms
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Motor Carrier Services Division does not stock or 
supply manuals and forms, such as the FMCSRs, “Ac-
cident Countermeasure” Manual, Medical Examiner’s 
Certificate, Driver’s Qualification File Forms, Driver’s 
Daily Log Books, Hazardous Materials Placards, Haz-

How To Obtain Manuals And Forms

ardous Materials Labels, etc.  They may be obtained 
from printing firms, state motor carrier associations, 
or other sources including, but not confined to, those 
listed below.  Please note that the following suppliers 
may carry only certain items:

Jack Bilt Corporation
108 West 19th Street
Kansas City, MO   64108
(800) 522-5245
www.jack-bilt.net

LabelMaster
5724 North Pulaski Road
Chicago, IL   60646
(800) 621-5808
labelmaster.com

J.J. Keller & Associates, Inc.
3003 West Breezewood Lane
Neenah, WI   54956
(877) 564-2333
www.jjkeller.com

Missouri Trucking Association
102 East High Street
Jefferson City, MO   65101
(573) 634-3388
www.motrucking.org

Superintendent of Documents
U.S. Government Printing Office
732 N. Capitol Street N.W.
Washington, DC   20401
(202) 512-0000
www.gpoaccess.gov
	

Regulatory Publications

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations
49 CFR Parts 200-399  	
www.fmcsa.dot.gov

Federal Hazardous Materials Regulations 
49 CFR Parts 100-177	      
www.hazmat.dot.gov
www.phmsa.dot.gov

HM Container Regulations 
49 CFR Parts 178-199                            
www.hazmat.dot.gov
www.phmsa.dot.gov
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Motor Carrier 
Services’ 
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Missouri Department of Transportation
Motor Carrier Services Division
www.modot.mo.gov
www.modot.org/mcs

State Headquarters
Motor Carrier Services Division
P.O. Box 893
Jefferson City, MO   65102
Office:  (573) 751-7117
Fax: (573) 751-4354
Toll Free: (866) 831-6277

Charles Gohring
Motor Carrier Services Administrator

Vacant
Transportation Program Manager

Mark Biesemeyer
Transportation Project Manager
E-mail:  mark.biesemeyer@modot.mo.gov

Jeff Payne
Motor Carrier Investigations Specialist
Medical Exemption Program
E-mail:  jeffrey.payne@modot.mo.gov

Vacant
Motor Carrier Investigations Specialist
Case Settlement
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Field Offices

Carthage Office
16619 Inca Road
Carthage, MO 64836
Office: (417) 629-3347
Fax: (573) 522-4282

Chesterfield Office
1590 Woodlake Drive
Chesterfield, MO   63017
Office:  (314) 340-4013
Fax:  (573) 522-4283
	
Jefferson City Office
1320 Creek Trail Drive
Jefferson City, MO   65109
Office:  (573) 751-7117
Fax:  (573) 522-4262

Lee’s Summit
Physical Address
2050 NE Independence Ave.
Mailing Address
600 NE Colbern Road
Lee’s Summit, MO  65086
Office:  (816) 622-0041
Fax:  (573) 522-4261

Missouri Department of Transportation
Motor Carrier Services Division

	
Kirksville Office
22777 Potter Trail
Kirksville, MO 63501	
Office: (660)785-2410
Fax: (573)522-4262

Springfield Office
3025 E. Kearney
Springfield, MO  65803
Office: (417) 895-6365
Fax:  (573) 522-4282

Sikeston Office
2675 N. Main St.
Sikeston, MO 63801
Office: (573) 472-9095
Fax: (573) 522-4293
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Local and 
Bordering
Federal Motor 
Carrier Safety 
Administration 
Field Offices
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Arkansas					     Illinois
2527 Federal Building	 	 	 	 3250 Executive Park Drive
700 West Capitol Ave.	 	 	 	 Springfield, IL 62703-4514
Little Rock, AR 72201	 	 	 	 (217) 492-4608
(501) 324-5050

Iowa						      Kansas
105 6th Street	 	 	 	 	 1303 SW First American Place, Suite 200
Ames, IA 50010-6337	 	 	 	 Topeka, KS 66604-4040
(515) 233-740040	 	 	 	 (785) 271-1260

Kentucky					     Missouri
330 West Broadway, Room 124	 	 	 3219 Emerald Lane, Suite 500
Frankfort, KY  40601	 	 	 	 Jefferson City, MO 65109
(502) 223-6779	 	 	 	 	 (573) 636-3246 

Nebraska					     Oklahoma
100 Centennial Mall North, Room 406	 	 300 N. Meridian, Suite 106 South
Lincoln, NE  68508	 	 	 	 Oklahoma City, OK 73107
(402) 437-5986	 	 	 	 	 (405) 605-6047

Tennessee
640 Grassmere Park, Suite 111
Nashville, TN 37211
(615) 781-5781

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration

FMCSA Information Line 1-800-832-5660

The automated response asks the caller to choose one 
of the five numbers for further information as follows:  
(rotary callers may stay on the line)

n	 To apply for a USDOT # or operating authority, 	
	 press 1.
n	 For a safety rating, a carrier profile or other safety 	
	 data or to check the status of your application for a 	
	 USDOT #, press 2 and stay on the line while your 	
	 call is connected.
n	 For insurance filing information, press 3.
n	 To check the status of your application for operat-	
	 ing authority or for other operating authority infor-	
	 mation, press 4.
n	 For household goods movement complaints and 	
	 related issues, press 5.

n	 For all other questions or complaints, please con-	
	 tact the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administra-	
	 tion office nearest you, for the telephone number of 	
	 that office, press 6.

FMCSA’ s Household Goods Consumer 
Complaint Hotline 
1-888-368-7238

OSHA’s Whistle Blower Protection # For 
Employee Complaints 
(301) 515-6796

PHMSA (Pipeline and Hazardous Materials 
Administration) 
(800) 467-4922 or (847) 294-8580

U.S. DOT Number and MC Number are 
also available online:  http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov 
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